We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth stopping buy”

Arataki Honey Visitor Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You will be amazed at what you will discover, when you visit Arataki Honey Visitor Centre. Here you will be able to explore the fascinating world of the humble honeybee in a modern & interactive environment. With many activities on offer including an extensive retail section, everybody young & old will truly have “A Sweet Experience”. Free Entry Free Honey Tasting Group bookings Open 7 days 9.00am – 5.00pmClosed Christmas DayClosed Good FridayClosed Easter Sunday
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth stopping buy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just love the Clover Honey and other samples from this honey centre. Bought honey to take back to Australia, no issues with customs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsManning585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Good to hear that you love our honey and got it back to Australia safely! Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    95
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to the honey tasting all week and we made the slight detour to the Arataki Visitor Center.Nice displays about the honey making process and a lot of bees to observe...a nice staff member even told me a lot about the behavior of bees,very interesting.The different types of honey you can taste are delicious...and you can try more than once :) the shop has a great selection of honey and honey related products at very reasonable prices. This center is worth a visit even if you don't have kids (displays seem to be designed for kids but after all when it comes to honey and bees I didn't know more about it before I went there than a kid:)! Thanks for the enjoyable free tour (ended up buying some honey though...)

Helpful?
Thank Wuschel-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I'm glad that our centre (and our honey of course) lived up to your expectations, especially since you had to detour to get to us. Its lovely to receive such great feedback and to know that our visitors really enjoy their visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Honey Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was a great place to go and try all of the different honeys available. Really interesting to see the bees making honey and it would be a great attraction for a family.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Isn't it great to see the Bees going about their "Buzziness". I'm glad you found our centre interesting and want to thank you for your great review. I hope you get the chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
712 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“A Sweet Place for a Rainy Day Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you want to learn about 99% of what you might like to know about bees and making honey, this is a wonderful place to spend
a rainy day hour. And you can shop to see lots of NZ products and certainly try those made with honey. Plus there are at least 6-8 types of honey to taste and compare.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Maybe we'll see you again one day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“lots to learn about bees and free honey tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

the honey center is very informative have lots of information about honeybees behavior how they collect honey. there are variety of honey for tasting and then you can buy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle H, Manager at Arataki Honey Visitor Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I was delighted by your excellent review of our Visitor Centre. I'm glad you enjoyed finding out all about the honeybee and tasting our honeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arataki Honey Visitor Centre also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 

Been to Arataki Honey Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing