We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise”
Review of Linden Gardens

Linden Gardens
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kaleden
Attraction details
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

A front desk associate at the Ramada in Penticton suggested the gardens to us and she really did us a great favor in doing so. By sharp contrast with the Elysium Gardens in Kelowna (please see my review) the doors are wide open at both the Frog City Cafe and to the gardens themselves. We wandered in and around and all through the gardens stopping to talk with a couple members of the staff about various plants and trees as well as the background of the gardens. Multiple flower varieties were in various stages of bloom and the colors were wonderful. The place is chockablock full of eye candy.

On our way out I stopped at the cafe and asked one of the staff there, "If I wanted to pay the suggested donation of five dollars a person, to whom would I give it?" She allowed that she would be happy to take it and did so with a smile and a thank you.

Helpful and friendly staff and absolutely gorgeous grounds!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Linden Gardens”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A perfect place for an afternoon wedding and a reception held at the gardens. There is a wonderful variety of plants and though it is a public place there is opportunity to select an area for your own group and there is a feeling of privacy and intimacy for the function you are attending.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae211Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lucky enough to experience a wedding in this hidden Gem. Such a nice place to walk around and enjoy the atmosphere of interior BC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobbyK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKLAND
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“garden lovers delight”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved it! Any gardener will appreciate the beauty of these gardens. Hardly a weed to be seen and a wonderful variety of plants--someone spent a great deal of time planning the mixture of textures and the combination of plants in each area. Many were similar to the plants I grow in my garden in the Pacific Northwest--hydrangeas, rhodies, hostas, etc. There were plenty of unusual ones I couldn't recognize as well. A fun place for children to explore as the paths wind off in different directions before circling back on themselves. We wondered why there was no map and plants didn't have plaques with their botanical name listed. We happened upon the main gardener and she answered many of our questions. They are always changing the garden and rearranging the pathways accordingly every year so a map guide or labels wouldn't be all that helpful. Even if you aren't a gardener it is a wonderful place to stroll around in quiet meditation. They even have a few hidden lawn areas that would be a nice place to sit and relax when they aren't being used for weddings and other functions. Definitely the most perfect spot for an outdoor wedding!!!! How wonderful that the property owners decided to invest in developing this expansive private garden and sharing it with the public.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHADOWSPRITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent spot for a relaxing meander. The gardens never fail to disappoint and are always changing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden Gardens also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Linden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing