We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birdwoods Gallery

Birdwoods Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwoods Gallery is a very special place in the heart of Hawke's Bay. Set in the countryside just 3km from Havelock North Village, Birdwoods Gallery and its small companion, the Birdwoods Sweet Shop, are a 'must see' for young and old. Two historic buildings have been relocated to this pretty rural setting and transformed to become a distinctive and enchanting visitor attraction. Enjoy our famous morning or afternoon tea or come for a delicious garden lunch with family or friends. End it off with a delicious real fruit ice-cream from our little Ice Cream Shop.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
274 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

What a terrific little secret. Tucked away out the back of Havelock North, the gallery, cafe and sweet shop is a must see/do on your Hawkes Bay trip. I loved the gallery and in particular the outside sculptures. My wife loved the cafe with good coffee and wonderful scones. My kids loved the sweet shop with its terrific range and friendly staff member....actually I loved the sweet shop too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for discovering us and we are delighted that your whole family enjoyed the experience. The Sweet Shop is usually the icing on the cake! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. Come again next time you are in Hawke's Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    47
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

About 3kms from Havelock North 'Village Center' and so worth the trip.
It's a coffee shop, brunch/lunch cafe and art and sculpture gallery all in one. Spacious seating area inside, tables outside. Nice menu, great plunger coffee.
All the art for sale has its own story, please ask for it if its not offered spontaneously :) Very nice to hear where the pieces come from.
Very friendly and relaxing place. A friend took me there and I go back every time I'm in Havelock.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your visit to Birdwoods Gallery, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A "must see" on your Hawkes Bay visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

An excellent gallery for adults, a pick your own selection lolly shop for young and old, plus a brilliant cafe all in a fantastic setting. All of this close to the Havelock North village.
Thoroughly recommended to fit in with the other attractions in this beautiful part of New Zealand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. Come and visit us again next time you are in the lovely Hawke's Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We loved sitting out on the deck for afternoon tea - it was such a lovely, relaxing environment so soak up a warm, sunny afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Birdwoods Gallery - we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, beautiful setting, delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for morning tea, the weather was perfect and we sat outside. We had a plunger for two - more than one cup each. We shared a cake and it was served to us cut in half on two plates with cream. Bought out to us on a tray along with a vase of roses - nice touch. We meandered around the garden looking at the sculptures and around the gallery. We resisted the sweets next door - there was a large range available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brissygirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrietHavelockNorth, Owner at Birdwoods Gallery, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Birdwoods Gallery - it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdwoods Gallery also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 

Been to Birdwoods Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing