We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here on 26th for one night, as doing flight simulator following morning.
Hotel has a 30's / 40's theme, so there is quite a lot of wood in the complex, but it is not a unmodernised hotel.
Rooms very large, comfortable and clean.
Hotel set next to airfield and it is fantastic to sit in the beer garden that backs on to it and watch the planes while having a drink. All staff are very polite and helpful, which is unusual nowadays. To the rear of the hotel, there is a small wartime memorabilia museum, which is fascinating and you can loose yourself for a hour or so in it.
Bar prices where quite good and food was fantastic. We had both an evening meal and breakfast, which on a weekend the breakfast is complimentary.
As general clients are well mannered, it makes an overall comfortable experience.
Would definitely recommend and will personally be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHSPARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    75
    29
    26
    23
See reviews for
32
73
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would recommend the Aviator at Sywell, friendly staff and lovely environment. Enjoy a good selection of beer and food, watch the planes and helicopters come and go. Large garden area to enjoy the summer sun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBB539, Owner at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to put up such a kind and complimentary review.

I know it will be very much appreciated by my staff.

Hope to welcome you again to the Aviator Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

me and my wife had a nice meal Last week good quality good service
but just to much plate fill stuff less salad maybe a few chips or jacket potato would have been nice basically £7 for a fish finger sandwich

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titmacfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had the displeasure of staying at the Aviator while taking part in a flying competition on Sywell airfield. Had I known it had a bad reputation for service I would have avoided it, but as it was very convenient, and wanting to support airfields as I'm a pilot, I thought it would be OK. Here's what I found:

10 mins waiting in reception on checkin, no-one around so we went to the bar and was told someone would be with us - 10 mins later they showed up. We later noticed a sign suggesting this course of action if no-one was in reception, but that wasn't displayed when we arrived.

Keycard for the room had to be reset 5 times in 3 days. After the second occasion we asked the receptionist if this would be repeated and was assured not, but had to happen 3 more times. When mentioning our frustration to the chap behind the desk on 4th occasion, he said 'I bet is it mate' but no apology, tried to blame it on the card being near electronic devices, which unless my buttocks have become electromagnetic, can't be the case, as it was sat on it's own in the back pocket of my jeans. In fact on the second occasion receptionist made it clear it was the system that had stopped it working, not the card, as our checkout date hadn't been updated on the system.

Shower was nice and powerful, but every minute or so pressure would drop right off then it would spray hard with red hot water for a couple of seconds before returning to normal. Definitely dangerous for a child or the elderly who couldn't jump out of the way as fast as I can. I'll be reporting this to the local council, as it's downright dangerous.

Asked for a late checkout so we could catch up on sleep, and had do not disturb hanger on door, but cleaning staff were shrieking and laughing loudly in the corridor, and allowed doors in vicinity to slam shut which woke us up - I had to get up to ask them to be considerate.

While waiting in reception to ask for a late checkout behind two chaps being served by one member of staff, 3 other staff members chatted away while we and another customer were kept waiting. When asking for the late checkout, the receptionist initially declined saying the room was to be let to someone else and had to be cleaned. I asked if she could swap the new guests to a different room, and amazingly she said ok, and let us stay late. Why are guests teaching the staff how a hotel works?

No food on site past lunch on a Sunday.

Wifi supposed to be available in rooms - could only get a signal in the bar area.

When asking the night porter if we could get a cup of tea early one morning before breakfast time, the response was one word - no. He didn't ask if we needed more supplies for the room facilities or tell us when the breakfast bar would open, just said 'no'. I was so taken aback at his attitude to those paying his wages, I didn't even know what to say in reply.

Bulbs in bedside lights too high wattage, so blindingly bright while in bed had to use the table lamp instead, and get out of bed to switch the lights off.

Bath wouldn't drain properly without removing plug entirely - not enough movement in the twisty thing to let the water out.

Speaker in ceiling and knob on wall for music in the bathroom - great idea, but not working.

Loo seat hanging off.

Upsides - Comfy bed, defogging mirror in bathroom helps, plenty of little milk cartons on arrival rather than the usual two which is never enough and decent sized teacups in room.

What a shame that the owners and management can't get their head round looking after guests. I'd have put quite a bit of business their way, had they tried, but I'll make sure my pilot buddies know to give it a wide berth.

We did complain, and was told the owner would consider the complaint and get back to us, but no-one did.

We had the need to stay for a second weekend, but we chose to stay at the Park Inn instead - much nicer, decent service and cheaper too!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Regular T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBB539, Owner at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It is company policy that staff should not respond to blackmail or threats of a bad review on Tripadvisor when the customer is clearly trying to reduce or get out of paying their bill for no good reason.

For late checkins when reception is closed there is a sign at reception with instructions how to checkin.

The bedroom key cards are susceptible to corruption by any electronic device, such as computers or mobile phones. Care should be taken to to ensure the card is kept away from such devices otherwise it will require re-coding.

The hotel literature clearly states the kitchen is closed on a Sunday evening as it has been for the last 10 years or more.

The new FREE WIFI system has a constant monitoring device maintained by the service providers. They have informed us the WIFI was working through out the Hotel during the course of your stay. We respectfully suggest you check the settings on your computer.

The published time for the latest check out is midday. The hotel was busy during your stay and chamber maids had to service the bedrooms for the incoming guests. Reception did bend the rules to try and help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sywell hotels

Cambs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Aviator Hotel is a fabulous themed hotel that sits right on the actual airfield. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel itself clean, attractive and comfortable. The food however is awful with only the breakfast buffet saving it. The lasagne was hard and over microwaved. The duck just foul (get it) and everyone of us staying had some complaint about their food and there were over twenty of us!,,

The hotel is just perfect to stay in but here's a tip, the pub just a mile down the road is much better!

Room Tip: 118-120. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrdsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBB539, Owner at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am very pleased you enjoyed the hotel.

I am sorry to hear your displeasure with the food. Our head chef has been away convalescing after a minor operation . Unfortunately the executive relief chef brought in to hold "the fort" was not up to our normal high standard.

All our food ingredients are fresh and locally sourced. This appears to present a challenge to most chefs who unfortunately these days have become used to microwaving pre-prepared food.

I am very pleased to inform you that our Head Chef is now back and the food quality has returned to the high standard we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Travelling up from Cornwall for a reunion meeting in Northampton, we booked a two-night stay at the Aviator after seeing the website and brochure for the hotel. It all seemed pretty good, with a 3 star rating being the clincher. It was a real surprise when we arrived to find that the Aviator is just a Motel, and no way could be described as a Hotel. The reception was in a separate building to the rooms, and the two girls seemed to be the only available staff.

The room was quite spacious, freshly decorated and clean, and the bed was comfortable if you like the mattress to be very firm indeed, with two thin pillows for each person. There is a bit of a half-hearted thirties "Art Deco" theme to the décor, the modern flat-screen television contrasting with the old-fashioned dresser and very uncomfortable "S-framed" metal chairs. The weather was unseasonably cold, and the room was equally cold, despite a large thermostatically-controlled radiator - cold water in the pipework meant no heat for us. We complained about the lack of heat to the receptionists, but nothing was done, so we were cold for the entire length of our stay.

The bathroom had a tub with shower over, basin and wc, and there was plenty of hot water. A nice feature was a "music service" to the bathroom through a small loudspeaker and rotary selector switch. Shame that it didn't work, though. You need to bring your own shampoo, bath oil or whatever, as the bathroom condiments consisted of a bar of soap only.

Quality-wise we felt that it was a bit better than a Travelodge, but not in the same league as a Premier Inn. Price-wise it was dearer than both (£69 per night, plus extra for breakfast). You pay the same for a full English breakfast as for tea and toast.

You can have an evening meal in the restaurant opposite the bedroom block - the meal we had was better than average, but was dearer than we have become accustomed to here in Cornwall. The staff in the restaurant we friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was just a one night trip for us, we slept and gone after a business trip, but it was a little disappointing. We had to get up quite early in the morning to reach our flight from Heathrow, therefore we asked for a "doggy bag" for the morning instead of the breakfast. Sorry we cannot get up so early - was the answer. OK, you don't have to get up then, please do this for us right now (in the evening), and we can take it with us. No, it is also not possible -the answer again. For the simple question why - there was no answer.
THe bed was ok, the room old style, little poor, the floor was very noisy, like in the worst horror you've seen (sorry for the early wake up for the neighbours because of that).
Avoid the place if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrasSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Aviator S, Director of Sales at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm afraid we are unable to provide guests with a 'doggy bag' due to Health & Hygiene implications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sywell
3.4 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wellingborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Hind Hotel
The Hind Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel

Property: The Aviator Hotel
Address: Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Sywell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally a Clubhouse and Officers Mess, this 1930's Art Deco building has been renovated to its former glory. As you enter you step back in time to a bygone age of aviation, style and fun.The Aviator Hotel boasts 50 en-suite bedrooms, comprising of both Standard Doubles and Twin or Kings. The rooms are decorated and fitted with many interesting Art Deco features, and offer a comfortable 3 star standard of accommodation. The Bar & Lounge areas overlook the Airfield and offer traditional ales, excellent wines and an extensive range of spirits. The Restaurant & Bistro, which is open to all, serves a wide range of dishes utilising the best local and seasonal produce.We look forward to welcoming you at The Aviator, and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Kettering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing