We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of St Andrews Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Andrews Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed here with a mate. Loved the setting and garden. The facilities are very clean, lounge is just wonderful. Host are attentive and caring.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kardon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Some places a difficult to describe. This is one. Just go there. Our plan was 2 nights but stayed 16, also during the 3 days nude gathering. It was a feast. Henk and John thanks.
We hope to be there again next year. Hans and Bart from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansbartBuitenpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My partner and I stayed here back in 2008 so sorry for the late review. This was by far one of our favourite B&B stays in the last few years. The gardens were like little piece of Eden and the two owners were down to earth and very social. We had such a wonderful time that we extended our stay to 4 nights. If I am lucky enough to make it back to New Zealand this is one B&B that I will make a point of staying at again. Thanks Greg and John

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Clean, welcoming owners, fantastic garden, wonderful bubbelpool and showers in the garden, high quality beds etc. Have been there twice with my parftner and would absolutely return if we would come to NZ again. Such a place is really difficult to find elsewhere in the world. Thank you John and Hank for creating this wonderful place where we can relax and just enjoy life.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swesiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My partner and I have stayed at Ngatahi three times and will be back for more. The gardens, general setting and facilities are really beautiful and the hosts really friendly and warm. There is a communal lounge with log fire that is a standard that I would expect in a much more expensive resort and also an outside fireplace to sit by, BBQ area, spa pool with outside hot showers, bath in the garden (highly recommended), and lots of garden paths and lawns to wander. I never want to leave - it's a great place to work on a tan, read a book on a lounger on the lawn, etc. The tentsites are cheap for what you get for budget travellers by the way - we've used rooms and a tent site.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eudemonianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Ngatahi Lodge describes itself as "a private retreat in sunny Hawke's Bay. But this simply doesn't do it justice.

Imagine the most perfect secluded gardens (around 3 acres) and within this Eden nestle modern, gleaming pavilions: a lounge, an accommodation block and separate owner's home. Curvaceous paths writhe sensuously amongst the blossoming shrubs making every turn a new surprise; a wooden hot tub juxtaposed against twin towering stainless outdoor showers while nearby blossom lights up the area with a waterfall of white flowers and random butterflies. In the distance the occasional soothing sound of frogs in the vast lily pond. Turn a corner and you’re in the scented garden, a few steps more and you’re in a cathedral dedicated to pure hedonism! All this beauty plus pristine manicured plantings sets the scene for a perfect holiday. Add a “clothing optional” tag and yes you’re most definitely in Eden!

We stayed in the King bedroom with ensuite shower and toilet. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen. The furnishings are new and termed “masculine”. The room colour scheme was a sort of warm toffee. High wooden ceilings mean it won’t get too hot in the Hawke’s Bay summers but multiple louvers will mean you can make a myriad of adjustments to any passing breeze.

There is a minimum stay of 2 nights at Ngatahi Lodge, but trust me you WILL want to stay longer. This is a place to just “be”, close to fantastic dining and wine - perhaps at the nearby Craggy Range vineyard restaurant “Terroire”, an absolute "must-do" at lunch or dinner. Or taste one of the most prestigious wines in New Zealand at Te Mata vineyard.

Breakfast is included in the tariff and comprises various breads and local jams, fruits and cheeses, plus wonderful coffee and juices. This is served either in the spacious lounge pavilion or outside under the vine cover pergola. If a lunch-time platter or evening dining was available then I'm certain it would have been fabulous. A huge barbeque and
elegant kitchen is available for guest use but with so much fine dining on the doorstep who wants to cook?

We’ve had quite a few weekend breaks recently and this was certainly the best without any doubt. I would return in an instant simply to drink in the peace of the garden. It has certainly spurred me on to do more in my own garden!

I didn't tick "incredible staff" below simply because the owners John and Hank don't feel at all like "staff". They feel much like "those lovely people you met on holiday". You certainly feel they care and have put in a great deal of thought into making the whole experience just perfect. We didn't want to leave!

Re-reading this it sounds like an advertorial but it isn't. I'd love you to enjoy the same experience too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Altijd dien!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Femke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.9 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
251 reviews
13.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ormlie Lodge
Ormlie Lodge
#3 of 34 in Napier
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
3.6 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages and Lodge
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages a...
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Andrews Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Andrews Escape

Address: 172 St Andrews Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand (Formerly Ngatahi Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range: $141 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Andrews Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management. St Andrews Escape is set in a large country garden embraced by the Karamu Stream. Bed and Breakfast rooms and a large guest lounge surround the courtyard, plus there is a self contained Cottage. Bikes and kayaks available for guest use. We are a short drive from the Art Deco cities of Napier and Hastings and only minutes from charming Havelock North village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St Andrews Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing