We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
victoria b.c.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a fantastic property with a few rooms. There are numerous facilities including a 3 hole golf course! The greens are a bit rough though. The service was great and the 6 course meal was incrideble. Tony was very helpful to us. I highly recommend this lovely place with great gardens. We even saw 2 Kangaroos in the garden!

Room Tip: Main lodge upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain-CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
160
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We won 2 nights stay as part of a prize package. Didn't dine there, but would like to go back and stay and dine. Setting is fabulous, rooms appointed beautifully, attention to detail very fine. Staff very friendy, courteous and most willing to assist where ever. Breakfast was lovely. Resident cat a bit wary..

Room Tip: Had a room in the old homestead - nice views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuwharetoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had the most amazing experience on Friday night. We arrived at Mangapapa and were greeted and shown to our room. We relaxed and then had a couple of drinks at the bar , followed by a spa. We tried for the first time the 9 course Degustation Menu with matching wines/drinks. The food was simply the best we have ever had (thanks Chef Michael) and was matched perfectly with wines, port etc The service was exceptional and we cant wait to go back with friends. We loved our room and it was a bonus to be able to stay at this delightful hotel. Thumbs up to Catherine Hobbs -Turner and her team, we loved every minute. Thank you! We will be back.

Room Tip: Im sure every room is just as good as the one we had. It was tastefully decorated , spacious and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrenWithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the Mangapapa suite withe wife and daughter. Place was wonderful, breakfast a treat (didn't dine there). Staff were the most friendly and helpful people we have encountered. A great headquarters for exploring the Bay.

Room Tip: We had the Mangapapa suite which is large, exceptionally well air-conditioned with a modern contempo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Easter and had a lovely weekend. We were lucky to get a special deal and were given "the honeymoon suite". The first night we had the 6 course degustation dinner with matching wines and the food was fantastic. The break fast was also very good. It is close to havelock north a very nice town with some great shops. You need a car to get around if staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrieOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed at the Mangapapa Petit Hotel for my husbands birthday. driving down the drive way as soon as we pulled into the hotel entrance we were greeted at the car! - welcomed by professional friendly staff and escorted to our suite.
we dined at the restaurant experiencing a 6 course wine matched degustastion dinner - Fantastic.
for a special made to feel welcome weekend this property was really great. a huge thanks to the manager Catherine Hobbs-Turner, she and her team were exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 230Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

50 acres of gorgeous orchards abundant with fruit which guests may pick from the trees! Our room Cambridge suite was fabulous with lovely amenities, towels etc as you would expect at this price range. Very professional welcome from Tara. There is a pool and spa gym, small but functional. Fab place for stylish intimate wedding. We opted for the 6 course dinner and it was spectacular and the service impeccable.
The bad news is that we had no idea what food we would be served and 4 of the 6 courses were fish incl oysters so do ask up front in case of allergy etc.. It was actually mentioned on our check in form but people need to be specific.
Breakfast was a little let down too. Limited options, quite unusual. I would like to have seen eggs Benedict and more fresh fruit...I brought an apple from the orchard the second morning!
Overall a lovely experience.
We were here mid week and it was very quiet .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
9.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.0 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
9.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Property: Mangapapa Hotel
Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing