We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel waiting to be found..”
Review of Manoir de Chaix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truyes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir de Chaix
Ranked #1 of 1 Truyes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A jewel waiting to be found..”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been at the maoir de Chaix 10 years ago, and our experience was fantastic; I remember that in the evening for dinner, I was sitting near a Scotland Yard inspector, and he told me that for the first time a recommended place was exceeding his expectations...
We were welcome by Christian, (our host..) and the stay (1 night) was again great.
We had the pleasure to taste vegetables from the garden, home cooking and...excellent local wine.
Sleeping was very good.
Bare in mind that you need

Room Tip: The suite is nice for family travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    29
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place is not to be missed. Charming hosts, beautiful bedrooms, wonderful grounds and the best evening meal we had experienced during our two weeks in the Dordogne. We took an overnight break here on our way back to Calais, and frankly, we wouldn't hesitate to go back for longer. The only downside to the stay was that we didn't have time to sample all the breakfast jams, but I did decide the green tomato was the absolute best. Take a tip - try this place - its worth every penny. Thank you Christian!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee66186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one night at the manoir en-route to catch the ferry and it was one of the most enjoyable evenings of our holiday. Feeling hot and sticky after a long drive, the clean pool and loungers were most welcome - especially as towels were provided. We had opted to eat at the manoir and, for 25 euros per head, we were treated to an excellent meal, comprising four courses of home-cooked, locally sourced food - a vegetable terrine, delicious lamb, wonderful cheeses including a plate of wonderful Chevre and a home-baked abricot pie. Wine flowed liberally as did the aperitifs offered on the terrace beforehand. What we enjoyed most of all was being part of a multi-national 'dinner party'; sharing conversations with fellow travellers over food and drink made for the most entertaining of evenings. We had a suite with an extra-large bed that was more than adequate for my super tall husband. Nothing was too much trouble and the following morning we enjoyed a superb breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants and a spectacular selection of home made jams. Dinner, bed and breakfast came to 123 euros and we'll definitely make a pit stop to the manoir should we pass that way again.

Room Tip: Very tall guests can be catered for -just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janrhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderfully peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable 3 night stay at this amazing chambre d'hote. Christian's hospitality was warm and generous and the Manoir and its grounds beautiful. Breakfast with a choice of over 20 homemade preserves was delicious and plentiful. The evening meals were tasty and the conversation around the table, always with several nationalities, was lively and amusing. The room was large and comfortable. Cycling in the area is made very easy with the miles of designated cycle tracks and there are several Loire chateaux close by. We will definitely plan a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, very quiet. We were warmly welcomed by our host, Christian, and shown to our lovely room up the circular tower stairs. The breakfast was lovely with the most delicious croisants and every kind of homemade jam you can imagine. We had dinner one of the nights and it was a real gourmet treat. Can't imagine why anyone would think this place is average unless they are real snobs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We didn't plan on staying at this place since it looked like it would be way over our budget, but since it was Saturday night and we had nowhere else to go we stopped to at least inquire about the price. WOW!!! This B&B was amazing with the most amazing innkeeper. We fell in love with the place and Francis! We loved the place and the area so much that we stayed for a second (unplanned) night. And even though it rained almost the whole time, it still felt like a fairytale with a fireplace, beautiful flowers and birch trees and ground wells that are still in use. Do you know how most people say that French people are not so nice? Well, Francis is a living proof to the contrary! One of the nicest people I ever met. If you are ever in the vicinity of the Loire Valley, Manoir de Chaix is the place to stay. Wonderful service and people, great breakfast, clean and beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

A friend said that she had stayed in this B&B about 10 years ago. It's a lovely old manor house, surrounded by fields, with five rooms and dinner served. The dinner was excellent and our room was nice and big. Sharing dinner with people from several countries with multiple languages was a good experience. Breakfast was good too. Did I mention that wine is complimentary with dinner?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobinlakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truyes
8.7 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
480 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
Inter-Hotel Le Garden Tours-Sud
#1 of 10 in Chambray-Les-Tours
301 reviews
7.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
836 reviews
17.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
261 reviews
10.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Chaix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Chaix

Property: Manoir de Chaix
Address: Lieu Dit Chaix, 37320 Truyes, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Truyes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Truyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manoir De Chaix France/Truyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing