We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Barn Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our group of four couples stayed in Riverside #1 for two nights and enjoyed every single minute of our stay. From the beautifully appointed bedrooms (each with French doors to the river), phenomenal entertaining facilities, and wonderful roaring fire to the wonderful breakfast provisions provide, we were thrilled with the cottage.

I woke up on our final morning trying to figure out exactly how to wrap it all up and bring it home with me! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my first trip to New Zealand with my wife, my son, 76-year-old aunt and her daughter. Main event of the trip was to stay Rush Cottage for two nights. We drove from Auckland via Rotorua and Gisborne to refresh and relax in the cottage. The moment we saw Rush Cottage in the distance, I was very much confident that I made the right choice. And....as I walked in, I was even more confident. It is almost a common knowledge that what you see on the web site looks better than what you really see, but as for Rush Cottage, what you really see is much better than waht you see on the web. OBTW, there was a boiler problem on the first night at the cottage, and I brought it up after the lunch on the second day. BBV staff came flying and checked the boiler and kindly offered us a "Move to the Black Barn Cottage" at no expense, which we "reluctantly" accepted and enjoyed the gorgeous country life on the second night!!!

Room Tip: Bring your iPod. The cottages have iPod compatible audio system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The River House East is welcoming from the first glimpse, set as it is high above the river with wonderful views and a real sense of being in the unspoiled countryside. The house itself is comfortable and beautifully furnished with fine NZ artworks, a comprehensive range of cooking and serving ware and a generously supplied pantry, including bread, cereal, homemade jams and eggs for breakfast. The house is spacious and easily accommodates young children and adults alike.
Downstairs is another king bedroom opening out to the pool. Unfortunately the decorator had an off day with a strange and chilly mix of whitewashed floors, plastic leis and kitschy French. The little kitchen is equipped with a kettle but no glasses or mugs. The bathroom is adequate but there is no shelf for toiletries which have to be placed on the floor or on the kitchen counter outside. I am not sure who should use this room. An adult couple sharing costs would feel a little cheated after seeing the sumptuous bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Because the doors open out to the pool the room is not suitable for children and teenagers are unlikely to want to share a king-size bed.
Nevertheless, we spent most of our time upstairs and loved staying there.

Room Tip: Grab the upstairs bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved it! What a great retreat. The concept of these lodges is brilliant. We will be back. For anyone coming to hawkes bay and wants to stay and absorb the natural beauty NZ, the accommodation offered by BlackBarn is just wonderful.

Book it for a few days, bring a good book, buy some good wine (the fridge is stocked if u don't) and food (farmers market!) and just RELAX!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MaxMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the black dog house. It was perfect in every way. The location was breathtaking and the house made you feel right at home. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night. I can't tell you how impressed we were with the quality of our stay. I have a pretty high standard and I was still impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank goodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a charming accomodation! It is old and squeky and over 100 years old.
Some upgrades have been made over the years, and you will find modern stuff here like fridge, dishwashingmachine, toilets, TV, washingmachine etc. Comfortability, with an old feel to it.
We were told that people have seen ghosts here, but we didn`t see or hear any of them. If there are any ghosts present, they must be very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere in the cottage is nothing but good. The house is clean and well equipped. There is also bikes available for use so you can explore the wineregion by cycling.
In the evening we sat in front of the fireplace enjoying wine from Black Barn. Nothing beats having local produce at the site!
Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We rented the riverside lodge number 3 for 3 nights and ended up adding a fourth night. The lodge was wonderfully positioned in the middle of vineyards, with a great family pool and 3 large bedrooms plus a fourth if needed off the pool. Lots of grounds for kids to play on and lodge was provisioned with breakfast for "one day" that lasted us most of the trip. Great black barn vineyards to select in the lodge and a short drive or tour to all of the hawke's bay cellar doors. The attention to detail in the lodge was excellent...you will want to redecorate your home when you get back! The black barn staff arranged babysitting and even prepared a meal for us in the lodge one evening. We will be back!

Room Tip: Don't miss the black barn market on saturday mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisssmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
251 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages and Lodge
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages a...
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Barn Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Barn Retreats

Address: Black Barn Road, Havelock North 4294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range: $390 - $1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Barn Retreats 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Barn Vineyards in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand offers fourteen unique properties for nightly rental. Each is fully self contained and exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Each is selected for its prime location, unique character and original style. They are all luxuriously appointed to reflect their individual character with the very best in furnishings, bedding, fabrics, kitchenware and amenities. From an eight bedroom luxury retreat to a two bedroom turn-of-the-century cottage in the heart of the vineyard, for a truly unique holiday experience, these properties are recognised as amongst the very best available in New Zealand. As we do not wholesale or advertise our properties all bookings are directly with the winery. Therefore you will not find us in travel shops or discount brochures and 80% of our guests are either repeat visitors or personal recommendations through word of mouth. So which-ever one you choose, you can be assured of a discrete, private, luxurious stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing