We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Primate Lodge Kibale
Nearby Hotels
Kalya Courts Hotel(Fort Portal)
$82
$61
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Motel(Fort Portal)
$110
$89
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Fun City Hotel(Fort Portal)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tinka's Homestead(Kibale National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    Kibale Homestay(Western Region)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (280)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveler rating
    123
    113
    27
    7
    10
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    123
    113
    27
    7
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshot waterchimp trackingwalking distancegreat lakesstart pointranger stationtree houselocation is excellentthe perfect place to staysolar powernational parkthe cottagescomfortable placecomfortable bedsfire pitmeeting pointlounge area
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    147 - 152 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed February 17, 2014

    Great location, friendly staff and an amazing food. I stayed in one of the tents and it was lovely. More like a small house! Tonight some of the local villagers came round and sang and danced to some traditional music for us. It was very entertaining and all the donations goes into the local villages so its a good cause too.

    Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    Thank jo l
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    UgandaLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

    Dear Jo,

    Thank you for sharing your warm and valuable comments with us. We do pride ourselves in the location of the lodge and consider ourselves very fortunate to be located next door to these majestic creatures that inhabit this African rainforest.

    We are very pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the lodges facilities, the meals and friendly staff. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. We genuinely aim to provide absolute comfort in the wild for all our guests, to be your home away from home in every single way possible. We love and have always worked with the local communities to create a sort of livelihood for them, by hiring some members of the local community and professionally train them to meet the standards of international service and as much we would love hire all of them we have found different avenues to help those we cannot permanently employ. For example calling on them to entertain our guests with traditional dances, sell their crafts directly to our guests and we also in the background continually sourced our fresh produce from their fertile farms as well.

    We are very pleased to hear that you got to experience Primate Lodge Kibale in its warm and welcoming ambiance to our esteemed guests and our hospitable staff and to all members of the local community in which we operate.

    Again we deeply appreciate you feedback and the time you have taken to share this with us. We look forward to the opportunity of accommodating you again on your next holiday and leave you with only more lasting memories!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 5, 2014

    We stayed at the primates lodge as a staging area to spend a full day with the Chimpanzees doing the "habituation experience". It was great - we were greeted by a troupe of Baboons upon arrival at the gate, and then experienced monkees and many other jungle sights and sounds during our 2 days. For our day with the chimpanzees, we walked out of the main part of the lodge, got our briefing in the parking lot, and 20 minutes later we were members of the chimpanzee families running around the jungle - amazing!! We stayed in the luxury tents which were a perfect way to experience the wild. The tents were nicely outfitted and had all the amenities. The main lodge and dining area were very nice and a great place to meet and relax in the mornings and afternoons. The food was very good for the remoteness of the camp and the staff did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. If you're going for the chimps and the jungle experience, this is the way to do it!!

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Scott R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    UgandaLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

    Dear Scott,

    Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience at Primate Lodge Kibale.

    Oh my our photogenic baboon neighbors ;) You will always catch them right at the gate ready to welcome our guests and always happy to pose for a few pictures, we are glad they did not disappoint this time.

    I totally agree, if you are looking for an adventure, nothing beats an encounter with the over 100 strong family of chimpanzees in Kibale forest National Park- it must rank as the truest definition of ‘a walk on the wild side’. Hard to argue the 98% similarity with humans after meeting them in person right? More than anything the sounds they make really adds to the experience- the hooting and screaming surrounding you, in the trees and on the ground; A-mazing is definitely the word!

    We are very pleased to hear that you got to experience both the wild side of the forest coupled with the comfort Primate Lodge Kibale and its staff have to offer all round .Thank you again for leaving such lovely comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 26, 2013

    We stayed in the luxury tent which is essentially a tent on a raised platform and an en-suite bathroom. The water was hot in the evenings. The tent is in the forest, with a small clearing around the tent and you get a nice isolated feeling. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food is basic but again good for where you are staying. We took our own wine to these small forest lodges, but their local beer was really good and cold. We were able to get some mobile phone coverage in the central restaurant area, which was good enough for a bit of basic contact with the outside world. It is so close to the Chimp trekking station, which is a real bonus. We stayed there for 2 nights and found it to be very peaceful in the forest, and would have been happy to stay another night if we had more time. I booked this lodge based on Trip Advisor reviews, and would stay there again, and recommend friends to stay there.

    Room Tip: We found the luxury tent to be just perfect for the middle of the forest-camping kind of feel we prefer. We did look afterwards at the cottages, and they are probably well suited to people less inclined to camp. They have a "honeymoon" cottage which is double story and would have been our next option to book if we had known about it, as you get a bit of a feeling of being more in the height of the trees.
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Helen G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

    Dear Guest,

    We cannot thank you enough for leaving your lovely comments here. We are pleased to note that you had such a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the lodges facilities and friendly staff. It is indeed feedback such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team. With our new and experienced team in place I can confidently assure you that 2014’s menu is sure to hit the ball right out of the park and we are very excited to have more of our guests experiencing ABSOLUTE comfort in the wild.

    Thank you again so much for choosing Primate Lodge Kibale and for the tip on the local beer- we shall see if we can have a special offer on these to have more guests trying it and hopefully these guests will be the friends you will be recommending us to *wink wink*

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 19, 2013

    I never liked tents (but I wanted so badly to see the chimps) so this was my first experience.The property is in the middle of the jungle. It is essentially a tent on a raised platform and a bathroom has been added on the back. Bathroom was ok, quite clean. Don´t expect hot water...It will only get a little warm..but since it was hot outside it didn´t matter.
    It's also walking distance (maybe a 1-2 minute walk) to the start point of the Chimp trekking, so that makes the location very convenient. There are nice open air common spaces, like a lounge area, a bar, the restaurant and the lobby. Food was just okay - but hey....you are in the middle of the jungle, so no complaints!

    If you are a wi-fi freak, then this is not the place for you. There is only available at the restaurant and service is not quite good. But of course, the reason here is to get disconnected!!!

    Since you are in the middle of the monkey habitat you´ll be able to spot so many of them just scampering through the jungle surrounding your room. The setting is magical!

    Relax and enjoy! The people here was very nice :)

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Carlita08
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Many thanks for your sharing your experience at Primate Lodge Kibale. We are even more pleased to know that we had the honor of hosting you for your first experience. Yes, we have the safari tents (pictures available on our profile) but also have cottages at our lodge, though the tents seem to a guest favorite. We continually make improvements on how to manage the shower water temperatures as we have seen it tends to differ from tent to tent and at different times of the day, however what does not differ is the option to manually heat water to whatever temperatures our guests prefer based on their requests.

    We very pleased to hear you got to experience the tranquility of these open spaces at the lodge- gives one an opportunity to really take in the tall African rain forest trees, fresh air and increases the chances of spotting monkeys or the beautiful birds in the trees. One of our guests actually saw an elephant and ironically from the comfort of the ‘Elephant’ cottage balcony- priceless moments in the African jungle!

    We hope to continue finding ways of strengthening the wi-fi connection, getting there. Though I could not have put it better, getting disconnect and connecting with our fellow ‘animals’ in the jungle- we would not want to get them jealous :) Nevertheless our genuine aim is to get the services at the lodge as close to home as possible, leaving our ‘wi-fi freaks’ not feeling too incomplete.

    Not only did you experience the primates (monkeys and chimps), the fresh African air but also the hospitality that Uganda people are all so well known for…Not bad for your first Jungle experience. We genuinely look forward to giving you an even more magical experience on your next visit!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 10, 2013

    This is a property that you will enjoy or wish you had not booked. It is essentially a tent on a raised platform. The hot water is somewhat problematic, meaning that you will probably face a barely warm shower, or even a cold one. It has the advantage of being just near the chimp trek starting point. We had a mouse, or something that looked like a mouse, running up and down our tent walls and roof almost all night. Normally, I would be super squeamish about this, but here just took it in stride and laughed about it. Food is just OK. I was actually surprised that the main dining area is set in a pleasant lawn area for the lodge being in the middle of the jungle. Overall, this lodge serves the purpose if you are coming to see the chimps.

    Room Tip: Get a tent closer to the main area.
    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank wakeham
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    simbasafaricamp, General Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Many thanks for choosing to stay Primate Lodge Kibale and for going a step further to share your experience. We really appreciate it and are disappointed that the water temperature let us down. We would normally ask our house-keepers to manually warm water for you in case the water temperature does not meet your preferences. Please accept our sincere apologies.

    Our guests more often than not have an interesting experiences at the lodges, if it’s not the cheeky baboons on your balcony, it’s the somewhat creepy sounds of the night in the African rain forest in the night or a visit from what we like to call the less popular little critters in the forest, the insects, mice and squirrels. We however encourage all guests to make sure tent zips are secure and cottage doors and windows shut, we also make sure each and every room is checked from corner to corner before and after each guest checks in so any above jungle activity will be taking place outside your tent or cottage- part of the experience we hope.

    We seek to enhance our guests dining experience- from set dinners in the main dining area, to bbq’s by the camp fire. We are very happy to hear that the setting pleasantly surprised you- definitely a score for us!

    We shall look very forward to the opportunity of hosting you again on your next holiday!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews