We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Havelock North
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Birdwoods Gallery
A Grand Day Out
10 Reviews
from $99.19
More Info
from $63.49
More Info
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
356
110
10
10
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
356
110
10
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sweet shop lolly shop sculpture garden scones ice cream plunger coffee next door real fruit afternoon tea cake lemon tart burger something for everyone lovely lunch salad beautiful grounds old school
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 486 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

This place is a treat. It's such a stunning setting. Gorgeous established trees. Beautiful character buildings. Quality giftware with a difference. The woman who sculpts is a true artist. And her other artists she obviously has supply the establishment are wonderful too. Brilliant service and I can honestly say the nicest coffee I have EVER had!!!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwoods, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you for the very good review - it is really appreciated, and we love the coffee comment!
Best wishes, Louise Stobart - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Took the family here for lunch after having had the place recommended to us by the Havelock North I-Site staff. We needed to wait 20-minutes for a table, which was fine as we could have a look around while we waited. The meals were superb! They were very tasty. The iced chocolate drinks were to die for. The only criticism is that the menu is quite pricey however, probably in keeping with other local eateries. Would still recommend.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 971darryng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwoods, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review Birdwoods and we are glad you enjoyed your experience so much. Regarding our pricing - we have to disagree as unfortunately there are additional costs to being able to enjoy a meal in such lovely private gardens and one where we now offer table service.
Thank you for offering to recommend us to others.

Kind regards, Louise Stobart - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

The reviews said Birdwoods is a must do and they aren't wrong. Lovely location, really interesting sculptures and the gallery has an eclectic mix of items. Great selection at the lolly shop.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank KaritaneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwoods, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you - the review process is there to tell it as the customer sees it.... so thank you for your good one!
Kind regards, Louise Stobart - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Perfect start to our Hawkes Bay holiday over the Christmas break. Beautiful cafe with yummy fresh food. Fresh fruit icecreams. Beautiful gardens to look around. Has a great vintage sweet shop and gift store. We spent several hours here- was a beautiful day and it was super relaxing. Highly recommend- my favourite place we visited on holiday!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank 393danielles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwoods, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Thank you and so glad we got the pick for being the favourite holiday visit - I bet the Sweet Shop had something to do with it?
Kindest regards, Louise Stobart - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely love this place - from the gardens to the sculptures, to the sweets, to the food, we actually can’t fault any of it.

We build a visit here into any trip we make to the Hawke’s Bay. This time my wife’s mother joined us as we knew she would love it based on our experiences here. To make sure we wouldn’t miss out we reserved a table (glad we did as it was a busy Sunday afternoon typical of this holiday season) and arrived to see the set up had changed and you now have to wait to be seated and pay at the end, which is great!

The lady who sat us and our server were both attentive and friendly and when we saw a different table pop up, let us swap to that one without a hassle.

I never go past the braised beef and my wife the ravioli - both as excellent as always! The only disappointment was my wife not letting me get an iced chocolate, but I did get some excellent sugar free lollies from the sweet shop.

The new set up is awesome and we can’t wait to come back again!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Mebeija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdwoods, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you - you have made my day! We are delighted you approve of our new service changes which are in place to give the customers an even better experience along with our staff being able to manage everyone well.
Our wait times have come right down to a very acceptable time and the counter queues are no longer! We have cut back on the number of lunch tables we had, therefore we do recommend you book. The extra tables are being filled up with happy ice-cream and coffee customers!

We look forward to having you back and thank you again for your positive feedback.

Louise Stobart - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews