We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the start of an adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diva Bistro & Bar

Diva Bistro & Bar
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Superb food, great service and a friendly bar, makes Diva an exciting local and out of town experience, serving lunch, dinner bar platters and great coffee. ...Diva Bistro & Bar found in the heart of vibrant Havelock North village.
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
“the start of an adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Me and a group of mates decided we would start a dinner club. We all work hard; have a lot of disposable income, and like drinking and eating so twice a week when we all can, we go out to eat somewhere. Try somewhere new every time. Now IV found trip adviser I wanted to share our experiences. The other night we had our second time at diva. It was a Thursday and we wanted to have a lot to drink. The best thing about diva was that at about 10:00 pm the nice cosy restaurant turned into a party. All the jersey shore girls from all over Hawkes bay came out. I was doing shoots and drinking up large. It was fantastic. We had a 3 meal each and i enjoyed every mouthful. we had a bartender named Greg who looked after us so well so thank you Greg. For a fun atmosphere, you should go to diva.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Didn't feel like a Diva.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our group of 6 tried this for a dinner the night after we ate at Pipi's. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. All the girls ordered Cosmo's (which were on the menu). Panic ensued at the bar. Waitress came back and said it would be 15 mins for drinks? They were out of limes and had to go shopping for them?
We ordered dinner and it was ok. VERY slow service. There is a lot of microwaving going on in the kitchen. I had a good view in there and door on microwave was being slammed with regularity.
Our waitress was friendly but forgot side orders and bread. We never saw her again to let her know. At this point, we just wanted to go home. Maybe we hit a bad night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeach57, Manager at Diva Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
lime supply's feb - march are inconsistent and notoriously hard to source at times,both locally and from overseas, subsequently our order for the week was a day late. gosh what amazing service, staff managed to source a back up supply within minutes to deliver your requested drinks.
I would welcome you to return to Diva at any time to observe a meal service while dining and if at the end of this service you feel meals are microwaved (compromising quality ) we will happily compliment your whole experience. ps our ding service bell has a similar ring tone as a MW !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friday Night dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great food in the restaurant section but service was a little slow

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Fish and chips, and lambs kidneys. Both very high quality and with a different "twist" eg the spicy batter, and beautifully presented. Local wine list. Very attentive service. Relaxing to sit and watch the traffic.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The servings were meagre and the prices high. The tables are placed too close together.

Helpful?
Thank Susan699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeach57, Manager at Diva Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thankyou for your constructive review we have addressed table placement in
the bistro and portion control to ensure a more enjoyable dining experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diva Bistro & Bar also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Diva Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing