We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for anyone visiting Hawkes Bay area”
Review of Village Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great for anyone visiting Hawkes Bay area”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our apartment at the Village Motel was spacious, clean, modern, well furnished, and well heated, and with a bed that looked big enough for the entire All Blacks team! It was huge! It was also extremely comfortable with a good firm mattress (I hate soft soggy beds - bad for the back). There was a bedside radio alarm with ipod/iphone socket, and there were plenty of other sockets for any other electrical equipment - laptops etc. The wifi access is good. There is a large flat screen tv - but as NZ TV is atrocious we didn't use it! The room also boasted an alcove with a large spa pool. The bathroom (wetroom) was as spacious and well presented as the rest of the apartment. We were provided with loads of large fluffy white towels that were changed every day, and lovely towelling bathrobes. And yes - they really do provide dark flannels for removing makeup and even for cleaning shoes!The apartment had a small kitchen unit with twin radiant hotplate, microwave and fridge and more than adequate crockery, cutlery etc. This was more than adequate to prepare a simple meal and Havelock has plenty of cafes and restaurants only a couple of minutes walk away, as well as a good New World supermarket. The Motel also offers a breakfast service for those who prefer not to make their own. Our room was on the upper deck with access on to the terrace walkway with a table and chairs. It faced over the village towards TeMata peak and it was nice to sit in the sun and relax a while there with my Kindle. The Motel is set back from the road so traffic was rarely disturbing. The Village Motel is excellently situated in Havelock North, very close to all the shops, cafes and restaurants. It makes an ideal base for anyone with business in Hastings and Napier. It is also a good base for those interested in visiting the region's many wineries. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful, and we would certainly recommend The Village Motel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We would suggest the room we had - number 12 at the end of the upper floor. Lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691amandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Owner at Village Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your very comprehensive review. We all at village motel strive for excellence in all that we do. Look forward to seeing you if you venture this way again.

Kind Regards.
Tony & Nancy Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
29
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

One of the better places I have ever stayed at. Walking distance to the shops and the host and hostess are friendly and informative. Rooms were clean, comfortable, had a spa bath and lovely bathroom area. I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Village Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A very comfortable motel. We had a studio with spa pool in room. Lovely and clean they have listened and installed flat screens but...no sport channel. Small kitchennetecramped but adequate for a snack etc. Bed was OK but beds are always personal. Location is great and was a lot quite than I thought it would be which was great. You can order very reasonable continental and cooked brekie and even a paper on Sunday was nice.
was very satisfied and I am a difficult person, manager was pleasant and helpful when I made the booking.
Nice range of shops bars and restaurant all two mins away as is a good supermarket.

As we were on a flying visit it was ideal for a one night stand and I would return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Owner at Village Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I just want to comment that I am dispointed that you could not find our sky sport channels as we have sky sport 1, 2 and 3, as listed in our guest information book in the room. I will have to find a better way of informing our guests.As since going Digital all our sky channels are after the digital channels when scrolling through the menu.

Kind Regards,
Tony & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

village motel in Havelock North is the nicest, cleanest motel i have stayed in for a long time. Tony was a wonderful host and the place is amazing. The thing that surprised me most was they have dark face flannels with make-up embroidered on it for ladies to remove their make-up, the rooms are so spacious and clean we had the 2 bedroom with 5 adults, bags etc and there was still ample room. I would definately stay again and would recommend this motel. A credit to the owners and the cleaners as they do a fantastic job. Also the location is perfect , and the beds are fantastic and comfortable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflyerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Have stayed here twice and always found it to be clean, tidy and comfortable. And close to "the Village."

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galenking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Village Motel is a tidy example of regional New Zealand motels. The bed was comfortable and pillows in good condition. The room was clean and large, with a spa bath in the corner. TV a small CRT that could do with being replaced. Lack of air conditioning meant my top storey room was a bit warm...but this would only rarely be a problem - suggest a downsatirs room if it is likely to be warm weather. Very close to shops and hosts friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Owner at Village Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi ANZ man,

We took over the motel 26th January 2011,just after you stayed, we now have 32" flat screen LCD TV with 24 channels in all rooms and air-conditioning in most of our rooms. we have also replaced pillows, bedding, towels and robes. so we welcome you to come back one day to see our ongoing improvements.

Kind Regards,
Tony & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
91 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Grove Motel
Cherry Grove Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Motel

Property: Village Motel
Address: 16 Te Aute Road | Te Aute Road & Porter Drive, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Motel has 20 recently tastefully upgraded designer suites, conveniently located in the centre of Havelock North Village. This exclusive motel offers real value for money with all the facilities Business and recreational travellers have come to expect, plus that little bit more. Stroll to cafes restaurants and bars and browse through the many boutiques and gourmet shops. Just five minutes from Hastings and 20 minutes from Napier.Come and experience and find out why most of our guest don’t want to leave and return time and time again. ‘‘ Spoil Yourself ’’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing