We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcoming business stop”
Review of Village Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very welcoming business stop”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stopped here after a very long working day. Nice big modern room, very clean, lots of easy parking and at a reasonable rate. Central location. Friendly and helpful hosts. Perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
28
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a 2 night stay in a room with a spa bath. The balcony is shared & not private. The room was large & spotless. Tony very kindly rang me to inform me that I had left some clothes in the wardrobe. The rooms are serviced daily. The air con was a blessing. A very nice motel with easy & ample off road car parking.

Room Tip: The in room spa bath is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The large studio room. Well appointed room with extra large king bed (very comfortable). Our was by a main road but quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Little pricey going on the room (one bedroom ) we stayed in at Hastings a couple of nights later .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland , New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently had Christmas with family in Havelock North so wanted to stay somewhere central and comfortable with everything we needed. The Village has very friendly staff who know all about the eateries in the area. The rooms are large with every possible amenity, including huge comfortable bed ( I'm pretty fussy and I loved the bed), a fab spa bath and very nice updated decor.
The lactaion is spot on with a 2 minute walk to New World supermarket, top restaurants & cafes and superb shopping. Also a Deli to die for ( wine & food). We couldnt have asked for a better place to spend pout Christmas.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 13 under the stairs so no cars or noisy children outside this room. (No rooms ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaaABPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the village in Havelock north for the 4th Time. Every time we have been there we have received a friendly welcome and enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay. The facilities are good especially the spa bath in our room which our grand children adore. The rooms are large and well appointed and the motel's position is great -so close to the shops. Just a few steps for a morning coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We thought Havelock North was a really nice little place to stay in. Our motel room did the job - large, clean and with a good spa bath which was a nice touch. Walls were painted rather a dark colour but we didn't spend much time in the room so it was ok for sleeping in. Large comfortable bed, flat screen TV, kitchenette and air-con - everything we needed for a night's stay. The location was really handy for strolling into the shops and restaurants in the centre of 'the village' where we had a very nice meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Village Motel is always my accommodation preference when staying in Hastings/Havelock North area.
I had 4 rooms booked for a recent visit as I was travelling with work colleagues & had to cancel 1 room at the last minute. This was no problem to the ever helpful owner, Tony Evans.
Good sized rooms, well appointed & an excellent location with short walking distance to shops restaurants & cafes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Motel

Property: Village Motel
Address: 16 Te Aute Road | Te Aute Road & Porter Drive, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Motel has 20 recently tastefully upgraded designer suites, conveniently located in the centre of Havelock North Village. This exclusive motel offers real value for money with all the facilities Business and recreational travellers have come to expect, plus that little bit more. Stroll to cafes restaurants and bars and browse through the many boutiques and gourmet shops. Just five minutes from Hastings and 20 minutes from Napier.Come and experience and find out why most of our guest don’t want to leave and return time and time again. ‘‘ Spoil Yourself ’’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing