We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Primate Lodge Kibale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Virtually every traveler who comes to Kibale comes for the Chimpanzee tracking and the Primate Lodge is situated within walking distance of the beginning of the chimpanzee trek. The tents are spread out in the forest and it is a long hike to get to the restaurant and reception. All tents have beds and en suite facilities. Electricity is on only during the night time hours and is subject to black outs. Because the tents are surrounded by dense forest when you turn off the lights at night it is pitch black. Perhaps this is why I slept so well here. As others have mentioned there is very little water pressure in the showers. The staff is friendly and try hard but they need better training. The chimp tracking was such an amazing expereience it is well worth a visit. Check the health status of this region before booking as days after I left an ebola virus outbreak has begun in nearby Kibale (late July 2012.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packedandready2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Primate Lodge Kibale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Spent a night here as part of our recent trip to Uganda. The tent we had was fun with quirky artwork on the bathroom walls, a very comfortable bed - following a day walking around the nearby wetland area (Bigodi - an altogether lovely experience by the way), and chimpanzee trekking (also a well worthwhile activity!).
The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food was good (although delivered with the same degree of 'lack-of-urgency' as seems to be common in Ugandan restaurants). They were very amused at the sight of one of us taking a hair dryer to the only electric point - usually reserved as a charging point for phones, cameras etc - and using it in full view of everyone.
The night noises were a fascinating mix of cicadas, birds and assorted other shrieks and calls.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simbasafaricamp, Guest Relations Manager at Primate Lodge Kibale, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Primate Lodge as your holiday destination. We apologize for the late reply and thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the lodges facilities and friendly staff.
Your words of appreciation have been shared with our team.

We are looking very forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

OK not a place to go to see gorillas, but for other primates there is no better place. A bit disconcerting to see armed guards there, as I have always forun Uganda a very friendly and welcoming country. Probably one of the safest country in Africa. Accommodation and food was great and if you love birds then there is a rich variety for you here. Get up early in the morning and look for the rare Green-breasted Pitta

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and on the second night we were the only guests.We liked the tents
and enjoyed being in the forest.The lodge is very conviently situated for the chimp tracking.
The staff were friendly and although the food is not of the highest quality we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santpedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The lodge is very conveniently located a five minute walk away from the start of chimp tracking in Kibale forest. Also convenient to the Bigodi Swamp which is excellent for birdwatching.

Rooms are clean but dark, and a little tired with holes in linen/ rugs, etc. Still very comfortable though. Food is ok. Primary reason to stay here is proximity to activities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The lodge is located in the middle of the forest with monkeys and other animals all around. It is perfectly located to go for a chimp tracking. The tent was nicely furnished and the bath rooms are nicely decorated. The food was excellent, the staff was very friendly. It is a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tokaleya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have visited a lot of wonderful safari lodges in Uganda, but Primate was not one of the best. The tented accommondation was ok, nice decorated inmid of the rainforest. The central boma wasn´t in nice condition (the meals were not nicely prepared - the kitchen was open to the guestroom and didn´t offered a nice ambiance. Breakfast ok - but for the price level not prepared and presented nicely (more like a kids camps). The service was frienldy but not perfect. In other lodges you get a short introduction about the lodge itself, the offer, the meals, the tents .... . This was missing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilsebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kibale National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
184 reviews
16.3 mi away
Kalya Courts Hotel
Kalya Courts Hotel
#3 of 5 in Fort Portal
29 reviews
5.5 mi away
Isunga Lodge
Isunga Lodge
#3 of 9 in Kibale National Park
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
Crater Safari Lodge Kibale
#4 of 34 in Fort Portal
47 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rweteera Safari Park
Rweteera Safari Park
#5 of 34 in Fort Portal
46 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kluges Guest Farm
Kluges Guest Farm
#3 of 34 in Fort Portal
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primate Lodge Kibale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primate Lodge Kibale

Address: Kamwenge District, Kibale National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kibale National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kibale National Park
Price Range: $53 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the world renowned Ugandan hospitality amidst unrivaled nature, scenery and serenity in the heart of Kibale rainforest National Park, Uganda’s primates’ paradise; Primate Lodge Kibale’s principal edge is our location, right next to the starting point for Chimpanzee Tracking excursion as well as the incredible Chimpanzee Habituation experience, really, two of the most genuinely breathtaking wildlife experiences on the planet. Primate Lodge Kibale Offers a range of options to accommodate all our guests. Our most recent addition, the brand new 9 luxury cottages of a superior design are bound to blow your heart away. Far more spacious and airy, with luxurious bathrooms, really huge glass windows and full size glass paneled sliding doors- they let in a lot of natural light and affording 180 degree views of the beautiful rainforest surroundings from your bed. Our seven mid-level forest cottages are en-suite with spacious bathrooms, 2x twin size beds or 1x king size bed, lounge chairs and a spacious verandah overlooking the rainforest. For our adventurous guests, we offer a secluded Sky Tree House (not self-contained) about 200m deep in the forest. Elevated about 18-feet above ground and overlooking a meadow, it enjoys excellent views over the forest canopy and is regularly visited by black and white colobus monkeys, red tailed monkeys, blue monkeys, forest elephants, even chimpanzee sometimes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Primate Lodge Kibale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primate Hotel Fort Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing