We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and views -- wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and views -- wow!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had an extended stay at The Loft and it was terrific. The location is fantastic, just far enough out of "the Village" to get a fabulous view from the patio and still close enough so a 1 minute drive gets you into the center of Havelock North with it's great shopping and restaurants. Thanks, John and Iris!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Host John and Iris were very accommodating throughout our stay, providing a lot of tourist information for interesting places to visit. The rear patio is a lovely place to eat breakfast whilst listening to the birds. Havelock North is a great base for the wine and Art Deco excursions.

Room Tip: Book the Spa bedroom you can even Star Gaze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The hosts were incredibly hospitable and very knowledgable about the area. Their lovely home with its delightful garden made this bed and breakfast stay unforgettable. The delicious breakfast was served in the garden. A real treat!
We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms, which may prove a little tight for some, but it is lovingly decorated and the ensuite bathroom is a beauty. Guests have access to a computer room and the garden. The size of the room would never deter me from recommending this bed and breakfast, nor from staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you A & A for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we wish you could have stayed longer. We did enjoy meeting you both and hope that we meet again some time. As you know, we do visit Canada.
Warmest best wishes. I&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Havelock North was a great spot to stay, close enough to Napier for strolling the Art Deco town, but a little away from that hustle. We were thrilled to book this wonderful B & B and Iris and John welcomed us with tea and nibblies on their beautiful deck overlooking the valley. All the comforts of home and special touches besides. Little flashlights on each night table, free wi fi, bedtime chocolates, and special bath salts for the spa which is under a skylight where you can sit and soak and watch the stars, to mention just a few. This is a beautifully designed and decorated home and we enjoyed chatting with John and Iris about their world travels. Breakfast was delicious and everything was so relaxing and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you J & Y; we thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again some time during our travels.
It is guests like yourselves that make our job so rewarding, have a wonderful 2011.
I & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Upon arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome and enjoyed the personal attention that John and Iris gave us. We were free to enjoy the beautiful view from their deck and spent many lovely hours enjoying wine, cheese, coffee and conversation with our hosts. Breakfast was superb and the atmosphere was relaxed yet sophisticated. Our Mother / Daughter escape to Hawke's Bay will long be remembered.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caniwi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
We so enjoyed meeting you both on your visit to us, thank you for your company and conversation. We hope the return to Brazil is wonderful for you and life in Auckland continues to be spectacular!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Marvellous house and wonderfully friendly hosts. Would have loved to have stayed longer

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinadowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments...we wished you could have stayed longer with us as well.

I & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We loved our 3-day (too short) stay with John and Iris! It was like having our own home in Havelock. Very comfortable rooms, private guest lounge with free internet, wonderful hosts, fabulous meals! We spent Christmas Eve, Day and Boxing Day here. We felt like we were spending holidays with the family and Christmas dinner was spectacular. Their tour recommendations were right on, they made the bookings for us, and even gave us photo op hints! An added bonus was a visit to John's art studio where we were treated to his incredible paintings and Iris' amazing photos. Breakfast on the deck with lovely gardens and the most beautiful views were a highlight! HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Polly011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10onwoodford, Owner at The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you P for this review....we loved having you to stay with us for 3 nights from America and sharing a New Zealand Christmas with you all
I & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
44 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Havelock House
Havelock House
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10 Woodford Heights, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Loft Art Studio & Premium Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art filled architectural home in prime position with magnificent views. Out-door areas for guests including beautiful courtyard and deck with wonderful view. In-house Art Studio to visit featuring New Zealand way of life originals in acrylic and watercolour. Just 2 mins to our village, nestled in the famed Te Mata Peak foothills.20 mins. to beaches, 20 mins. We are a food and wine destination with many other attractions. i.e amazing Gannet Colony. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing