We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to return...often!!!”
Review of Gaia Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gaia Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have to return...often!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My second trip to Gaia was as good as the first! If you are worn out, tired, stressed, run down or just looking to escape for a while, this is THE place. The location is stunning, the attention to detail in all areas is amazing, the staff are genuinely caring and nothing is too difficult. The food is superb, if you don't think you can eat healthy and enjoy a top class meal, then you haven't met Todd. If you don't believe you could fall asleep during a massage, you haven't enjoyed the Gaia Spa.There are as many or as few activities as you feel like doing, the entire atmosphere is devoted to rest, healing and relaxation. It's not inexpensive but the quality and expertise you receive is worth it. At Gaia they look after the whole person, not just one bit or another. There are other resort/spas much closer to me, but I'll be heading back to Gaia.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sky-Snow-Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    17
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
71
179
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Enjoyed 3 nights at Gaia Resort and Spa after a month long trip around Australia. The grounds and facilities are beautiful and transport you away from the daily hustle and bustle of life. Daily activities allow you the opportunity to participate or if you choose be alone and enjoy the grounds. Yoga kicks the day off every morning followed by a healthy and enjoyable breakfast. The day spa is tranquil and my massage was great. I did not partake in any other spa treatments but my friend and others said their treatments were heavenly. They have a hammock and a couple of day beds in scenic spots and I enjoyed sitting in the sun, reading, thinking and watching the sun set into the sky. The pool area is gorgeous and I loved soaking in the hot tub after the day. Meals are quite nice and healthy. I do like the fact that I could enjoy a nice glass of wine with dinner. You can dine at a larger communal table or seek a smaller table or solitude if you choose. We met some great people at the communal table and they felt like life long friends when we had to say our goodbyes. The staff were terrific and I do believe it is their goal to make sure you get the most out of your stay. We were able to arrange a trip to Byron Bay through the staff which was great even if it rained that day. The resort also has some bikes to use should you want to bike the beautiful countryside and brave the uphill ride back! Your reward is some awesome views and a great little antique shop in the village of Newrybar.

If you aren't aware, Olivia Newton-John is part owner of Gaia. My friend and I have been long time fans and we have always appreciated her love of Mother Earth and conservation efforts. The retreat at Gaia was a perfect spot to end an amazing journey and a healing place for me as I just finished cancer treatments. If you are looking for TV, internet, and a fast paced cookie cutter 'resort and spa' then Gaia is not for you! IF you are looking for beauty, tranquility, healthy food and the perfect place to unplug from life than Gaia should be a magical place for you. It was for us! Much love to everybody that makes Gaia so wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenTaylor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We booked Gaia Retreat & Spa for our Global Marketing Conference. From the moment we contacted them and worked through our requirements with their staff, the professionalism shown was exemplary. Every aspect of our stay from the transfers, the meals, the treatments, the set-up and our agenda was managed proficiently to ensure a successful conference.

Gaia is such a special place and we were mindful to respect this and build this into our stay so that we all came away having benefited from the experience. Our conference ran very smoothly and allowed us to concentrate on the work we had to do. Outside of that, every touch-point and experience we had really blew our expectations.

The location and setting meant we couldn’t help but relax. The rooms are so tastefully done. I even had a Methven Satinjet Shower in my bathroom, which was a real luxury. The meals were exquisite and a complement to the chefs. Yoga and Pilates really cleared everyone’s minds and was a perfect way to start each day. The treatments were so good that most of us went back more than once. All the other little things added up to an overall excellent stay.

It was a conference we’ll all remember and it has changed so many of us in such a positive way. So a very big thank you to everyone at Gaia for making our stay so memorable and our conference such a success. We can’t wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Gaia is heaven! Every detail is superb! From the linens, to the spa, to the sanctity of just being still-- to the table where the food is treasured as it is grown in earth and pure.
From hands that heal with the scent of a rain forest you fall asleep under stars and awake to the sounds of birds while rain falls on the petals of flowers. When it is time to leave you awaken to a new you and the longing to return to a place that is pure magic.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverloxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

A bit of heaven, here on earth. Surrounded by pristine fauna and flora you are left in peace to get to befriend yourself while at the same time protected and catered to in every detail.
Bravo, I can't wait to get back.
Steve Ostrow Opera singer and entrepreuer

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrContinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Gaia is definatly not your typical 'cookie cruncher' resort. From the time you arrive at the airport and picked up by a staff member you could be forgiven for thinking that the resort and staff were there for you and you only. Too many personal touches to mention but the team at Gaia really know how to provide an experience that leaves you feeling very special.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChattySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Gaia was a unique experience for me. I arrived hassled and left 4 days later a new person, relaxed calm and ready to face the world again. Gaia provided a haven of tranquility that allowed me time out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoSorocaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklet
6.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.4 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
8.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
6.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
10.3 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Property: Gaia Retreat & Spa
Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaia Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat & Spa Australia/Brooklet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing