We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Barn Retreats
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Havelock North
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Cherry Grove Motel(Havelock North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porters Boutique Hotel(Havelock North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Motel(Havelock North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Mata Lodge(Havelock North)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangapapa Hotel(Havelock North)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Motor Inn(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
180
13
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriverside lodgeblack dogbeach housetuki tukicellar doorhawkes baymini baropen firebreakfast ingredientsstunning accommodationte mata peakwine glassestwo couplesbeautiful nzbrilliant stayhuge housewanted to stay longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The River House East is welcoming from the first glimpse, set as it is high above the river with wonderful views and a real sense of being in the unspoiled countryside. The house itself is comfortable and beautifully furnished with fine NZ artworks, a comprehensive range of cooking and serving ware and a generously supplied pantry, including bread, cereal, homemade jams and eggs for breakfast. The house is spacious and easily accommodates young children and adults alike.
Downstairs is another king bedroom opening out to the pool. Unfortunately the decorator had an off day with a strange and chilly mix of whitewashed floors, plastic leis and kitschy French. The little kitchen is equipped with a kettle but no glasses or mugs. The bathroom is adequate but there is no shelf for toiletries which have to be placed on the floor or on the kitchen counter outside. I am not sure who should use this room. An adult couple sharing costs would feel a little cheated after seeing the sumptuous bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Because the doors open out to the pool the room is not suitable for children and teenagers are unlikely to want to share a king-size bed.
Nevertheless, we spent most of our time upstairs and loved staying there.

Room Tip: Grab the upstairs bedroom suite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved it! What a great retreat. The concept of these lodges is brilliant. We will be back. For anyone coming to hawkes bay and wants to stay and absorb the natural beauty NZ, the accommodation offered by BlackBarn is just wonderful.

Book it for a few days, bring a good book, buy some good wine (the fridge is stocked if u don't) and food (farmers market!) and just RELAX!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MaxMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the black dog house. It was perfect in every way. The location was breathtaking and the house made you feel right at home. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night. I can't tell you how impressed we were with the quality of our stay. I have a pretty high standard and I was still impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank goodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a charming accomodation! It is old and squeky and over 100 years old.
Some upgrades have been made over the years, and you will find modern stuff here like fridge, dishwashingmachine, toilets, TV, washingmachine etc. Comfortability, with an old feel to it.
We were told that people have seen ghosts here, but we didn`t see or hear any of them. If there are any ghosts present, they must be very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere in the cottage is nothing but good. The house is clean and well equipped. There is also bikes available for use so you can explore the wineregion by cycling.
In the evening we sat in front of the fireplace enjoying wine from Black Barn. Nothing beats having local produce at the site!
Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We rented the riverside lodge number 3 for 3 nights and ended up adding a fourth night. The lodge was wonderfully positioned in the middle of vineyards, with a great family pool and 3 large bedrooms plus a fourth if needed off the pool. Lots of grounds for kids to play on and lodge was provisioned with breakfast for "one day" that lasted us most of the trip. Great black barn vineyards to select in the lodge and a short drive or tour to all of the hawke's bay cellar doors. The attention to detail in the lodge was excellent...you will want to redecorate your home when you get back! The black barn staff arranged babysitting and even prepared a meal for us in the lodge one evening. We will be back!

Room Tip: Don't miss the black barn market on saturday mornings.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisssmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews