We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure in a new country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After having travelled to mexico and other carribean countries we decided to take a small leap to central america based on a reccomendation of some friends. We travelled Jan 24 to Feb 1.

We travelled from Canada with Nolitours. The group check in was awesome and really quick. Our rep there was fantasic, providing a great info session and there everyday for questions.

We had an absolutley fantastic time in El Salvador.

The rooms are basic but all essentials are there.

The food was beyond expectation, daily variety at the buffet and excellent a la carte dining. The quality of food was much better than expected and on par with a lot of mexican 4+ star resorts.

We are generally pool people so this resort was well suited to us as there are several pools and we enjoyed the quiet pool by the Itailan a la carte the most.

We really enjoyed the fact that they had both an evening show and secondary entertainment at the main bar area which allowed guests to choose their nighly entertainment venue.

Bar service was phenomenal, i do not think that we have had such great service anywhere.

The staff at the resort were great, I guess we look really anglo as they would attempt to speak to us in english first before I could attempt my broken attempt at spanish. After day one the buffet staff recognized you and were right on top of your coffee and beverage requirements.

We will definitely be returning next year.

Thank You C and D

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LadyLuck250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited in April 2013.Hotel is very clean everywhere,the staff work very hard and make every effort to enhance your El Salvador experience.If you want a quiet pool use the one by the Fusion restaurant,also the pool by Pastafari is not so busy.Booking the A'la Cartes is very easy just get up for 7am and do it,what could be simpler,good food throughout,drinks are not watered down but some of the spirits are only 35 percent proof,beer is ice cold and often served in iced glasses.
We used Francisco from Xtreme tour(xtremetour@yahoo.com) for a top class day out ,Francisco was with us all day and is passionate about his country and shares that passion along with indepth knowledge,his English is excellent by the way).All in all a great holiday and would go back at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Block 1 is close to it all,ask for 3rd floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Over all this was a very positive experience. The rooms where clean, the grounds imaculate. The pools very clean along and the staff were all pleasant. The buffet was mediocre, maybe because I have traveled quite extensively and been to many in other countries. When we arrived it was to late to reserve in one of the other resaurants, the next day they were all booked by 8:00 am. Although they did not apear full at night???? Worth it if you get a discounted rate!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guatemala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a very good time in this hotel. The service was good and I really enjoy my time having a lot of fun. Food was really good and the beach is great!

Rooms were clean we had a great ocean view and I recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to this resort before and knew it was big with lots of different areas. When we decided to take children on a family vacation we chose this spot. All went well and we had a great time . Weather was perfect. Had a super day trip to three little towns and then the thermal waters. wonderfull. We also did the volcano and lake trip but felt that one had too much driving time. The destinations were great,just a long drive.Food was good, service great, rooms clean. We ate at four a la cartes and all were great.

Room Tip: we were on second floor of building two and no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were very clean, staff are friendly. There is a huge language barrier, but they do their best and always have a smile. Every room has a beach view which was lovely, although only a select number of rooms have a true balcony to sit out on to enjoy the view which was a bit disappointing. Ground level rooms have a nice patio. Breakfast and a la carte dinners were nice, but the lunch buffet got boring quickly. Fat content is not an issue for them so everything has sauces at the buffet and it gets quite heavy. Lots of pool area - the one over by the Italian Restaurant was not well used so a great spot to sit, relax, read a good book. It was quite unique to see how the beach disappears during low tide but, with the ocean pool, you can still swim in the salt water during low tide - quite unique. Don't know what night life is like - when you get up early and spend all day in the sun sipping a good drink or two, you don't tend to stay up too late. If you are in shape a trip to climb the Santa Anna Active Volcano is defintely worth it. It's exhausting climbing the volcano, but the views from the top are breathtaking and the guide is great. We enjoyed the Royal Decameron, Baru Island, Cartegena more, but this was nice.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a higher building, as for the one with the balconys. Otherwise, get ground le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We planned this vacation for months and finally decided on The Royal Decameron Salinitas, and what a delight. I read a lot of reviews on this site prior to going, and I simply cannot understand how you could come away with a negative review??
Yes, you have to book A la Cartes early, but we had no problem booking 3. Yes some of the staff have difficulty with English, that's because they are in Central America and they speak Spanish, it was never an issue, and the staff was amazingly courteous.
The Spa, the beach, the Resort, the tours all first rate.
Props to Javier for helping out on the Sunset Dinner on the beach, and Haiman, the best waiter ever :-)
We learned a lot more spanish, and got to tour Volcanoes, highly recommend Ruta De Las Flores for a wonderful cultural tour, and do not miss boogie bording at the beach club!!!

Room Tip: Block 1 ground floor is away from the Disco, close to the ocean, pool and poolside bar, never an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eastc0ast_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonsonate
22.3 mi away
HOTEL JUAYUA
HOTEL JUAYUA
#1 of 2 in Juayua
34 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
0.9 mi away
Los Cobanos Village Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Palapa Cabins
Palapa Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sonsonate
21 reviews
22.3 mi away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
33 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Balcon de Ataco
El Balcon de Ataco
#9 of 13 in Concepcion de Ataco
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Salinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Salinitas

Address: Carretera al Litoral Km. 84 Acajutla, Sonsonate, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Sonsonate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Price Range: $152 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Salinitas 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Salvadorian Pacific Coast 90 km from the capital, San Salvador, the Pan American Highway, covering an area of 270,000 m2 with a mile of beach front. The Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel offers a fantastic Mayan flavored all-inclusive vacation experience. Located on El Salvador's Pacific coast, just 50 minutes away from San Salvador, Royal Decameron Salinitas borrows from the Salvadorian culture and its colorful architecture as the art using many Mayan statues distributed throughout the property. Guests can enjoy the beautiful Pacific Ocean; spend time in any of our four fresh water pools, or even in the spectacular salt water pool filled daily by the ocean tides while taking advantage of our all-inclusive drinks at any of our four distinctive bars. When the guests are not taking the Central American sun and they want more action, they are invited to join the fun with our professional activities staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Salinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Decameron El Salvador
Decameron El Hotel Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas San Salvador
Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel
Salinitas Decameron
Royal Decameron Salinitas El Salvador
Decameron San Salvador
Decameron Salinitas El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing