We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of The George at Wath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George at Wath
Ranked #1 of 1 Wath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived expecting a good experience having read the reviews. I am glad to say that The George exceeded even our high expectations. There were many strengths, cleanliness, food (very high quality and value), facilities, but the key was the concern for our enjoyment. Our needs were anticipated and the service was first rate.

The location is quiet and rural, but with easy access to the A1M and to some wonderful places (Fountains Abbey, Richmond, Middleham).

We would recommend to others without any reservations and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgb633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The George at Wath
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

place was locked up on the day i was booking in, cleaner let me in & then locked the front door leaving my daughter & myself to find the room & carry the luggage upstairs . Kettle to make tea woudn't fit under tap to collect water. Blind broken. Next day old school friends meeting for lunch but decided to leave the hotel. asap after my one egg omelette lunch @ £ 6.30 when friends left. I was then charged for 2 nights even tho I stayed only 1.Next day went back twice to complain all locked up and left message for Caroline to 'phone 'me it was her day off. Friday popped in again not in this a.m not back yet. Eventually phoned me on my mobile while I was travelling so couldn't speak but asked to refund one nights fee as I hadn't stayed, and i could not leave earlier before my friends lunch. Also paid for the dogs £10. The dogs sat in the car for 5 hrs during the time before I left. All this after a very long drive from Kent. There were no bookings in the diary for that day & no one to asnswer the 'phone for bookings either.

Room Tip: I had a small room with tiny shower on the main road
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 197patriciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Caroline, the owner, and her husband, we were made to feel most welcome. Yorkshire hospitality at its best. The quality and presentation of the food were superior to any rated London restaurants at local prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Found The George on Trip Advisor & booked on basis of good reviews. From the moment we checked in to the point of checking out the next day, my husband, myself & our dog Charlie were met with warmth, excellent service & wonderful food. The bedroom and bar area were perfectly comfortable & the evening meal was absolutely delicious. I never write reviews on trip advisor but felt compelled to after such an enjoyable, relaxing stay. Our Labrador was greeted as one of the family & thoroughly enjoyed the fuss he received from staff & guests alike.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to find this hotel for an overnight stop on our wat home from Edinburgh. What was not so lucky was that it was only an overnight stop and not longer. This is a real find. We had a lovely spacious room, with probably the most comfortable bed I have had in a hotel. Everything was catered for - how many hotels give you ground coffee and a cafetiere in your room!The dinner was superb and definitely not "pub grub" - we both had lemon sole which was beautiful, and the "swan profiteroles on a lake of chocolate sauce" were innoventive - quite amazing. The welcome was so warm and helpful - we had the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The George has 5 rooms, so is really homely. The pub bar was a real village pub and a wonderful atmosphere when we first encountered it after our long drive. So folks try this little gem!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came across the George at Wath on our way to Ripon, and ended up having the best lunch we've ever had - no exaggeration!

We were the only people in the main bar area, but apparently a huge party had just left before us so I imagine they hadn't been able to take any more bookings for that lunchtime. The service was fantastic and the interior is lovely. We had a beef sandwich and a BLT, and some chips, and I can't compliment them enough - we couldn't believe how tasty the food was. Very reasonable as well. There's also a good selection of local ales available which was a nice accompaniment.

Every time we need to drive south we're now planning on incorporating a visit here for lunch! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a fantastic time. Tried to phone but no answer so e-mailed them. Prompt reply. Excellent night out. Owners and staff were great, meal very good, could recommend this pub to anyone! We had to change our plans at last minute and were so pleasantly surprised by this place.

Room Tip: Booked a room here New Years Eve in the afternoon. What a gem! The bar was great, had an excellent...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue62harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wath
3.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
7.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
835 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Wath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Wath

Address: Main Street, Wath, Ripon HG4 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Wath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wath
Price Range: $106 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Wath 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The George at Wath, we are now serving quality local cask ales a selection of fine wines served by the glass, our restaurant is focused on providing Fresh, Local, Seasonal produce under the supervision of our Head Chef, Harrison Barraclough. We pride ourselves on the quality of product we offer. We have five luxurious well appointed en-suite rooms and a function room for special occasions, weddings, business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The George at Wath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Wath Hotel Wath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing