We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Havelock North
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Te Mata Estate Winery & Vineyards
from $71.06
More Info
from $125.02
More Info
from $64.11
More Info
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
38
29
11
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
29
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door wine tasting tasting room sauvignon blanc great wine premium wines wine making the young lady ask questions informative staff for sale new zealand coleraine host zara bay knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were early so had a stroll around the winery whilst the tasting room was being set up. Very interesting and a lovely location. The tasting was very well orchestrated and covered a wide variety of the wines on offer. 4 whites and 2 reds. The tasting was excellently and knowledgeably led and very friendly. Good wines too and good to know we can get them at home.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank deanh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Dropped by late on a Friday. Offered a tasting and were able to taste a few extra wines off the list.

The host was brilliant. She knew her wines and also quite a lot about wine making.

We only targeted a few vineyards and got exactly what we wanted at Te Mata.

Best Syrah tasting!! We didn’t get charged for the tasting but probably because we bought some Bullnose Syrah.

Probably best Syrah I had tasted in Hawke’s Bay.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank WayneN795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019

Wide range of wines and those for sale where all available for tasting. Excellent knowledge on the wines. We had a small table which we stood around for the tasting.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019 via mobile

A higher then usual $7.50 tasting fee, wines to try that you cannot buy (they literally offer wines for you to taste which are not for sale), no restaurant and difficulty arranging tours. Why bother when Craggy Range and Black Barn (both amazing) are just down the road...?

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank PonsonbyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

We visited Te Mata Estate Winery and were surprised to learn they are the oldest winery in New Zealand.
We tasted several wines and we purchased 2 bottles of Sauvignon Blanc that were really excellent.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank joenkathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews