We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend The George”
Review of The George at Wath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George at Wath
Ranked #1 of 1 Wath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at The George for four nights at the end of April. Caroline was an excellent host with some good suggestions of what to see and do. Her husband and son did an excellent job in the kitchen producing delicious and beautifully presented meals. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. This is also an excellant location for visits to The Dales, The Moors and York or Harrogate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTRSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the George at Wath....great place, freindly welcoming hiost. Evening meal was excellent (perfectly cooked scallops) all three courses were excellent tasty fresh food and a good choice of beers and wines on offer. The room was immaculate, very fresh and modern and following a relaxed nights sleep in a confortable bed, we had a very tasty full english before leaving what seemed to be a very pleasant little village. Will definately return.
PS. The young girl that served us our evening meal was very charming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luap_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for one night en route to Manchester
Brilliant Service and first class staff..credit to you all. .
Room was good although a little pricey.
The evening meal was excellent, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsketyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A beautiful country pub in the pretty village of Wath. We were guests at a wedding and were very impressed with every aspect of The George. Caroline couldn't do enough to ensure the success of the day and the meal Scott produced for 50 guests was first class. Yorkshire hospitality at its best. We will be back!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Middleton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived expecting a good experience having read the reviews. I am glad to say that The George exceeded even our high expectations. There were many strengths, cleanliness, food (very high quality and value), facilities, but the key was the concern for our enjoyment. Our needs were anticipated and the service was first rate.

The location is quiet and rural, but with easy access to the A1M and to some wonderful places (Fountains Abbey, Richmond, Middleham).

We would recommend to others without any reservations and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgb633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

place was locked up on the day i was booking in, cleaner let me in & then locked the front door leaving my daughter & myself to find the room & carry the luggage upstairs . Kettle to make tea woudn't fit under tap to collect water. Blind broken. Next day old school friends meeting for lunch but decided to leave the hotel. asap after my one egg omelette lunch @ £ 6.30 when friends left. I was then charged for 2 nights even tho I stayed only 1.Next day went back twice to complain all locked up and left message for Caroline to 'phone 'me it was her day off. Friday popped in again not in this a.m not back yet. Eventually phoned me on my mobile while I was travelling so couldn't speak but asked to refund one nights fee as I hadn't stayed, and i could not leave earlier before my friends lunch. Also paid for the dogs £10. The dogs sat in the car for 5 hrs during the time before I left. All this after a very long drive from Kent. There were no bookings in the diary for that day & no one to asnswer the 'phone for bookings either.

Room Tip: I had a small room with tiny shower on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 197patriciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Caroline, the owner, and her husband, we were made to feel most welcome. Yorkshire hospitality at its best. The quality and presentation of the food were superior to any rated London restaurants at local prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wath
3.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
793 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
7.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
864 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Wath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Wath

Address: Main Street, Wath, Ripon HG4 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Wath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wath
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Wath 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The George at Wath, we are now serving quality local cask ales a selection of fine wines served by the glass, our restaurant is focused on providing Fresh, Local, Seasonal produce under the supervision of our Head Chef, Harrison Barraclough. We pride ourselves on the quality of product we offer. We have five luxurious well appointed en-suite rooms and a function room for special occasions, weddings, business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The George at Wath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Wath Hotel Wath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing