We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Starlake Thai

Starlake Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is always full but finds a place for you. The staff are very jovial and pleasant. The menu is standard Thai and well presented and good. However, one great aspect is that the entrees have four items, spring roll, stuffed mushrooms etc. This is great when there are two of you and you don't need to decide who should get the extra one with a three piece serving. Indeed we have been and had a meal consisting of just entrees, real tasty when not terribly hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise. Glad I revisited”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having had bad meals and takeaways a few years ago I must admit, I have avoided Starlake. Joined some colleagues for an early dinner recently and was pleasantly surprised. Friendly attentive staff and the food was good. Will try again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good Thai meal, reasonable prices too. Was yummy! Full of veggies which were cooked perfectly. The mild wasn't too spicy for those who prefer a mild flavour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ange4hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with friends a few months ago, and enjoyed it so much headed back for another meal.
Great service and delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland , New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fab Thai meal in excellent restaurant. We had 4 dishes which both kids adored, the mountain pork ( spicy but oh so good), the Penang chicken my fav, the Starlake noodles for the fussy ( no I dont want spicy food) child - who LOVED it, and a green curry with prawns.. all very very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaaABPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlake Thai also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Starlake Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing