We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Pipi Cafe

Pipi Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pipi is all about you the customer we don’t mind if you come in your muddy gumboots or your Gucci stilettos, or if you drink Bollinger with your pizza or house red. We are very lucky in Hawkes Bay to be surrounded by wonderful produce and wine and our menu very much reflects this, where possible everything is local and organic. We don’t take ourselves too seriously but we do take what we do very seriously. Using the best freshest ingredients and cooking them to best bring out their natural flavours. Pipi was born out of my love of my children and food and now 15 years later this has not changed at all and is still at the heart of everything we do.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great meal here with the kids, relaxed atmosphere and delicious food. Kids loved the pizza, and for us the Gnocchi was outstanding.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    98
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This amazing Pipis is a building not to be missed in Havelock North with its hot pink colour. The service and food match each other of being amazing. The atmosphere is cozily relaxed and is never cold inside. It is a great place for going out with a group of friends and as a couple.
I would definitely recommend the Capricosa and Pollo pizzas, they're the best!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hbbornandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a Winner”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hard to go past if you are in Havelock. Great atmosphere- laid back and casual but with excellent service.
Fantastic pizzas- hard to go wrong to be fair!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamilmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As ever, just great!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Latest visit of many that we've made, and pleased to report that things are better than ever. Pizzas are still fantastic, but what's really been sharpened up is the service- this has occasionally been the weak point in the past, but was great this time around. Got seated in the extra tables in the foyer, which could have been chilly, if not for the lovely warm blankets which were supplied. Being seated out there also sheltered us from the noisy environment inside (which worked fine until the table alongside was taken up by a loud-voiced family-but that's no fault of the venue....) All in all, still going strong

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“On a good day its good”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It has a really unique and fun charm. It can get a little irritating if its busy and you want to have a conversation without being bumped or overheard. But for a social catch up with friends it is hard to beat. Only disclaimer is the food seems to be a bit inconsistent of late....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipi Cafe also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing