We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL, COMFORTABLE INN”
Review of The George at Wath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George at Wath
Ranked #1 of 1 Wath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL, COMFORTABLE INN”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to find this hotel for an overnight stop on our wat home from Edinburgh. What was not so lucky was that it was only an overnight stop and not longer. This is a real find. We had a lovely spacious room, with probably the most comfortable bed I have had in a hotel. Everything was catered for - how many hotels give you ground coffee and a cafetiere in your room!The dinner was superb and definitely not "pub grub" - we both had lemon sole which was beautiful, and the "swan profiteroles on a lake of chocolate sauce" were innoventive - quite amazing. The welcome was so warm and helpful - we had the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The George has 5 rooms, so is really homely. The pub bar was a real village pub and a wonderful atmosphere when we first encountered it after our long drive. So folks try this little gem!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came across the George at Wath on our way to Ripon, and ended up having the best lunch we've ever had - no exaggeration!

We were the only people in the main bar area, but apparently a huge party had just left before us so I imagine they hadn't been able to take any more bookings for that lunchtime. The service was fantastic and the interior is lovely. We had a beef sandwich and a BLT, and some chips, and I can't compliment them enough - we couldn't believe how tasty the food was. Very reasonable as well. There's also a good selection of local ales available which was a nice accompaniment.

Every time we need to drive south we're now planning on incorporating a visit here for lunch! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a fantastic time. Tried to phone but no answer so e-mailed them. Prompt reply. Excellent night out. Owners and staff were great, meal very good, could recommend this pub to anyone! We had to change our plans at last minute and were so pleasantly surprised by this place.

Room Tip: Booked a room here New Years Eve in the afternoon. What a gem! The bar was great, had an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue62harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed overnight at The George earlier this week and are moved to share the positive feeling that we had about the stay.
The room was absolutely fine; comfortable, clean and well appointed. The welcome was very friendly and the pub itself really nice.
The food was excellent. A really nicely presented and tasty evening meal and a well cooked substantial breakfast.
Can't fault this establishment and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figurehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Charming staff, smart clean rooms, excellent bar and pretty decent restaurant make for a nice stay in this modernised country public house/Inn. Car park down the side. Nice quiet village. Go for the Yorkshire breakfast. Well cared for establishment with log fire and a friendly dog. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Oh MG, I feel soooo sorry for vegetarians in this area!
We went to this restaurant/pub a few months back whilst visiting lovely North Yorkshire. Where we live everything is marked with a V for Vegetarian or Vegan and we have lots of choice nearly everywhere we go. Not here though! There was NOTHING on the menu, OMG.
So, it made us feel like complete freaks having to ask for something off menu etc and THEN it throws into doubt whether behind the scenes they even know not to cook stuff etc in the same pan or oil as meat or fish.
We did eventually find somewhere at a place called Pickhill which treated us like human beings and not something from another planet thankfully. I can't believe there are no veggies in North Yorkshire - they must just stick to curry shops and Italians etc.
It shows such lack of imagination - there are so many simple but tasty recipes out there for veggies - all of which can easily go with the trimmings of potatoes and veggies. Guess the hunting, fishing and shooting brigade rule supreme in this area.
If you are vegetarian and don't want to feel like some random freak then give this place a swerve!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just spent one night here - the room was very pleasant, a good size and very clean. There were good quality toiletries, nice touches such as proper coffee and biscuits, an iPod dock and good TV. The bed was comfy and modern.

We didn't eat there that evening, but the full English breakfast next day was absolutely excellent. Really high standard of ingredients, well presented and cooked.

What was a delight was the service - nothing was too much trouble, including the cheeseboard we had ordered for when we came back being put in our room since we were too late for the bar. A lovely treat to come back to. All of the staff were very pleasant and friendly.

I'd come back here next time I'm in the area and recommend it strongly to other visitors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stirrup_pump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wath
3.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
7.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Wath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Wath

Property: The George at Wath
Address: Main Street, Wath, Ripon HG4 5EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Wath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Wath 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The George at Wath, we are now serving quality local cask ales a selection of fine wines served by the glass, our restaurant is focused on providing Fresh, Local, Seasonal produce under the supervision of our Head Chef, Harrison Barraclough. We pride ourselves on the quality of product we offer. We have five luxurious well appointed en-suite rooms and a function room for special occasions, weddings, business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The George at Wath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Wath Hotel Wath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing