We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend break”
Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The suite (with four poster bed) was spotless and very spacious. Fruit and bottled water were there on arrival and homemade truffles every evening. The gym was small but well equipped with very good and sauna facilities.

We had the six course degustation menu each evening and the chef gave us a different menu each night. It was excellent. The sommelier was in a class of his own. The wine he presented was tremendous and it was the highlight of our stay.

We would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelynrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - perhaps we'll persuade you to try the 9 or 12 course degustation option on your return? We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
161
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, booking this after we were cancelled by two other places (very irksome!). I had seen this hotel while searching, and the reviews helped my decision to book.

The hotel setting is lovely, with the guests having free reign to explore the property, pick fruit, use the provided equipment etc.
The room was tastefully furnished relevant to the hotels style.

We did the degustation meal with wine which was great value. Unfortunately we were the only guests in the restaurant and it felt like we were being rushed through the meal (we were rushed through it 6 x wines in 1.5hrs - golly!). But it was a really good meal. Breakfast is also good value (included in stay price) and its a nice setting to relax.

One negative comment, when we arrived, the host came out and said "do you want a hand with your bags?" And then went inside, it was just odd that a bag service wasn't a given and the way he said it was a bit unprofessional.

All in all, would say its a great setting for groups (ie wedding party), or a short stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaxMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had the priveledge of staying in this Hotel and what a wonderful treat it was. They have bicycles you can use free of charge, a pool, a tennis court, lovely rooms which were kept very clean. You couldnt ask for a better staff. You can walk or bike around the property picking plums, pears, and apples from their orchards. I loved their wonderful front garden which we were able to use to have a wonderful bar-b-q catered by the Mangapapa. Great for weddings. Local pubs are just about a 5 minute drive into town. And again, the staff went above and beyond with any demands we might of had. Definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazaro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us Laz. It really was a pleasure for us to see you all kick back, relax and enjoy some good old fashioned Hawke's Bay hospitality! Hope we'll see you all next time you make it to these shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently spent a night here whilst visiting the Hawkes Bay area and really enjoyed the, location and loved our accomodation. The staff were so helpful and friendly and if we had been able to would have stayed longer. We stayed in the Oxford room and the amentites were fantastic. Would stay here again without hesitation. This is an area we need to explore more, no idea how divine the Hawkes Bay area is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello Catherine S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at Mangapapa, I am really pleased you enjoyed it. We look forward to looking after to you during your next visit to sunny Hawke's Bay.

Kind regards,

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a very short notice, after being disappointed at another hotel we had chosen for our honeymoon. Moving to Mangapapa was the best decision we could have taken, it was everything we had expected for our honeymoon: beautiful boutique hotel with great service and great structure. It was an amazing experience! I'm glad they had availability.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaPaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello MarianaPal,

Congratulations on your Wedding, may this be the beginning of a lifetime of love and happiness as you begin your exciting journey as husband and wife.

We are so pleased to be part of your wedding memories.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your stay here at Mangapapa and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights in the Cambridge Room. Beautiful grounds and lovely old buildings. Loved the 1951 Bentley. However, this meant listening to the couple staying upstairs running endless baths, stomping around and at 6am every morning bonking with the headboard hitting the wall. Not much sleep for our mini-break away. Minor but disappointing was the pool wasn't clean, spa is impossible to work and not very private, ceiling in our room peeling. I hate to say it but 5 star grounds and surrounds but in a 3 star hotel given the price.

Room Tip: not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ.metge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Russ.Metge,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at Mangapapa.

I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been.

Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded room to you on a different floor had you made the staff aware of the problem, as we are aware that occasionally some of our guests can be loader than others.

You may also be interested to learn next year we will be having a full refurbishment of our deluxe suites. Included in this refurbishment is brand new guest room carpet and a much thicker underlay which we believe will soften any noise coming into your room. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed. so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Hawke's Bay again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip was Enjoyable.

Kind regards

Catherine Hobbs-Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was impressed. - met at my car door with a smile, carried my luggage to my room which was two hours early of check in. The grounds are well kept with stunning roses and gardens, the photos online do not give it justice at all, it is beautiful! The gym is small but has all the high end equipment you need for a good workout. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. When I returned from my wine tour staff came out to welcome me back and the turn down service with the truffle on the silver platter with an update on the next days weather was a nice touch. The wild rabbits and pukekos added to the charm of this place. This boutique hotel is faultless and I would recommend to all who are travelling around the Hawkes Bay - great location! Can't wait to return, next time with friends and family!

Room Tip: Grounds are expansive. Rooms are quiet and private. Some noise can be heard in the bathroom from u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amkblackbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello amkblackbetty,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Mangapapa.

I look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
9.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
9.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Property: Mangapapa Hotel
Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing