We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful semi-rural retreat near the vines”
Review of Havelock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Havelock House
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful semi-rural retreat near the vines”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hosts here are very friendly and helpful. Even before we had arrived, they had great suggestions for places to eat and various sights. The house is very nice, we had an enormous room with a very big bathroom. Breakfasts were a real treat. The garden outside our room was a fantastic little place to relax and unwind with a bottle of red from one of the local wineries. Havelock North, a great little hamlet, is only two minutes away. Our only regret was that our original three night stay had to be reduced to a two night stay because of a diverted flight into NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We too were sorry your stay was shorter than planned. It is very unusual to have those sort of holdups at Wellington airport; Napier has an airport - just 20 minutes away - well worth flyinh direct from Auckland to Napier another time.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
We are in a great location for visiting the Hawke's Bay wineries and for Havelock North village / Napier.
Hope to see you back here another time. Thank you for the feedback about your stay.
All the Best for 2013
Diana & Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in the huge Havelock suite...very comfortable,clean and luxurious with a view of -and a door to - the beautiful gardens. It also had two walk in wardrobes and an enormous bathroom with a spa bath and separate large,good shower...old style glamour rather than contemporary chic. Diana served us tea and cake on the terrace on arrival and gave us good recommendations for things to do and places to eat, which we took her up on and thoroughly enjoyed. We played tennis but didn't have time, sadly, to use the pool. The house is set in an attractive, prosperous, small residential area outside the town with lovely countyside surrounding it....and good places to run if you want! We liked the town very much with its good cafes - and the Farmers Market was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - it's always good to hear from our guests.
As you say Havelock House is in a great location and if you enjoy short walks or jogging - there are plenty of places to go. The 3 km circular walk from the house is very popular.
Havelock North has excellent restaurants - and wineries, Black Barn, Craggy Range, and Vidal
are all close by. A trip up Te Mata Peak shouldn't be missed too.
Hope to see you back in New Zealand for longer next time!
Kind Regards
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A very relaxing location. Jeff and Diana make you feel welcome - serving tea and cake on arrival and having flowers in our room. Breakfast set us up for the day, and Diana's recommendations for visits all proved successful - we brought lots of local artisan products back to Auckland to remind us of our wonderful trip

I have 2 small pieces of feedback that would help enhance the experience:-
- Wifi - seemed intermittent on 1 device when we tried to connect multiple devices - not sure if wifi has a limit to consecutive connections - I know other guests also had tablets so this may be the case.
- Towels are probably nearing the end of their "luxury" life

Thank you for helping make our holiday to Hawkes Bay memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dax68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and pleased you enjoyed your stay in Hawke's Bay - there is certainly plenty to see and do . We are in a great location for Black Barn, Te Mata Peak and Birdwood as well as all the wineries - I think you also visited the new Figgery - selling fig products which is newly opened.
We do have good internet access here,it may be the multiple divices being used at the same time which caused you a problem - I know smaller divices don't connect so quickly to the network but laptops for emails work well.
We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again in the Hawke's Bay
Kind Regards
Diana



Kind Re
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights. The room was huge with a lounge area and a fireplace - lovely to go to sleep with the wood crackling. The bathroom which included a spa bath and a shower was very large with a separate toilet. All marble and gold. The shower unit promised a choice of jets but delivered a very low pressure sprinkling.
The TV was small for the room and no Sky.
The service was attentive but the atmosphere was not homely. Felt I needed to creep around the shared areas including the games room with the full sized snooker table / the hosts son seems to use this as a den and wasn't sure if I was meant to be there.
The location is lovely, the hosts are welcoming and the place is large and spotlessly clean - 5 cylinders working well. A bit of a decor update and a bit more warmth injected could see the place rise to the top.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rarodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to post a review of your stay - you make some interesting comments - but we feel a little confused by some of them.
The Havelock suite is a large, light and attractive room 7.4m (24'.3") x 6.4m (21') - very large and spacious. The TV is new, flat screen, with a DVD, and has free view. There is also free WiFi for all our guests, however the cost to have Sky in all rooms is prohibitive. We are sorry you did not understand it was unavailable.

Havelock House is our home. Our son Tom does watch TV in the games room - he is a bright young man - of 17 - and like us enjoys meeting and chatting to our guests. You have alerted us to the fact we should communicate more clearly to the guests that they are free to use the common rooms at any time.
Jeff, Tom and I love welcoming guests into our home.
I hope anyone reading this will read our other reviews - we do respect our guests privacy - yet are there to help in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay while I attended my high school's 50th jubilee weekend. As a former Havelock North resident whio had been living back in |Canada for 50 years or so I was very careful in selecting the perfect place...and we did. The loaction was beautiful, serene and away from everything human...only the bird songs in the morning. The loaction was perfect, the room comfortable and immaculate, Diana and family were just like long- lost friends and the fresh food breakfasts with home made jams were out of this world. I would not hesitate a second to suggest that you must stay here if you are in the area. I know we will be on any subesquent return visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It was great to meet you both and thankyou for all your kind comments; so interesting to hear about your early life here in NZ and what it was like living in Havelock North.
Hope to meet you again when you return to Hawke's Bay
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Havelock House was fantastic! Diana has been running a B&B for 20 years, and it shows in the exceptional service and quality of the facilities. It absolutely exceeded our expectations, from the great advice of the hostess to little touches like the fresh flowers and recently baked cupcakes awaiting our arrival. We felt absolutely pampered. My only regret is that we didn't have more time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We enjoyed meeting you - and agree it was too short a stay! Thank you for your kind comments -- I love helping guests make the most of their time here - Havelock North village, infact the whole of the Hawke's Bay really are 'hidden gems' - I would love more people to discover this part of NZ..
I am sure you both enjoyed the golf up at Cape Kidnappers - such a wondeful place. As I mentioned Jeff and I were on an overland trip to see the gannets at Cape Kidnappers last week too.
Enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand and hope to see you back in the Hawke's Bay on another trip.
Best Wishes
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are a NZ couple and stayed for 3 nights in September. Diana kindly upgraded us to the Havelock Suite which was much appreciated. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable with the garden surrounds and birdsong very peaceful. Another highlight of our stay was Dianas first class breakfasts. So good we even took photos and have them shown to our friends. As 'locals' with quite a knowledge of the area she enhanced our stay by advising of and introducing us to several great locations. The most memorable one being Cape Kidnappes Lodge. We unreservedly would recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading to the Havelock Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for all your kind feedback - and the great photos - really appreciate it. Hope you will be able to come and stay again. October is a lovely time to visit Hawke's Bay.
We also went out to Cape Kidnappers this week - the gannets are now nesting - and the views along the coast are fantastic - a photographers dream!
Best Wishes
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
1.8 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
44 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
241 reviews
1.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harvest Lodge
Harvest Lodge
#8 of 11 in Havelock North
67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock House

Property: Havelock House
Address: 77 Endsleigh Road | ( entrance on Endsleigh Drive), Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Havelock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock House B&B Havelock North,close Birdwoods,Black Barn,Te Mata Peak,Pipi,Craggy Range wineries & Cape Kidnappers golf - discount available for staying guests please enquire, cycle + bike hire, Hawke's Bay NZ luxury bed and breakfast spacious en-suite bedrooms , FREE WiFi, large guest lounge, swimming pool, tennis court,plenty of free parking by the house, quiet location 20 mins. Art Deco Napier, great breakfasts, warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Havelock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing