We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primate Lodge Kibale
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short delight”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Though we only stayed one night (just enough to spend an afternoon surrounded by chimps in Kibale National Park), we were very content with our stay at Primate Lodge. Upon arrival, a welcome drink and hot towels were offered. Shortly thereafter we were escorted to our clean and spacious rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful, beginning till end. Dinner was lovely and breakfast served timely along with our lunch packages. No complaints, lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we will pass on your compliments to our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    93
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
105
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The tree house was awsome, and there were a wonderful guard there called Samuel I believe. I'm afraid though that becuase we weren't 'star guests' paying the earth every night, we were treated incredibly second rate and the staff became increasingly rude. A problem when you need to be escorted to and from your accomodation each night and morning and they make it known that it's a huge imposition on them (we were the only people there for the majority of the time). We loved the rest of Uganda though!

Room Tip: Tree house definitely the best by a long way
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 899AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Tree House. However, we are just as disappointed as you were, to hear that our staff treated you rudely and as an inconvenience. That is completely unacceptable staff behavior. As our visitor, no matter what accommodation choice you choose, you should be treated as the highly valuable, most welcomed visitor that you are. We are looking into what staff were involved with treating you below standard and making sure that the issue is addressed. We are also expecting a new manager next month and once our new manager comes on we will also be offering extensive customer service training to all employees. Thank you for being honest and sharing your experience. We hope that you will decided to come back to Primate Lodge and we are confident upon your return that you will have a much more welcoming and hospitable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This Lodge is located right where the chimp tracking starts! It's rustic tents are situated a distance away from each other making your stay feel as if you are living right in the forest alongside the animals. Friendly staff make this lodge an ideal place to stay when you come to see the Chimps. An awesome experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Dani,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased that you had an opportunity to experience 'comfort in the wild'. It is indeed feedbacks such as yours which motivate us in delivering services to our best. We look forward to your next visit and seek to only make your holiday more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have never camped or stay in a RV so I was sort of uneasy to sleep in a cottage in the middle of a monkey park. To my surprise instead of a cottage, I was given a nice, large, and comfortable with bathroom facilities tent. The lodge is run by solar power so you have to plug-in your electronics in a common area within the lobby/reception. Lights go off around 11pm and comes back approx at 4/5am. The tent was quite large with two full size beds plus additional seating. Also the tent was provided with bathroom on the back of it with running cold and hot water. My only concern was that it was not netted or tented all the way to the ceiling so if I didn’t close the zip, mosquitoes and other bugs could come-into the tent. The floor of the shower was covered with rock which was a little unstable to step on, but at the same time very original and cool. We were given slippers so I didn’t much at all.
The staff spoke very softly, but very attentive and always available to help with anything that we needed. After dinner or anything time it was dark, the staff offered to walk us to our tent which was very comforting since wild monkeys and other bugs/insects could have been on the way to our tent. It was a great experience and now I am not afraid to sleep outdoors…….as long as I have the tent at the Primate Lodge and the staff to come along with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Our Motto is "Where The Journey Into The Wild Begins" and we are happy to hear that we have made your journey into the wild a comfortable and exciting expereince.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Kibale forest is easily accessible from Kampala. The Primate Lodge is situated in the middle of the forest and only 200m from the point where the chimp tracking starts so making it an excellent location. No early morning drive from a lodge out-side the park. The accomdation is in deep forest so no view. The rooms are in individual bandas and well appointed with functional plumbing and privacy. A small veranda to sit out on. The beds comfortable and, nocturnal noises of the forest permitting, you sleep well. The food was good and the rates mid range and reasonable. ($150 for 2 sharing, full board) given the ambitious prices that many lodges are charging in Uganda. It is a good place to stay if you are looking for a close encounter with chimpanzees and dont want to mortgage the house to do so, given that you will have to pay $150 per person to be allowed to go and see the chimps.

I would reccomend it to any person who wanted good accomodation and uncomplicated accessibility to seeing the chimpanzees.

Room Tip: Two sorts, tented and bandas. The latter are cheaper and to my mind just as good. Dont bother to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceNBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a great expereince both with the Chimps and at our Primate Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's great because of the proximity to the chimps. I spent an entire day with them watching them running,screaming and basically party. One of the great days of a great holiday.
The tents are fine. They are not luxurious but you basically just sleep there. One bonus of the isolation of the tents is hearing the forest at night and I will never forget the couple of hours I sat in the afternoon just watching as birds and monkeys came and went all around me.
The convenience of the place is well worth the very slight feeling that it needs refreshing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaninLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was the first lodge my daughter and I stayed in on our trip to Uganda. We were amazed at how isolated each of the tents were, but discovered that this was the case in each of the lodges we were to visit. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our introduction to the jungle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Shelley,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments, we are happy that and your daughter stayed with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibale National Park
6.9 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 35 in Fort Portal
43 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 35 in Fort Portal
44 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#2 of 35 in Fort Portal
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lodge Bella Vista
Lodge Bella Vista
#4 of 14 in Kasese
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
#19 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primate Lodge Kibale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primate Lodge Kibale

Property: Primate Lodge Kibale
Address: Kamwenge District, Kibale National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kibale National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kibale National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the world renowned Ugandan hospitality amidst unrivaled nature, scenery and serenity in the heart of Kibale rainforest National Park, Uganda’s primates’ paradise; Primate Lodge Kibale’s principal edge is our location, right next to the starting point for Chimpanzee Tracking excursion as well as the incredible Chimpanzee Habituation experience, really, two of the most genuinely breathtaking wildlife experiences on the planet. Primate Lodge Kibale Offers a range of options to accommodate all our guests. Our most recent addition, the brand new 9 luxury cottages of a superior design are bound to blow your heart away. Far more spacious and airy, with luxurious bathrooms, really huge glass windows and full size glass paneled sliding doors- they let in a lot of natural light and affording 180 degree views of the beautiful rainforest surroundings from your bed. Our seven mid-level forest cottages are en-suite with spacious bathrooms, 2x twin size beds or 1x king size bed, lounge chairs and a spacious verandah overlooking the rainforest. For our adventurous guests, we offer a secluded Sky Tree House (not self-contained) about 200m deep in the forest. Elevated about 18-feet above ground and overlooking a meadow, it enjoys excellent views over the forest canopy and is regularly visited by black and white colobus monkeys, red tailed monkeys, blue monkeys, forest elephants, even chimpanzee sometimes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Primate Lodge Kibale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primate Hotel Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing