We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation! Loved every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I just returned from my vacation this morning. This resort was beautiful! It was so well kept, had beautiful pools, and the staff were amazing. The rooms were basic, you either got a king sized bed, or two double beds and a futon type thing. Every room looks onto the ocean. There were so many pools and they were all well kept and clean. Honestly, I do not know what the couple negative comments are about. If you do not have high expectations, and just want a nice relaxing place, this resort and vacation will well exceed your expectations. The weather was beautiful, 35+ everyday with little to no clouds. All rooms are air conditioned which is a nice way to escape the heat for a bit. The ocean at the resort is not the greatest, there is volcanic rocks to ward off some of the large waves that would come in. They do have a bus which costs $2 per person that will take you to a mini resort they own which has a beautiful beach. They also provide lunch and drinks as well as beach games, etc.

They have so many excursions to choose from. My boyfriend and I chose the Buggie Safari. We got to take these mini go carts up a dead volcano. It was awesome! We saw some beautiful sights. Our tour guide was also amazing, her name was Veronica.

The only problem I had was the nightly entertainment. A majority of people that visit this resort are from Guatemala and Honduras so their entertainment is done mostly in Spanish. It wasn't too hard to follow along, but it gets a little boring not understanding what was happening.

The a la cartes were AWESOME. The food was so so good. The buffets were alright, they had a different selection every day which was nice.

Overall, I had an amazing time. I would definitely go back to this resort, especially for the price.

Room Tip: I stayed in building 1. I honestly didn't mind it, but my boyfriend and I aren't too picky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The scenic roads are wondrous ones that contain ocean views, a glimpse of culture and a on the house Salvadorian massage (oh yes it's a bumpy one.) It's approximately about a 2hr 30min drive from the airport. The resort is gigantic! The resort offers transportation every 15 minutes if guests which to get from point a to b. Mosquitoes are an issue as I was an unfortunate victim of numerous bug bites. So bring a repellent! The staff are average some more courteous than others but definitely seems to be a training issue. The drinks are some of the WORST I've ever encountered in all of my all inclusive adventures. Don't expect brand name drinks as what awaits you is simply an ensemble of cheap wines and liquor. Fyi the beer served is PILSENER. Bring your own mug as the cups that are provided are ridiculously small. The rooms are below average; no fridge, no iron/board(s), ancient box safe, tube tv, and minimal drawers. The massages that are provided from the SPA team are excellent and give you that great feel of relaxation. The time share reps are annoying and are constantly interrupting meals, laughs and anything that you or your party are doing at that particular time. The food is average AT BEST. It almost seems impossible to book reservations for the restaurants and when you finally succeed the results are pretty bad. The Thai restaurant has mediocre pad thai and Pastafari is simply BAD! There are no restaurants near by neither. Be sure to try out the beach club transportation otherwise you will be missing an actual beach! The beach on the resort grounds is nothing stunning and is typically dried up through out the day. The shows are funny at times and do involve their guests a lot, so be aware if your to shy to go on stage. The life in near by Sonsonate is WONDERFUL! Great food, culture, stunning views and just about everything one can ask for. Overall, the resort is average at best and can use some major improvements and upgrades.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kobe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I visited El Salvador feb 23-mar02 and i decided to stay at the Royal decameron salinitas .My family is from the countryside of Chalatenango I spent two days in Chalatenango and the rest at the Decameron . After 3 long , long hours we arrived at the hotel , the hotel is very far from Chalatengo despite i really enjoyed the long driving , the beautiful landscapes. My complaint is with the staff some were rude , unpolite, inexperienced , I do'nt know how this chain of hotels employs people without customer service skills. The grounds were amazingly beutiful ,very well maintained ,room cleanliness in this hotel is not good, the only complaint is that my bathroom was smelly , never smelled fresh due to strong urine odor , the pools were fantastic ,Food was not great , but not that bad. The beach was great during low tides , during high tides was imposible to enjoy due to huge waves. I felt very safe there , the property is guarded by militar police and security personnel. One of my biggest dissapoinment was there were no hammocks in the property , And Ii could not enjoy a fresh coconut . I would recommend you to try the swedish massage it will cost about $35 usd it worth . My favorite thing to do was to fall asleep under the Amate trees , listening to the ocean waves was so relaxing .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went here on my birthday in search of sun and beach weather. The weather delivered. It was very warm we had pelnty of sun and not a drop of rain the entire time. The pools are very nice. The natural pool and the beach/ocean I wasnt impressed with. The sunsets and sunrise are a site to see so if you go here dont miss out every day is a beatiful spectacle.

The service is very pooor and the age demographic is about 60. The food is not tasteful and the desserts all taste as if they had cough syrup.
The rooms are in desperate need of an update but the hotel grounds show lots of potential. We are skeptic to visit again due to our experience.
The general manger was aware of our discontent and made every effort to accomadate us. The reality is that service can only be as good and the training the employee has had and we quickly realized that lack of knowledge as a common theme at this resort.
For example at the steak restaurant not only they do not have steak knifes the waiters dont know what it is. Or asking for a cup with ice and being told that you can't because the cups they have are just for drinks. Its all inclusive?!
We apreciate the efforts set forth by the general manager but we had to ride it out and stay for the rest of the time with the knowledge that things were not going to get better.
this vacation was January 2010.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina12873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just got back from this resort, we where there feb 7yh - feb 21st 2013.
Room: - Request building 3, 4, or 5 these buildings are furthest from the disco and nightly entertainment as well they are close to the best buffet (Bambu food court). Building 4 floors 4, 5 & 6 ocean view the rest are garden/pool. Very clean huge room with walk out balcony. Tile floor ceiling fan, tv, a/c and large bathroomwith walk in shower. - np mechanical issues are any room problems at all.
Grounds:- Extremely well manicured always watering and cleaning, hardly noticed the gardeners around at all! Very picturesque and green with four huge pools and 1 salt water pool.
Facilities:- Gym 3 treadmills, 3 bikes and 1 cross trainer. 1 bench, max 50lb dumb bells, 1 very good universal. Temazcalli spa is a must try! It is great and jacuzzie tub was very nice.
Staff:- Staff where absolutely fantastic and so friendly and helpful.
Water:- Don;t worry about drinking water adn water used to clean food it is all RO water. Just do not drink or use the tap water to brush your teeth.
Food:- Save the best for last! The Bambu ( food court) has high ceilings so it is not as hot as the Chak Balam buffet. Personally we thought the food was much better here than the Chak Balam. From what we heard the beef is not that great. The turkey, chicken & fish was outstanding. Constant variety, sutable for vegetarians, vegans & meat eaters. Beatuful salads every day and lots of vegetables and fresh fruit at all times. Breakfast was pretty much the same every day.Not to say it was bad it was excellent! Lunch & dinner always soemthing different. A la carte restaurants are all excellent!
There is always someone who is cleaning washrooms picking up garbaage mopping floors the place is ectremely clean and they seem very meticulous. We will return next year.

Room Tip: Request building 3 or 4 biggest balconies and best location on the resort. If you want an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Decameron Feb. 14 - Feb. 28 in a group of eight people. This place is definitely a hidden gem. The grounds and gardens are the nicest and best kept We've seen in the 20+ years we have travelled the Carribean. The staff do an excellent job of keeping everything amazingly clean. The supervisors are constantly checking and testing to maintain an excellent quality control in the restaurants and around the resort. The staff are always smiling, friendly and trying their best to communicate and take care of your wants and needs. The resort is big, but pleasant to walk around due to the fabulous landscape designs and paths that weave throughout the property. They have tried to accomodate people by having two lobbies, buffets and a trolley that will take you to other areas of the resort. There are four pools each with varying amounts of noise and activity ranging from very quiet to very active with music. Noon to 3:00 is quiet time at all the pools. You can swim in the ocean when the tide is in (the tide comes in and out each day about 4 ft in depth). When the tide is out the beach and water is dry but they have the saltwater pool that stays full of water and replenished and refreshed with the high tides. The beach is mostly sandy except for the two extremeties of the property. If you want to walk these areas water shoes would be beneficial. There was never any problem finding chairs at the beach or around the pools at any time of the day. No need to reserve. We went to their other beach ($2 and a 30 minute bus ride). It was fun to play in the waves but the sand is very hot. Again the staff there eager to please and the property immaculate.
Food
The food was great. We tried all four al-a-cartes. They were all good but everyone had their personal favourites. The buffets were also great, offering a good variety of foods. There was a main buffet and another buffet at the end of the resort by buildings four and five. This buffet was closed some of the time. (We believe due to low seaon and not enough people to warrant keeping both open). It was alway open Thurs. to Mon. because the hotel had more local customers come for the weekend.
Excursions
There are a large variety of excursions offered. We went to the bird watching and culture&crafts/thermal waters. We felt they were well priced and a good value. They always send a tourist police officer with the excursion so there is no need to worry about safety. We did not ever feel uncomfortable or unsafe.
Weather
Fabulous!!!! Sun sun sun. Hot Hot Hot. Didn't see any rain and maybe saw 3 clouds in two weeks.
Shows
We only made it to one night show. Fire and Water. We enjoyed it. We are early risers and did not stay up late.
We will definitely return to the Royal Decameron. We were truly impressed.

Room Tip: Buildings 3,4,5 are the quietest at night. Very important tip!!!!! Make sure your passport is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Decameron for 2 weeks in January and we loved every minute of it.
Rooms- Clean, large, well air conditioned... no complaints. Wifi in the lobby as well as some rooms depending on how close to the lobby you are, if the wifi doesn't work in your rooms try the balcony, ours worked out there.
Staff- Very friendly, especially the bar staff, polite!
Food- the main buffet is decent, the other buffet is better- you can make your own tacos!, the steakhouse was the best alla carte followed by the thai, the others weren't that great especially the pasta place. You won't starve here!
Pools- if your looking for a more quite pool definitely go to the pool by the pastafarian, it's the cleanest and quietest with little to no line up at the bar.
Definitely take the bus to the other beach, it's worth the $2!
We did 3 tours, San salvador volcano and the mayan tour, each tour was fantastic, great tour guides, well worth the money! We also did the crafts and culture.. we didn't really enjoy it because it was pretty much just a shopping trip.
Resort overall was great, we had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank moonmaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonsonate
22.3 mi away
HOTEL JUAYUA
HOTEL JUAYUA
#1 of 2 in Juayua
34 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
0.9 mi away
Los Cobanos Village Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Palapa Cabins
Palapa Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sonsonate
21 reviews
22.3 mi away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
33 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Balcon de Ataco
El Balcon de Ataco
#9 of 13 in Concepcion de Ataco
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Salinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Salinitas

Address: Carretera al Litoral Km. 84 Acajutla, Sonsonate, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Sonsonate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Price Range: $152 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Salinitas 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Salvadorian Pacific Coast 90 km from the capital, San Salvador, the Pan American Highway, covering an area of 270,000 m2 with a mile of beach front. The Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel offers a fantastic Mayan flavored all-inclusive vacation experience. Located on El Salvador's Pacific coast, just 50 minutes away from San Salvador, Royal Decameron Salinitas borrows from the Salvadorian culture and its colorful architecture as the art using many Mayan statues distributed throughout the property. Guests can enjoy the beautiful Pacific Ocean; spend time in any of our four fresh water pools, or even in the spectacular salt water pool filled daily by the ocean tides while taking advantage of our all-inclusive drinks at any of our four distinctive bars. When the guests are not taking the Central American sun and they want more action, they are invited to join the fun with our professional activities staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Salinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Decameron El Salvador
Decameron El Hotel Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas San Salvador
Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel
Salinitas Decameron
Royal Decameron Salinitas El Salvador
Decameron San Salvador
Decameron Salinitas El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing