We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does Not Get Better”
Review of Havelock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Havelock House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What one does not expect but hopes for is a five star experience. We got this in spades at this wonderful BandB.
Diana and Geoff were most welcoming from the get-go. Making reservations and suggestions that proved to be fabulous. In particular was a suggestion to have Robert take us on the most wonderful wine tour at a cost which still makes me shake my head it was so reasonable.
Our room was large and spotless. Full of all the little touches one hopes for including a flat screen tv and wireless internet that actually worked.
Amongst the unexpected facilities were a salt water swimming pool, a major guest area with pool table and large outdoor sitting and eating facilities.
Havelock North is a short distance from this country setting and is a wonderful little town with restaurants found normally only in major towns.
Our delicious breakfasts and garden walks at Havelock North will be remembered for a long time.
Thanks for all Diana

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railson_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 141 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

Diana and Jeff Arnold are very gracious hosts. The B&B rooms (bedrooms, lounge and eating area) combine to provide tremdous facilities. There is even a small common kitchen type area with dishes, small fridge, toaster, kettle and sink for washing up. The pool area is beautiful. We really enjoyed a swim one evening during our stay. Diana and Jeff provide incredible service and assistance -- Jeff even did our laundry for us so we could continue our travels with clean clothes. What more could we ask? We highly recommend a stay at Havelock House.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay here - we also enjoyed your parents visit recently.
The swimming pool is at a good temperature now 25 degrees, so look forward to seeing you back here in 'sunny' Hawke's Bay.
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We are a couple in our 40's travelling through NZ on holidays and having stayed at many places, would rate Havelock House as our top pick on the north island. We stayed in the large room - it was beautifully appointed, spacious, clean and felt totally luxurious with great views. The bathroom with huge spa, shower and also great views was amazing! Diana and Geoff were terrific hosts - helpful, generous and friendly. We also enjoyed delicious breakfasts. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jas279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our family have just returned back to Wellington after attending a wedding at the Mission Estate in Taradale, Napier (Jan 2012)
Six of us stayed two nights at Havelock House. We enjoyed a very relaxing time, being extremely well looked after by Dianna and Jeff.
The facilities and surrounds are fantastic and we fully recommend Havelock House to anyone wanting a great place to stay. Diana is also a great cook!

David and Janet and family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlammas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have just returned from our 6 night stay in the delightful Havelock House (Dec 2011) and cannot recommend this lovely B & B more highly.

We used two rooms, both of which were large, beautifully furnished with every need and comfort met. The setting of the house is fabulous, in lovely countryside just outside Havelock North. Our hosts, Diana and Jeff were so very welcoming and treated us like friends from the start. They had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area and Diana was an expert in recommending and arranging local activities.The whole stay was the highlight of our trip to NZ. The grounds of the house are lovely and there is a swimming pool to enjoy as you like. We certainly hope to be able to return there one day.

It was so relaxing over Christmas, when you are away from family and home to stay in someone's house, and be made so very welcome with the important little extras such as tea, cakes,chats and - particularly piglet feeding. Lovely memories to take back to UK

best regards

Elizabeth and David Halstead

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent - one has a large bathroom with bath and the others have showers. Deta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here at Havelock House; we love living in Hawke's Bay and are always pleased to share the many 'gems' this region has to offer.
Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Havelock House over the Labour Day weekend, so much so that I have since recommended the place to my parents who are visiting from the UK. Plenty to do with tennis court and swimming pool. Relaxed surroundings but Napier/Havelock/wineries all within reach. 5

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in early November while on our Around the World holiday in which we stayed in a wide variety of excellent accommodation from which HavelocK House stands out as a GEM. We had driven down fro Whitianga and were so grateful to be greeted by the very hospitable Diana with an offer of Tea and Cake.

We had booked the Havelock Suite which was comfort personified. The bedroom was enormous; the bed large and comfortable; the bathroom equally huge and well appointed. However we will always remember the view from the room out over the beautiful gardens that surround Havelock House.

Diana and Jeff are tremendously hospitable - always available and happy to stop for a chat. The breakfasts were excellent served in a very pleasent room on english bone china. We enjoyed the home baked cake and muffins as well as the eggs from Havelock House's own chucks. We were made to feel at home.

We didn't use the swimming pool as the weather was rather changeable while we were staying and we were grateful for the help of Diane in arranging our sightseeing of the Hawkes Bay area. The Art Deco Tour of Napier was first class as was the Gannet Safari to Cape Kidnappers. We also were impressed by the recommendations of where to eat in Havelock North - a very pleasent little town.

Havelock House is definitely the place to stay if wanting to enjoy a short holiday in Hawkes Bay. Its location is 5 minutes out of Havelock North, close to Te Mata; 40 minutes from the centre of Napier and surrounded by vineyards.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
1.8 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
86 reviews
14.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
4.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
1.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
67 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock House

Address: 77 Endsleigh Road | ( entrance on Endsleigh Drive), Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock North
Price Range: $140 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Havelock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Havelock House B&B Havelock North,close Birdwoods,Black Barn,Te Mata Peak,Pipi,Craggy Range wineries & Cape Kidnappers golf - discount available for staying guests please enquire, cycle + bike hire, Hawke's Bay NZ luxury bed and breakfast spacious en-suite bedrooms , FREE WiFi, large guest lounge, swimming pool, tennis court,plenty of free parking by the house, quiet location 20 mins. Art Deco Napier, great breakfasts, warm friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Havelock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing