We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Superb location, food and treatments!”
Review of Gaia Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaia Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We have stayed at Gaia on numerous occassions and every time we come away feeling restored and relaxed. We have travelled all over the world and Gaia is truly a unique place - the surroundings are exceptional, the food is delicious, the staff are attentive and focused on making you feel pampered and cocooned. We leave our stress behind when we walk in the door, and when we leave we feel rejuvenated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank observeGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

My stay at Gaia was all I hoped it would be. I left feeling rejuvenated, refreshed and relaxed. All the staff and therapists were very professional and caring. I would definately go back and would recommended Gaia to anyone wanting a special place to unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

As someone who has traveled to some of the top resorts and hotels in the world, I have never had an experience as wonderful as my stay at GAIA. Peaceful, invigorating, an amazing staff and some of the best food I have even had from their own organic garden. Don't wait, BOOK YOUR TRIP now!

Stayed: December 2008
Thank JerseyGuyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I was tired and stressed when I arrived from Melbourne but within a few hours of my arrival, the magic of Gaia had kicked in. The place is beautiful - stylish and comfortable. And the staff are friendly and efficient. I have been to a couple of luxury spas in Asis but this beats them hands down. I had been wary about eating only healthy food but discovered it's delicious and was delighted to find I could have a wine with dinner. I loved the massages - so relaxing - and the morning Yoga. It's another world - and you go home feeling so calm and ready for anything.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxedMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

From the moment you arrive and step on the soil you know you are in a very special and magical place. So much so that I found it hard to walk and connect with Mother Earth for a few moments until I surrendered and allowed acceptance. You can choose a very deep spiritual journey within at Gaia or you can simply arrive for a relaxing stay. What sets Gaia apart and makes it a leader is that you set your own pace and direction of your stay. I have tracelled the world and always come home to Gaia. xoxoxo Madonna

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I first went to Gaia in 2005, not long after it opened, and I keep going back. I honestly didn't think that six days could leave me feeling a different person. But it did. The food is a revelation. The Spa has spoiled me for treatments back in Melbourne. The location is lushly serene and beautiful. But the best thing of all is the service - attentive, but relaxed, inclusive, friendly and nothing is ever too much. The hardest thing is not being able to go as often as I would like. If you can't be happy here I'd say you'd be hard pushed to be happy anywhere. And don't get me started on the gorgeous Gio and Sophie...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpujarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I went to Gaia with a friend who had been before - sceptical when she raved about it because things are rarely as good a second time round. But, she was right and I loved it. I went in exhausted, fed up with the stress of my life - just plain tired. Seven nights later I'm back in Sydney wanting to tell everybody how fantastic I feel.

I can highly recommend the morning yoga, the fantastic array of spa treatments (spent most of the day in the spa's luxurious robes, it seemed) and reading book after book. The food was just terrific and healthily delicious - and you can have a glass of wine with your dinner! Not a boot camp like many of the other spas I've been too - in Australia and internationally.

The staff were universally helpful and friendly - led by manager Greg who never seemed to have a day off and was always there for a chat and to check up on how everything was going. Jonathan and LeLe were my two favourite waiter staff. Always great for a chat and very knowledgeable about the food on offer.

The downsides? Not significant. Our room was about to undergo a renovation so it was a bit tired - but I did sneak a peak at the ones which had been recently done and they looked good. The treatments aren't cheap - but they were all very good and I got three freebies as part of the six day package anyway so the rest were my choice. The weather was a bit rubbish - but they can't do anything about that - and it encouraged me to just sit quietly, drinking tea and eating healthy snacks (muffins every morning!) in the fantastic main lounge area and read books. Loved the sculpture class - would have liked another "arty class" or cooking class or something in the six days cos I wasn't there to do full on exercise.

Would I go back - you betcha! I rarely want to return somewhere cos there is always somewhere new to try - but I felt Gaia has set me on new paths to a moe relaxed and happier life and I will want to go back to recharge the batteries regularly. No TV - no computer (though I did see someone else had brought theirs), no stress!

Go and enjoy!!!!!
Denise - Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklet
8.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
441 reviews
2.4 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
6.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
6.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
72 reviews
10.3 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Price Range: $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaia Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat & Spa Australia/Brooklet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing