We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
91
9
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
9
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting fresh bread te mata peak yogurt breakfast basket the cottages tasting room comfortable lounge michelin starred chef wonderful tasting wonderful restaurant le terroir wood burning stove beautiful vineyard pinot noir an absolute bedroom cottage
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

Three of us stayed in the Merlot Cottage and we were so impressed with the quality of everything from the breakfast supplies to the linens and of course the incredible views.

The dinner at the restaurant was superb and the staff were so attentive.

We were celebrating my brother's birthday and happened to mention he prefers coffee beans over ground coffee and we were provided with a lovely assortment of Hawthorne Coffee Roasters beans. We brought our own grinder but this was an unexpected treat.

I would love to return to this delightful place.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

We stayed in the Pinot Noir, two bedroom/two bath, cottage with another couple, and we were all so impressed. First, the setting is incredible! To be sitting right in the middle of the wine grapes eating alfresco on the patio is such a treat! The fridge and small kitchen were stocked with breakfast items, so we were able to "do our own thing" with their lovely repast.

The beds were divinely comfortable. The first night was a little warm, and I have to say the a/c unit was struggling, but the next night was a windows-open kind of night.

We dined at a wonderful Tri-Nation Wine Dinner at Terroir the second night. What an absolute treat that was for the four of us! It was a blind-test wine competition of seven courses of wine pairings. Food was prepared by a Michelin-starred chef from England. It was very well done and delightfully fun! Craggy Range invited us to attend when I made the booking.

Lastly, I inadvertently left a blouse in the room. The staff was kind enough to email me, and they sent it to the hotel we stayed at in Christchurch the last two nights of our trip. What service!

Stay here if you can!!!!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rokalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017

My wife and I visited Craggy Range in January 2017. We stayed in the Sauvignon Blanc Cottage, utterly amazing, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 TV, dishwasher, washing machine, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, beautiful crockery and cutlery, log fire, parking for 4 cars, decorated to a very high standard, everything you would require was here, and of course you are surrounded with grape vines. It is so tranquil you don't want to leave.
The wine tasting and factory tour was a wonderful experience apart from the fact it was so palatable the background information we were given and the knowledge of all the hard work that goes in to make a bottle of wine is totally mind blowing.
If you get the opportunity to visit Craggy Range jump at it, you will not regret any of it.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FrankBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

There are just four cottages at Craggy Range, nicely spaced out within the vine growing areas, private and very quiet. Every detail of these cottages is superb. Spacious and comfortable, with a huge bathroom and very large shower cubicle incorporating rain forest and hand held options, plus separate tub. There is a washing machine and a dryer in each unit, and a kitchenette with dishwasher and dining tables inside and on the outside patio.

A comprehensive breakfast basket is provided each day, and for keeping in touch, each cottage has free WiFi.

On our arrival day, we enjoyed an excellent meal at the Terroir restaurant on site. For our second night, we cooked our own meal and sat outside watching the sun go down with a bottle of Sav Blanc from the winery. A tour of the facility and wine tasting was included at no extra charge.

Napier is a lovely town, about 20 minutes drive away, but Craggy Range itself is splendidly Isolated! For that reason, a car is a must.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunman239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017

We arrived at a very busy time with many customers partaking of the wine tasting but we warmly welcomed and checked into our cottage before a tour of the vineyard. The cottage was beautifully designed , very well equipped and so comfortable we decided to eat in on the second night just to make the most of it, having had an excellent meal on site on the first night. Sitting outside in the vineyard was idyllic with great views and a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast packs excellent.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews