We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in a tree house”
Review of Chimps' Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kibale National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimps' Nest
julian1234000
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great experience in a tree house”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

If you want to be right in the middle of the rainforest, surrounded by macabey monkeys and surround sound day and night, then this place is unbeatable. We loved it! Watching the monkeys come right up to our balcony, and to listen to the huge variety of calls was magical. However, it is run down and in need of a major overhaul. All the water has to be carried to the tree house, (including the hot). There are rumours of rats although we saw and heard none - rats attract snakes. The management warned us of this problem before the first night which was unnerving! The steps up to teh 14m high house are at best slippery and the 300m walkway across the swamp is a little rickety. It is a 10 minute walk (with a member of the hotel staff) to the tree house from the main hotel area. The staff, whilst friendly, need much more training. A fun place to stay - but try it once it has been overhauled (management said this would happen over the winter 2012)

Room Tip: check to see if tree house has been refurbished - it will be a more comfortable but just as magical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimps_Nest_Ltd, Owner at Chimps' Nest, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is true the 'old' tree house needs an overhaul and we have started with this when the low season came. It should be ready by 15th of May 2012. Rodents like to build their nests in grass thatched roofs, and since the tree houses are in the forest where many rodents live there is a big possibility that one of them gets into the roof of the tree house. We think that it is better to inform people beforehand during check in. We are trying to control the problem, but it is impossible to remove them from their own habitat. We are rebuilding the tree house without a grass roof, hoping it will reduce the attraction of rodents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
27
64
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

When we arrived, I remember climbing the stairs to our tree house and exclaiming "this is the coolest place I have ever stayed!" You literally are eye level with the monkeys! Within minutes of arriving we watched a group of black and white colobus monkeys playing on one side of our tree house and a mixed group of grey cheeked mangabeys and red tailed monkeys on the other side. It was everything that I had dreamed of! I felt like I was finally living like the 3 brothers from 'Swiss Family Robinson'.

Now that I have your attention, it's time for the details. Our party of 4 stayed here for two nights in November 2011 Our accommodations were the two tree houses (1 tree house has two single beds and the other tree house has a single and a double bed). As mentioned in previous posts, the tree houses are about a 10 minute walk down the hill from the reception/dining area and are approximately 100 meters apart from each other. With that said, the tree houses are also a 10 minute walk UP the hill to get back to the reception area. The last couple minutes of the trail approaching the tree houses is in fact along a raised boardwalk through a swamp. If it has been raining or damp from the humidity, the boards can be slippery, however if you are aware of this and paying attention, this should not be an obstacle for you. The tree house we stayed in had the two single beds and I believe was the smaller of the two units. The bathroom in ours was rather small, there was mildew in the shower and the water did trickle out of the shower head (the water is also somewhat brown in color, but given that they literally hand pump it from a well a few hundred meters away and carry it by bucket to fill your water tank, I would say that is to be expected). However, the fact that the tree house even had a bathroom was amazing in itself!

Throughout the night, we heard critters scampering on the roof, moving about in the trees and calling to each other throughout the forest. There were bugs in our 'house', as well as a resident bushy tailed mouse which humored us as we watched him build a nest, but these things were not unexpected...ITS A TREE HOUSE IN THE RAIN FOREST!

We did give the service a slightly lower score and that is primarily due to the fact that on our 2nd night we did the night walk at Kibale with the rangers. Prior to leaving, our guide told the staff that we would be back around 9:30 and that we would eat then. They said this was okay, but when we got back, they said we couldn't eat because the kitchen was closed.

Although I believe this was a communication issue, I don't believe it was handled very well by the staff. It wouldn't have been hard to quickly through something together for us to eat. Otherwise, I thought the staff was very polite and accommodating.

Even after all of this, I still stand by my initial claim about it being the 'coolest place' I had ever stayed. If you book here expecting to stay in a 2, 3, 4 or 5 star property, you are going to be severely disappointed. If you book here knowing you are literally sleeping in accommodations that are one step above camping in the forest, then you will love it. It is all about setting expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Beautiful location, next to the Kibale Nature Forest Reserve with easy access to chimp tracking and Bigodi swamp walk.
We stayed in the family cottage and found the 7 minute uphill walk to the restaurant no bother – but it could put off some others. Elephants raided the next door maize fields both nights we were there - resulting in some noise in the night as locals were protecting their fields. Amazingly, an elephant daintily stepped over the 1.2m high boardwalk to the cottage at night, without damaging it.
Best Banana puddings (especially Banana Cake) that we ate in Uganda. Main meals very ordinary. Well-meaning staff did not understand English properly, which resulted in some hilarious misunderstandings. We understand that staff had recently been replaced, which probably explains the fact that they were inexperienced. Order meals early.
No internet connection. No pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family cottage, right on a little river - well-conceived, but not so well-finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights during our stay for our chimp trekking at Kibale Forest.
Our cabin was number 7 and is closest to the reception. It has a balcony and an outdoor bathroom. Our water was really hot, however it is brownish, because of the heating with fire wood. Be sure to tuck you mozzie net under the mattress, because the cabin has lots's of cracks in the floor. They run on solar power and charging can only be done at the reception. Food was ok (starters and dessert were very nice, mains OK) and more then enough choices and you can combine any dish of different menu;s to make your own menu. We also had some laundry done at very competitive prices, but as everything is dried by hanging ours was not completely dry when we left (due to cloudy weather)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2011

After what seemed an eternity, we arrived to a heavily packed 'foyer' full of smoking people. Our welcome drink was a warm weak cordial and a 2 hour wait for our room. The decking floor boards were broken and wobbly. The menu was awful and the foyer toilet was full and stinky! We waited over 1 hour for a toasted sandwich and a Luke warm coke. We were told that our personal wood fire to heat our room water would be lit at 6.00pm and the water lasted hot for 2 days. Our fire was not lit hence no hot water at all. Dinner was hideous with another very long wait. Jungle trek was good and relaxing. Upon departure our bags were packed on our bus as we checked out (just some 25 meters from reception), we discovered upon arrival at our next destination that all our bags had been gone through by the porters (as we were checking out) our video camera was gone and our zippers left undone. We would never go back and would advise anyone choosing this establishment to keep a keen and solid eye on your gear! Expensive and uninspiring. 3 stars for the cottage and outdoor bathroom experience but a dismal 0 stars for the overall experience and light fingered PORTERS ;-(

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kutetoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MynameisnotMuzungu, Owner at Chimps' Nest, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Your welcoming drink is free, so your remark seems rather ungrateful. You had to wait for your room because you arrived in the morning and check in time is 2 PM. We are aware that the restaurant needs to be worked on, but we had to wait for the low season. We are working on it as we speak, also because we need to expand our restaurant due to the overwhelming success of Chimps' Nest. 99% of our guests are happy with our food, sorry this wasn't the case for you. Why didn't you leave a complaint at our reception and acted as if everything was fine? Sorry to hear your camera got stolen/lost. However, our staff has never been caught stealing and brought back valuables forgotten by guests without anybody asking, so it seems highly unlikely that they would do such a stupid thing at such a risky moment. They had hundreds of better chances to steal from guests and didn't. So don't automatically assume that they were the ones stealing. It could have happened at any moment during your trip to the next destination. Maybe you just lost it, and it wasn't stolen at all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kibale National Park hotels

Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Here is the idea: a romantic night in a treehouse tucked high up in the forest with animals at your doorstep. Here is the reality: the treehouse is a small, cramped room accessed by a very steep ladder, that is dangerous to navigate at night. The mattress was so flat I could feel the wooden supports in my back. The bathroom is so tiny, you can't turn around. The shower was so black with mold, I wouldn't set foot in it. Not that it mattered, all I got from it was a pencil thin stream of cold, brown water. Also, the treehouse is a 10 minute walk from the main building, uphill along a narrow path (with fire ants) and a shaky, narrow wooden walkway through a swamp. Difficult to do in the dark! Finally, it is a fairly far drive from the chimp trekking. My verdict is that you can skip this place and find something better in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the treehouse if you do decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Chimps' Nest and they were amazing. Great food, beautiful landscape and views, and wonderful staff. The last evening we were the only ones there and the staff treated us as part of the family. We didn't stay in the tree house, which I've heard is amazing. But the cabins are pretty good them too :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LisaMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibale National Park
17.9 mi away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fort Portal
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Primate Lodge Kibale
Primate Lodge Kibale
#3 of 8 in Kibale National Park
227 reviews
5.9 mi away
Isunga Lodge
Isunga Lodge
#4 of 8 in Kibale National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 35 in Fort Portal
42 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 35 in Fort Portal
38 reviews
16.0 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 35 in Fort Portal
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimps' Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimps' Nest

Property: Chimps' Nest
Address: PO Box 611 | Fort Portal, Kibale National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kibale National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kibale National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimps’ Nest is built on a beautiful piece of land with a splendid view of Kibale Forest and the snow capped peaks of the Rwenzori Mountains. As the name implies, Chimps’ Nest is often visited by chimps, but also other monkeys and habitats of Kibale Forest. It is a true birder's paradise; virtually all 350 bird species of Kibale Forest and the bordering Bigodi Swamps can be observed on the premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimps` Nest Hotel Kibale Forest National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing