We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Cottages on St Andrews provide a fantastically different choice in accomodation - it was so nice to stay some where it didn't feel like - 'just another another motel/hotel' the Hosts were persponable and welcoming and engaged in our welbeing and the purpose of our stay. Nothing was to much for them - in meeting any of our requests.

The cottages are eloquent in their furnishings yet very homely - the rural sourrounds are wondeful and it so heartening to stay in a place that idenifies with environmentally sustainable practices.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwynward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

We visited wwith our 11 year daughter and her friend. John and Di were the most hospitable couple we have have come across in our travels. The enviroment for the children including the sheep, alpacas and chickens were outstanding and a great treat for them. The pool was at an excellent temperature and the natural surrounds were relaxing for both my wife and I. I would recommend Cottages on St Andrews to anyone wanting a peaceful time out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucianoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a place to stay! Only a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Havelock North, but we felt like we were miles from anywhere!
The staff were great, they knew all the best places to go in the area, we were given fresh free range eggs from their chickens every morning, as well as fresh milk, and more.
the cottage was perfect for what we needed, spacious, modern, and with a great view overlooking the new born lambs playing only meters away!
This is a place we will definately be coming back to!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKiwiThatCould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Cottages on St Andrews has an amazing feel about it - the grounds are well kept with a semi rural feel - we enjoyed being able to get up close to the sheep/lambs, lama's and chickens. The hosts are extremely friendly and welcoming and the cottages themselves are well equipped, clean and very comfortable. We will certainly be re-visiting.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestedWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This was a great place to stay. Everything you need on beautiful grounds. Hosts were absolutely fantastic and nothing was too much. Will be coming again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keemca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We were looking for a place that offered us modern, clean but with a country feel to it but close enough to shops, beaches etc. And boy did we find the most perfect place of all "Cottages on St Andrews" Havelock North.

The hosts are so friendly and lovely there was nothing that they wouldn't do for you - we have been back twice and it is now on the top of our list to stay everytime we travel to the East Coast.

Thank you so much Di and John - you will be seeing us soon for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here in August 2010, we were looking at relocating to the area and used the Cottages as a place to base ourselves from while we looked around.

Location - superb! It close to Havelock North Village, but with a good distance to also have the country feeling & quiet relaxation. There was absolutely no problem with noise. This is a big area of anxiety for me normally when travelling - but we heard nothing! It was dreamy and peaceful. If you are travelling to the area this is the best spot to base yourself from. It is in the best suburb but also in the country. Honestly it is the best of everything here.

Standard - super clean! It was exquisite. Everything was clean and better than a hotel. It felt 5 star class. I am particularly fussy in regards to the cleanliness and this was wonderful.

Amenities - perfect. We had the most wonderful 2 bedroom cottage that opened onto the sheep paddock. The new lambs had just been born and it was pure joy for us, including my 4 year old, to enjoy and play with the new lambs.

Hospitality - second to none. We have travelled extensively and I have never felt more welcome than the warm hospitality we received from Di. Di took my little girl out everyday (sometimes twice a day) to feed the new baby lambs. I was on my own, without my husband, and they even invited me around to watch the rugby with them. We felt completely at home. Di is an extremely wonderful host and will go beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is the best. I accidently left something behind in the cottage and Di was so kind that she sent this back to our house, without even asking or expecting payment for postage.

Extras - we were staying in Winter and there was just the right amount of bedding, blankets & heating. They also have a pool for summer, which is fenced and safe for kids. They also have an on site playground which my daughter loved.

If we return to the area, we would without hesitation stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiShezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
6.2 mi away
Clive Colonial Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Craggy Range
Craggy Range
#5 of 11 in Havelock North
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges

Address: 14 St Andrews Road | 443 St Georges Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range: $106 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six private Cottages & a stunning 8 bedroom Lodge can accommodate up to 45 guests on 10 acres with petting farm animals adorning the paddocks and is surrounded by orchards. So much more than a motel yet just 1km from the Havelock North Village with it's vibrant boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and wineries. The accommodation is fully self contained and self catering. The 15m pool is heated to 28 degrees between Labour Weekend (Oct) and ANZAC Day (Apr) and there is an all weather tennis court. The perfect accommodation for couples, business travellers, family, wedding or sporting groups wanting to stay & play together in the beautiful Hawkes Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing