We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison des Grands Bambous
Ranked #1 of 1 Louzignac B&B and Inns
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have stayed annually at this accommodation since August 2006 either in the main house or in one of the three gites. Set in a beautiful area of the country with vines wherever you turn we always look forward with anticipation to returning to La Maison. Sally and Peter's hospitality is second to none; the welcome is always warm. The gites are well equipped and if staying at the main house you are treated like an old friend. For teenagers the pool and sunbeds are invaluable. You are guaranteed an enjoyable stay at this property.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie07England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We recently stayed at La Maison Des Grands Bambous at Louzignac in the Charente Maritime in South West France, while our new house was being built. At this point we should stress that there are two Louzignacs, this is the 17160 Louzignac near Matha and not near Cognac. The first thing we should say is the welcome one receives from Sally and Peter Yik is fantastic. Within minutes you are made to feel part of the family - don’t let Duke’s pleading Labrador eyes make you think he does not get fed! It is worth the trip just for Peter’s BBQ’d moules. If you are staying as B&B guests and decide to take the evening meal as well, we suggest you pack one size larger than usual waist sizes. The food is superb and covers not just French Cuisine but Oriental as well. It goes without saying you have a great choice of local wines and of course Cognacs and Pineaus. Your hosts will share their wealth of knowledge of the local area and its products with you which they obviously enjoy doing, giving you ideas of places to visit and see. Cognac with it’s well known distilleries is half an hour away. During the bleak winter months they work in the local vineyards, thereby increasing their knowledge. If you are staying in one of the superb Gites the welcome is still the same. Sally is a perfectionist and this is shown in the Gite presentation. You have your own patio and lawn looking onto the bamboo stand from which the property gets it’s name. Like B&B guests you have use of the large heated swimming pool together with the use of BBQ area and spar pool. There have been occasions when Gite guests have persuaded Peter to do one of his magnificent BBQ’s. Imagine the scene, setting sun, poolside relaxers, chilled Pineau in hand and the delicious aroma of BBQ’d local produce and above all more often than not, total peace, the butterflys sound noisy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sillyoldfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have had the pleasure of staying with Sally and Peter on two occasions. We were a group of three families so had all three Gites to ourselves. The setting is fantastic, the houses spotless and superby equipped. The gardens and pool area are simply fantastic, plenty of room for the badminton court, cricket pitch etc etc. The pool is great made even more so as we have been blessed with great weather on both holidays. There is a nice bbq area which we made good use of and on the one day of rain we had it was straight into the hot tub... now that can't be bad. Although by night you have to travel out a little bit to as Louzignac is very quiet, within a few miles you can find a really nice Pizza Restaurant a lakeside restaurant which is in a pleasant location. We had a few lovely evenings eating out in Cognac, pavement dining great food and wine and a spot of people watching.. spot on! Sally and Peter are also fantastic people who make you feel very welcome are very helpful and available without ever being intrusive. In fact when you don't see them pottering around the gardens the kids really missed them. Daniel came home Peter's number one fan, although I bet Peter may not miss his daily interogation by our 4 year old! The only down side is the place is so perfect, it is such a wrench to actually leave and do something in the day other than enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balloonmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed in one of the Gites at La Maison des Grands Bambous for two weeks. The first thing to say is that the hosts, Sally and Peter, are exceptional. They are informative and friendly.
The pool is excellent and is cleaned daily. The Gites are functional with fully fitted kitchens.
If we were to visit the region again, we would definitely consider staying with Peter and Sally again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansamCotswolds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

Situated in a small country village, La Maison is a fine old house with a large garden and a good sized solar-heated pool. Everything is clean, tidy and comfortable, and some of the rooms ("gites") have self-catering facilities. Our room was under the eaves, and required some care to avoid bumped heads.

As there is no restaurant within walking distance you need to drive to dinner, prepare your own if staying in one of the gites or dine with the family. Sally produces good home-cooked food, adapting to guests' tastes as far as possible, with fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden.

Guest rooms are in part of the family home, and you share the pool and garden with the family. Sally and Peter Yik offer a degree of hospitality which makes guests feel very welcome, and the evening meals en famille were a highlight of our visit, with good food and conversation and a very generous tasting of some of the local cognac. Similarly, breakfast is taken at the family table, and we especially appreciated the freshly squeezed orange juice.

As in the Champagne region, Cognac has an astonishing number of small, family-owned producers, some offering remarkable value. Sally is a mine of information about this, and we hope to return to take up more of her recommendations and again enjoy the Yiks' hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOB_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

La maison des grands bambous, Louzignac,France
After a long drive from St. Malo taking best part of a day we arrived at La maison des grands bambous.Turning on to the gravel drive gave us a glimpse of our holiday accommodation, a beautiful 18th century farm house with red and pink pelargoniums at each window. The owner’s,Peter and Sally Yik gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our varying accommodation, this comprised of three gités and rooms in the house. The gités are restored farm outbuildings and are to an exceptionally high standard, each comprising of two bedrooms,bathroom and open plan kitchen/ lounge. For those that are self catering they are fully equipped with every necessity including a pressure cooker (a French tourist board requirement)! The rooms in the house are very comfortable and furnished with French antique furniture. As there were thirteen of us travelling together in our MG cars, Sally (an MG enthusiast herself) had agreed to provide us with breakfast and Dinner. Once rested and freshened up we went down to dinner. There were two tables, one inside the dining room the other outside under a pergola looking out onto the well kept garden. The tables were elegantly laid from linen to the crystal glasses. It was nice to see the correct setting and number of glasses, Peter puts some top class hotels to shame on his table presentation. This had set the standard and we were not disappointed with the food,classic french cusine, excellent presentation and quality with many of the vegetables being home grown, four courses in all, and wine with each (well we are in France)! On two evenings we had Peter’s legendary barbeque by the poolside. The pool is for use by all that are staying .This was ideal after a day’s touring. This is a tranquil and relaxing spot to stay and ideal for touring the Cognac region. We would highly recommended a stay at La maison des gands bambous.We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PITStours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

Instead of staying in Cognac town, we decided to stay in the Charente country side to explore the area, and had a most wonderful weekend at La Maison des Grands Bambou. The B&B accommodation is extremely good value, spotlessly clean, with good beds, great shower and loads of fluffy towels. The gites are well equipped with large fridge/freezer and good quality cooking utensils. But what really sets La Maison des Grands Bambous apart from other B&Bs is the dedication of the owners – nothing was too much trouble, and their wealth of knowledge of the local area.

Although Louzignac is a small quiet village, it is only 15 minutes drive from the town of Cognac and less than an hour from the beach resort of Royan on the Gironde. We met a young couple at breakfast who, instead of driving, chose to explore the countryside on bicycles provided by the owners. We were given excellent advice on vineyard visits and cognac tasting in the region: small rural family run distilleries and wineries that we would never have found in a tourist guide book.

The extra attention to details was impressive. Freshly squeezed orange juice was served at breakfast, and the table d’hote dinner with four courses was the very best of regional cooking. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious dinners and interesting conversation with the owners, washed down with plenty of regional wine and finished off perfectly with a tasting of local cognac!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank asiangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison des Grands Bambous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Grands Bambous

Property: La Maison des Grands Bambous
Address: 15 rue du Puits, 17160 Louzignac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Louzignac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Louzignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 200 year old Charentaise farmhouse, 15 mins from Cognac, offering luxury chambres d'hôtes (B&B)with heated pool (28 degrees April to October)and hot tub / jacuzzi. Extremely comfortable and well-appointed bedrooms with excellent mattresses, bedside lamps, clock radio, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer dinner, using fruit and vegetables from the garden and local produce. Open all year for B&B, short breaks and holidays in the three cottages located on our property which can be catered or self-catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Maison des Grands Bambous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing