We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Barn never disappoints”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Barn Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2011

At Black Barn you will find a level of service, professionalism and attention to detail that match the truly spectacular location of their range of properties. This is an organisation that will impress the first time stayer but also recognizes the value of repeat clients.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kart69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

The property & gardens are stunning, the views are breathtaking. The standard of the building and fit-out is very high and loved little touches like provisions for our first breakfast, and lights and electric blankets on for our arrival. Only two little things, it would have been nice to have our sheets changed during our stay, or have a spare set onsite for us to do ourselves; and we couldn't find a hairdryer. Perhaps the last guests took it?! Also, there islittle/no Vodafone coverage onsite so best to take a signal booster with you.
Otherwise, it was fully equipped with the best of everything. If you are looking for privacy and quiet in an amazing location this is perfect. It's a lovely, welcoming retreat. I would love to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Loved it! The house is gorgeous It was a 3 day special treat to ourselves after a very busy couple of months.
Really enjoyed the house and outlook and the high spec kitchen, smart bathrooms and short drive to shops and restaurants of Havelock.
The only downside was as part of our holiday we'd each brought along a DVD to watch. Unfortunately the DVD player wasn't working. We found this out on the 2nd afternoon but no one came to look at it until the evening of our last night which was too late and the problem wasn't resolved. I got the impression they thought it was our own inability to operate it which it wasn't. The TV reception in the bedrooms was poor also.The service wasn't up to our expectations for the price as there was also no firewood or plunger coffee as expected.
These things didn't affect our enjoyment of the house a great deal tho, but were irritating.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NzShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Absolutely perfect in all respects. Location outstanding. Rooms are just perfect. Wonderfully equipped kitchen and other facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aklabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We loved every minute of our weekend at Black Barn. Stunning styling, spacious, comfortable, great outdoor area, private, peaceful, great sound system, beautiful fire place.
Lots of attention to detail really made this a special weekend.
The highlight of the weekend was listening to Woolshed Sessions perform in the wine cellar about 2 minutes from our door!! Shopping in Napier I can highly recommend also!!

Room Tip: blackbarn cottage for 2 couples perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at Riverside Lodge #1 with 3 other colleagues for almost a week. From the moment we walked in, we were stunned. The place is quite simply amazing. The setting, the views, the furnishings, the layout, the wine -- all were first rate. Loved the pool, the kitchens (yes, there were two), everything. I will be definitely be back, next time for pleasure instead of business.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

From hear-say we heard that the Black Barn had great lodges/rooms/homes. So we drove there and we're lucky that there was a riverside lodge available. We couldn't believe our eyes when we drove up to the lodge: beautiful and huge! We stayed for 3 nights, but wish we didn't had to leave.
Fantastic view from you're three terraces! Self contained. We started up the bbq and sat in the sun with a glass of great wine from the Black Barn Vineyard.
So if you're planning to go to the Hawke's Bay region, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tblp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
2.1 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
251 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages and Lodge
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottages a...
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Barn Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Barn Retreats

Address: Black Barn Road, Havelock North 4294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range: $390 - $1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Barn Retreats 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Barn Vineyards in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand offers fourteen unique properties for nightly rental. Each is fully self contained and exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Each is selected for its prime location, unique character and original style. They are all luxuriously appointed to reflect their individual character with the very best in furnishings, bedding, fabrics, kitchenware and amenities. From an eight bedroom luxury retreat to a two bedroom turn-of-the-century cottage in the heart of the vineyard, for a truly unique holiday experience, these properties are recognised as amongst the very best available in New Zealand. As we do not wholesale or advertise our properties all bookings are directly with the winery. Therefore you will not find us in travel shops or discount brochures and 80% of our guests are either repeat visitors or personal recommendations through word of mouth. So which-ever one you choose, you can be assured of a discrete, private, luxurious stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing