We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Pipi Cafe

Pipi Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pipi is all about you the customer we don’t mind if you come in your muddy gumboots or your Gucci stilettos, or if you drink Bollinger with your pizza or house red. We are very lucky in Hawkes Bay to be surrounded by wonderful produce and wine and our menu very much reflects this, where possible everything is local and organic. We don’t take ourselves too seriously but we do take what we do very seriously. Using the best freshest ingredients and cooking them to best bring out their natural flavours. Pipi was born out of my love of my children and food and now 15 years later this has not changed at all and is still at the heart of everything we do.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The food was great, didn't have to wait long, worth the wait. Obviously bery popular with the locals

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    102
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nz
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great place to eat. Good food, especially pizza.

Quirky, relaxed environment with good service. Beer in fridges around the room - help yourself and take empties up for payment at the end! Great idea.

Havelock North is an enclave of well-heeled civilisation in the North Island and the clientele here reflected that.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love Pipi's pizza”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This little pink place is crazy good. Get a soda or beer out of the retro fridges. Order an incredible pizza and don't miss sticky pudding for dessert. A really friendly place, both to you and your wallet.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Pizzas : very cosy surrondings”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The previous reviews say it all : no bookings, shared tables, friendly staff, brilliant pizzas, loud and great ( we are pensioners from the UK ! )

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerandjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time, wine, food and friends”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I love Pipi’s in Havelock North and will quite often go there with friends and have a laugh. The restaurant is quite basic with bench chairs with cushions, old household furniture such as side boards and kitchen tables and an assortment of not too expensive art on the walls. Every table has candles and you are jammed in to a small but wonderfully busy, exciting, pumping, electric environment. The Pizzas are amazing and the desserts are yummy. We ordered 3 pizzas and a plate of penne pasta, 3 desserts, two bottles of Montepulciano and 2 bottles of beer and it only came to $60 a head. Oh by the way the beer you help yourself too out of the fridge. Well worth it if you ask me was the large aloha pizza that I ordered. It was the size of a car tyre. I can assure you it did not taste like one, smothered in an amazing tomato based sauce with mozzarella, pineapple and bacon, it was delicious. Check out the image
If you want a great night out, awesome pizza and want to go where the locals go then Pipi’s should not be missed. If you are a bit fussy and like a clean sterile, quite environment with not much atmosphere then Pipi’s is not the place for you. Be prepared for average service which can require some self-help activity, great food and big crowds, but the locals will tell you that’s what it’s all about. Pipi's reminds me of the many great family run restaurants in Europe that I stumbled upon. The ones with the tacky paintings and faded postcard photos from the 60s, gingham table clothes and the Chianti bottle with a candle in it. Nothing flash but the food was great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrapeEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipi Cafe also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing