We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if going Chimp trekking”
Review of Chimps' Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibale National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimps' Nest
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if going Chimp trekking”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

A great place set in it's own extensive grounds bordering the National Park. There are several cottages set in the hillside, with a balcony and beautiful views over the forest - each one secluded from the other.
The star attraction is the treehouse which we were booked into but my wife arrived on crutches so that was a complete non-starter as it is 10 - 15 minutes and a wobbly forest walkway from the restaurant. Jeroen from Holland and Jacki from Kenya who run the place were understanding and let us have a cottage.
The staff were unfailingly kind and helpful. Well placed for the chimp trekking they also offer free guided walks on their own property - loads of birds to see and often primates. The food was fine and plentiful and the lunches could feature that Ugandan speciality Cup-a-Soup.
There is only limited electricity from a generator and solar panels and water is heated by 'donkey boiler'. All of which is great as they have tried to reduce their environmental footprint wherever possible - just remember to take a torch. You are escorted back to your room after dinner in case of forest elephants, which is fun, though nobody seemed exactly sure what to do if you met a visiting pachyderm. I don't think they have lost any guests yet.
We had a great stay (do try and stay for at least 2 nights) and can thoroughly recommended the Chimps Nest - check out their accurate and informative website.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    27
    17
    13
See reviews for
27
65
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Chimp's Nest is a very special place- visiting here is a vacation in itself. The fact that you are just 10-15 min. away from the start of Wild Chimp Tracking in Kibale National Forest and the wonderful Bigodi Wetland swamp (great birds!) makes it a perfect place to stay. The food is fantastic- gourmet, and served with great kindness by Lillian and Stella. A very knowledgeable guide, Johnson, took us on a long walk to a nearby school where we donated pencils and a soccer ball (only the latter really excited the kids) and he also took us on a night walk through the forest. We stayed in the Tree House which puts you 16 meters up in the forest, so you are surrounded by monkeys and amazing night sounds. At night guards walk with you the 1/2 mile between the Tree House and the Lodge (to keep you safe from wandering elephants). The Tree House and the individual cottages are beautifully designed and the views and setting for each is unique and allows you to be fully immersed in your natural surroundings. Jeroen and Jaque, the owners, are gracious and dedicated to what they are doing.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights in a cozy detached cottage with it's own balcony overlooking misty mountains. The location of the hotel is 1 hour south of Fort Portal right next to Kibale National Forest, so it is very easy to get to Kibale NF and Bigodi swamp using boda-bodas. The chefs are superb and the food delicious. The owners are fully engaged and very helpful. The only drawback is you have to order water to be boiled in the furnace an hour before you can take a warm shower.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mereloie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My friend and I had the awesome chance to stay the night in the Chimp's Nest treehouse which is literally up in the trees with the monkeys. It was an unforgettable experience and I know I have NEVER had another experience like it. The staff at Chimp's Nest were extremely helpful and cheerful. The owners were present and took an active interest in our stay as well.

Even got a hot shower in the treehouse! Food was great!

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KMcStrombeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed the first night in the tree house. The kids loved it! They even delivered our dinner to the treehouse! We saw tons of birds and monkeys and even had forest elephants come through the area. Love the pic I have of the mist with the forest in the background. Delightful vacation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeacefulJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

A friend and i stayed in a comfortable cabin at Chimp's Nest. The location was lovely and the owners and employees very kind and helpful. We enjoyed a walk to the village with one of the employees and with his help were able to identify birds and animals, met local people, visited local businesses including the library, several stores, and "The Best Bar in Town." The meals at Chimp's Nest were enjoyable, and when I wanted to try millet porridge, they happily gave me a big bowl, though it wasn't on the menu. They were able to accommodate my vegetarian diet for which I was grateful. When I return to Uganda, I would like to stay in the tree house at Chimp's Nest. This is a fantastic accommodation way up in the treetops where nature comes to you. However, you must be able to walk the beautiful trail that leads to it and be able to climb the stairway up to your rooms. They provide room service to this remote, private hideaway!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsconyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

A paradise on the edge of a forest surrounded by all sorts of monkeys made for a unique and unforgettable stay. Thank goodness we had two nights so we stayed in a lodge as well as the treehouse, and these, including the restaurant were magnificent.
Jeroen and Indiana we'll remember as good friends. We hope to come back soon and we advise all those wanting to stay at Chimps' Nest to book for AT LEAST 3 nights!
If you want to experience nature from your balcony we absolutely recommend Chimps' Nest!
Herman & Marian
The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schenkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibale National Park
2.7 mi away
Primate Lodge Kibale
Primate Lodge Kibale
#3 of 8 in Kibale National Park
229 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 35 in Fort Portal
44 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 35 in Fort Portal
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 35 in Fort Portal
83 reviews
11.0 mi away
Lodge Bella Vista
Lodge Bella Vista
#4 of 14 in Kasese
6 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kibale Forest Camp
Kibale Forest Camp
#1 of 8 in Kibale National Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimps' Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimps' Nest

Property: Chimps' Nest
Address: PO Box 611 | Fort Portal, Kibale National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kibale National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kibale National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimps’ Nest is built on a beautiful piece of land with a splendid view of Kibale Forest and the snow capped peaks of the Rwenzori Mountains. As the name implies, Chimps’ Nest is often visited by chimps, but also other monkeys and habitats of Kibale Forest. It is a true birder's paradise; virtually all 350 bird species of Kibale Forest and the bordering Bigodi Swamps can be observed on the premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimps` Nest Hotel Kibale Forest National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing