We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How pub food should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old House at Home Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“How pub food should be”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Been going to this place for years and it if anything it has got better. Excellent value for money, very well cooked meals and a menu which is big enough to suit everyone. In the lovely village of Burton, TOHAH offers a traditional pub setting and friendly, efficient staff. If you are looking for a pub with proper food, which is substantial, leaves you feeling full and happy and not ripped off and disappointed then this is for you. Now with accommodation which looks modern but well set in the background to the pub, this would be a great base for a quiet weekend for two.

Room Tip: New addition to the pub - looks well planned out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank write2car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    58
    24
    17
    4
See reviews for
38
147
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

One of the best places around Bristol for food. Local sourced well cooked restaurant food. Price is on the high end so recommend only going on special occasions.

Service has always been good over the years (been going here for a while).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

this was more of an eating house with a seperate row of chalet style rooms,certainly would'nt rate them as five star three star would be a more apt and honest rating! the only good thing was the bed which was very comfortable.

Room Tip: if you want hotel then book a hotel as this is over rated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked this as a stop over on a long journey and it's wonderful. Delicious food, very relaxed and lovely room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizachicanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here after finding it by chance on the internet. This is a fabulous Inn, the bedroom was lovely with a walk in wet room. Our luggage was carried to the room by Mark who showed us all the details etc in the room. Dinner was fantastic, the food and service is top class!! The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and we would definitly recommend this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilts71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This place is a great find! We stayed one night, the bedrooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom/wet room provides a little bit of luxury. We ate in the pub, the food although pricey was worth every penny - we couldn't fault it. The generous breakfast the next morning was included in our booking, so the stay was good value for money. The staff were helpful and polite and we'll look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Went on one of those "do not know where we are gong till we get there" trips, and got very tired while driving towards Bath from London. Stopped at restaurant down the road to ask about where a bd and breakfast would be, and were sent down a long country road to this bed andbreakfest! Quaint, cute garden, nice rooms and yummy breakfes. Walkin shower was very cool. Good value, and no minimum stays!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton
2.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
365 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
632 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House at Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House at Home Inn

Property: The Old House at Home Inn
Address: Burton SN14 7LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old House at Home Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House at Home inn provides tastefully decorated bed and breakfast accommodation and is ideal for those of you visiting Wiltshire, Bath, Badminton and Castle Combe or for travellers en route via the M4. The accommodation comprises five quiet double bedrooms and one twin room in a separate building from the pub. All come with en-suite wet room, plasma TV, broadband access and tea and coffee making facilities. Stay with us and experience our luxury 5 star accommodation at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Old House at Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House At Home Hotel Burton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing