We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I feel like a new person"”
Review of Gaia Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gaia Retreat & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"I feel like a new person"”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I really needed to get away, be spoiled and have time to be me and it happened at Gaia. The 4 days at Gaia felt like 4 weeks.

I have never had such good food, such attentive service and in one of the most relaxing environments i have ever been.

If you really want to relax and find your-self again this is the place to do it, it's going to be on my list every year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    17
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
71
178
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

After 7 nights I didn't want to leave. Gregg, Leanne, Kylie and all the team are so welcoming and really make each guest feel really welcome. I had a number of treatments at the Spa and all were amazing. The massages I had with Kyle, facial and manicure with Brigette and body polish with Nicolette were particular standouts. Tip: try and arrange for a massage in the "secret garden" room (located outdoors) - pure bliss. The food was fantastic and included a variety of chicken, duck, fish and prawns. The option to have a glass of wine (at additional cost) is great. Both organic and non-organic wines are available. The rooms are well maintained and comfortable without having that stark city hotel feel.

I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the Layanna rooms but the rooms are pretty close together so I would suggest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestAussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can't recommend the Gaia Retreat and Day Spa highly enough. It was so good that I couldn't bear to say goodbye after my 6 day stay and so on departure, I checked in again 3 days later.

There is no place like this that I have ever been to. It is a truly amazing experience. A warm, intimate, cosy and friendly place where you really feel at home and nutured. It is a place of exceptional natural beauty and serenity where you can really relax, have time to yourself and forget about the outside world.

One of the most striking things about this place is the people that work there. I cannot say enough about them. Everyone who works there is friendly, warm and kind. They get to know you when you arrive and continue to get to know you during your stay. You really feel welcome here and nutured by the staff who look after you and make you feel at home and part of the Gaia 'family'- From the admin staff in the office, to the chefs and kitchenhands, waiters, cleaners and drivers. Particular mention to Gregg, Leanne, Kylie, Karen, Jodie, Cam, Dan, Tim and Grant. Special mention has to be made of Gio and Sophia, the gorgeous resident dogs in the office area who also add a homely and warm touch.

All of the rooms that are part of the Gaia Retreat are stunning. The central dining and lounge area are comfortable and beautifully furnished. This has a huge balcony that has an exceptional view of the Brooklet hinterlands- so conducive to relaxation and serenity. The retreat is set on a huge property of lush green rainforest trees and grass which you are free to explore if you wish. The guest rooms are lovely inside and again beautifully furnished. There is a fully equipped gym and yoga room. There are day beds and hammocks dotted around the property where you can relax and rest.

The food at Gaia is utterly scrumptious. Every meal, every day is to die for with fine attention paid to delicious flavours as well as interesting textures and colour pallette. The chefs do an exceptional job in catering to everyone's dietary needs. All the food is fresh and made that day, all organic produce and the meals are of an exceptionally high quality and made by exceptionally highly trained chefs (hello Cam and Dan!). You can sit with those you have arrived at Gaia with for your meals or sit at the communal table which is a great idea for those who wish to meet others staying at Gaia.

The Gaia Day Spa really lives up to its reputation. Everyone who I spoke to had a wonderful experience there. The therapists are highly trained and have been working at the Gaia Day Spa for a number of years. I particularly liked the Ka Huna massage with Tim- a great deep tissue relaxing massage that I would strongly recommend. The Day Spa offers a wide range of treatments including facials, massages of different kinds, body scrubs, naturopathy, spiritual healing, chinese medicine including acupuncture, taro card reading, psychological counselling just to name a few.

Overall, I couldn't recommend this place more highly. An exceptional place that is warm and friendly, a truly spectacular place of beauty and serenity and a place where you can really relax and unwind with time for yourself. There is no doubt that I will be coming back here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A sense of calm and tranquility abounds, as soon one enters through the ornately carved doors, into the lush tropical oasis of Gaia Resort and Spa.
All the wait-staff,chefs, healers, gardeners, yoga teachers, office staff, are all welcoming, respectful and obliging.
The rooms are deliciously comfortable, with a warm ambiance. A dim light shines on the written word "dream" just above the bed,another discreet reminder to relax and unwind.
The Spa is beautiful, with some treatment rooms overlooking a waterfall! The Spa offers a wide variety of beauty, relaxation and healing treatments. The Massage Therapist, Giselle, was phenomenal, she fixed my sore back in an hour. I also had a body scrub and steam, which was fantastic.
I experienced the morning yoga, sculpture workshop and sound healing. Working in the health and wellness industry myself, I can say that the facilitators are world class. Gaia is all about the individual, going at your own pace, being content with being you, no pushing and no stress.
A walk to the top of the hill, to Samira Lookout with its stunning views is a must. The perfect place to meditate, ponder, and be grateful for the nurturing experience that Gaia offers.
My entire stay at Gaia was superb. I cannot recommend it enough and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holisticservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My visit was only short, but was truly wonderful! I felt like I was in another world - one I wanted to stay in for ever. The staff were so friendly, but discreet and the treatments were just great. Then there was the food. Who would think healthy good be that good. The couple of days that I spent there inspired me to return to the real world and live a better life. Thankyou so much and I certainly hope I get back again.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the path
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Amazing service, incredible food, excellent treatments. Went with my daughter and had a blissful experience.

Loved the morning yoga classes, took some bikes out for a ride to explore the local area, and every afternoon we enjoyed a swim, sauna, and dip in the hot tub. It was never too crowded and mostly other guests respected the quietness. Most memorable was the food however, it was devine. I returned home refreshed and relaxed. Would like to return with husband at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NASASSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at the Gaia. It was fantastic. Staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The meals were delicious, the treatments professional and the facilities first rate. Thanks to Gregg and his staff. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Gaia to anyone.

John & Linda Crossland
January 2013

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, it was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooklet
8.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
6.7 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
2.4 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
6.5 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Property: Gaia Retreat & Spa
Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaia Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat & Spa Australia/Brooklet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing