We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacular food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spectacular food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at Mangapapa as a special overnight visit on our way north. Catherine and her team made us very welcome and the surrounding are a spectacular country stop. Although not far from Havelock you get the real feeling of a country estate.

The rooms are of a very high standard as one would expect from a petit hotel of this style and we enjoyed the attentive service of the staff during our stay.

The absolute highlight of the stay was the Dinner - in my view world class and I cant recommend it too highly. From the whitebait starter to the final dessert wine it was truly outstanding food, very skillfully presented. Even the breakfast was something special. I'ts not often you get home made crumpets on the menu for breakfast.

So if you cant get in to stay I do recommend that you go there for dinner as it is really something that was better than I have eaten in many top class restaurants around the world. And in gorgeous surroundings too.

Thanks to Catherine and her team for a great evening.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
158
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We started our Hawkes Bay trip here and it definitely exceeded our expectations. We had booked a cheap rate through wotif and turned up with our bikes on the back of the car so we were half expecting to be treated rather snobbishly. Instead, we were made to feel extremely welcome by Clair - and there was no issue about leaving our car there for the next few days while we were cycling around the region.

Our room was stunning, we started the evening with complimentary French champagne, and our 5 course dinner was superb. The restaurant is well worth coming to even if you aren't staying here (and they offer a pick up / drop off service).

While we couldn't afford/justify the usual hotel rates here, we will definitely return if we can get similar discount rates in future - and stay more than one night next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

One of the finest stays I have ever experienced. We were greeted by the staff as soon as we pulled in to the parking lot who quickly unloaded our luggage and carried it into the hotel all the while warmly and sincerely welcoming us. The hospitality and graciousness were, without exception, some of the finest we have experienced in decades of world travel for both business and leisure. Although our stay was in the off season the service was exceptional with every attention to detail that one could imagine. The Inn was a former private estate that has magnificently restored and is impeccably maintained. The restaurant was outstanding. I would welcome the opportunity to stay here again. A one of a kind experience

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traildrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I booked Mangapapa at great expense for our honeymoon night - after specifically choosing one room I arrived on the morning of the wedding to find that we had been shifted to another room. I was very upset but the other room was already occupied. We were promised that champagne would be in the room so we did not have to check in or be disturbed - a staff member walked in while we were 'engaged'. Also I had specifically asked about the bed, as I saw it was two superkings pushed together (it was a honeymoon booking). I was assured that the separate tops could be joined together with a padding cushion so it would feeling like a single king sized mattress. This didn't happen it was really uncomfortable and the mattresses kept coming apart. The other strange thing was the shower went hot and cold like they were being affected by others showering which I would not expect in a lodge like this. I did not want to make a fuss as my wife avoids conflicts. However when I was paying (my wife was already in the car) I mentioned the walk in and the shower and this was brushed off. My sense was that they saw us as a young couple staying one night on a discount rate there not as important guests to please. We will not go back there for 10 year anniversary - the motel we stayed at the second night was a quarter of the price and 5 times as welcoming (that was the Fitzgerald motel in Palmerston North)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rested77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

When we first arrived we were greated by Kylie who was very helpful and showed us were everything was, our room was beautiful i couldn't believe how nice it looked when i seen it, the hotel looks so amazing.

There were many activities to do there such as golf, tennis and a spa , they also have a day spa here where we went and got massages that was fantastic, and made us feel so relaxed with a sauna after wards.

We had the 5 course meal for dinner which was lovely the dining room is so nicely set out and the food is so lovely.

Anyone that is after a romantic getaway or even some were to stay on a business trip i would recommend this hotel the rooms are lovely, all the staff are so friendly and helpful, and the food is to die for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

From the gracious arrival and accomodating welcome from Katherine it never stopped getting better.
We asked to be moved close to my sister and they immediately moved us the Cottage Suites and up graded us.
The rooms were big and spacious with a great bed and very good bathrooms and fab. towels.
The seating area both in and outside were great with nice decor.
Walking in the grounds was spectacular and there was a sauna and fitness area as well.
Dinner was excellent as was breakfast.
This team that Katherine has put together are incredible in every way and was the best place we stayed in NZ.
Ask them to set you up with Dean who gave us a two day tour of the area, he was brilliant as well.
We arrived back this last weekend and wish we could turn around and go right back to both NZ and Mangapapa!
Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We spent 3 night wonderful nights and would have liked to stay longer. From the moment we arrived to our departure, nothing was too much trouble for Katherine and her team. They made us feel very welcome and have a true understanding of guests needs. Restaurant and wine list excellent. We enjoyed everything about this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Large bathroom with excellent shower
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fandagoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
9.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
9.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Property: Mangapapa Hotel
Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing