We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High expectations exceeded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just loved our stay with John and Iris at their wonderful home and it was the highlight of our 12 day road trip .They are engaging and friendly hosts and were very helpful with advice on places to visit and things to do in the beautiful surrounding area and also including Hastings and Napier which are a short drive way . We certainly recommend staying 3 nights minimum ... we needed this and want to return one day to explore some more .The area near their home is adjacent to the most beautiful Te Mata Peak. The drive to the summit is a must do. The surrounding range and river a very picturesque and John has done some beautiful paintings reflecting this . John and Iris were very helpful in recommending which wineries would be good to have lunch or dinner at and their recoomendations were spot on .
They have a spectacular home with a special warmth which was not just the brillant Hawkes Bay weather we enjoyed Our room was lovely and the breakfasts were sensational . We found it so very hard to leave and hope to return again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you both so much for your very kind words, we do appreciate it and we are thrilled that you had such a good time in the beautiful Hawke's Bay. You are right, you do need at least 3 days to see ate least a selection of what we offer in our region.
We do hope you can return again, we will look forward to that.
Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights with Iris and John. Their art-filled Loft was the best bed and breakfast experience we have had in New Zealand (and that is really saying something!) I knew we would love it the moment we stepped into their private courtyard filled with interesting vegetation and charming artifacts. Our room was equipped with every possible comfort and the spa bathroom sparkled with sunlight and cleanliness. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking John's multi-layered garden which he has miraculously created from a bare hillside. Iris is a fine cook and enjoys using the bounty of their own garden and the orchards of the surrounding area. We especially enjoyed the poached Golden Queen peaches she prepared.
John and Iris are happy to suggest local activities and fortunately steered us to Pipi's in North Havelock -a quirky restaurant which we loved so much we ate there two nights in a row! If you visit, you will find a trip to the summit of Te Mata provides spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The Loft is also the perfect base for explorations of the local wineries.
Thank you, Iris and John, for such a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Do yourselves a favour and select the room with the spa bathroom!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you S & N for your lovely words, we do appreciate your thoughts. We enjoyed your stay very much and thank you again for coming, I hope you have some success with your exchanges, I am working on one now; I should say that at times you need to have some tenacity as it doesn't always fall into place immediately.
Have a wonderful holiday
I & J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our few days at Iris and John's lovely home. They were very friendly, welcoming hosts, the breakfasts were absolutely delicious, our bedroom and bathroom were lovely and the garden and views were fabulous. John and Iris gave us lots of good advice on things to do in the area and we thoroughly recommend their B & B.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarAsh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Manager at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did your company. It was our pleasure to prepare breakfasts for you and thank you for coming to stay with John and me.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

John and Iris welcomed us into their home with good humour and bon homie. They were unobtrusive yet always available. Their local knowledge and advice was given freely and was spot-on. Our room and ensuite were excellent and the the breakfast was sensational with home-made ingredients and served in the beautifully landscaped gardens. The complimentary bottle of wine was the best Pinot-Noir we tasted in NZ. And thank you, Iris, for the copy of your home-made muesli recipe.

Room Tip: If you like B & B's, you'll love the Loft.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

T & K......It was our pleasure to welcome you both into our home. We very much enjoyed our conversations and do hope we can visit your part of Australia before too long. Enjoy the Muesli
Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a great place to stay. Tasteful decor, impeccable service & hospitality. Such a lovely restful place to stay and savour the delights of this lovely area. Iris & John are welcoming, not intrusive. We don't generally stay in b&b's but the 3 nights here were a delight. Loved sitting on the deck watching the birds in the water features

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words Caroline, we thoroughly enjoyed your company - we could tell that 'he really really loves you!' . Your visit seems just like last week but already it is more than a month. We hope you had a fabulous Christmas, as we did..

All our best for 2013.

Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts, but this was tops. Iris and John allowed us into their drop-dead gorgeous home, and in the process, outdid the look by the classic service they provide. There is not a stroke missed at the Loft, from the unbelievable artwork (much of it painted by John himself), to the impeccable breakfasts they serve, to the gorgeously decorated bathroom,to the comfortable and warm bedrooms-unique in New Zealand homes, usually known for their low R-factors (poor insulation). As it turns out, their taste in furnishings and art are identical to ours, and that made our two-night stay even better. Next visit to Hawke's Bay, make a point of staying at the Loft.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwrfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you so much R & A, we very much enjoyed you coming to stay with us. By now you may be back in the USA, wonder if you have re-purchased your property yet?

We would be interested to hear where you settle next time you are back in NZ.

Our very best wishes for a terrific 2013.

Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent a perfect, quiet evening with John and Iris at their home in Havelock North, NZ. He is an artist, and opened his house and studio to us. The surroundings are perfect, the home is tasteful and full of attractive art. Our room was spacious, comfortable, with one of the lovliest bathrooms we have seen.
I highly recommend this place, and look forward to our next visit there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Manager at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hello G & J

A belated thank you for your lovely comments on T/A and our visitors book. We hope 2013 is going well for you both. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we did meeting you.

Kindest regards

Iris and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Havelock House
Havelock House
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10 Woodford Heights, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range: $124 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art filled architectural home in prime position with magnificent views. Out-door areas for guests including beautiful courtyard and deck with wonderful view. In-house Art Studio to visit featuring New Zealand way of life originals in acrylic and watercolour. Just 2 mins to our village, nestled in the famed Te Mata Peak foothills.20 mins. to beaches, 20 mins. We are a food and wine destination with many other attractions. i.e amazing Gannet Colony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing