We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great English Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
What a view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a view!
House and drive Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
What a view!
House and drive
Winter
Winter
Garden trees
Wing and entrance to walled garden
The Wing
The master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Bathroom
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting room with view into private garden
Breakfast
Breakfast in the Sitting Room
Baby Grand
Autumn
Autumn
Autumn
Autumn
Walled Garden
Walled Garden
Bury St Edmunds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stephen j
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great English Retreat”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

It has a a lovely garden with a gated driveway, so you know your car is safe, It is furnished with nice Georgian furniture to complement the building, Mark greets you on your arrival and shows you around the rooms, He also has a good knowledge of the area. If you want to venture around Suffolk, It is only a five minute walk from the Train Station.
The log fire in the living room adds to the experience. This was our second time of staying in the house, and we are looking forward to going back there.
I really can't recommend staying here enough.

Date of stay: November 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
Many thanks Stephen, It was good to see you again. Glad you had great time see you soon! Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle C
2 reviews
“Beautiful and quintessentially english country retreat, with great host”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic experience!
Mark was so amicable and ensured our stay was great one. Will certainly be recommending to others.
A great country retreat, in a beautiful setting. It was like stepping back in time.
The entrance to the house will have you in awe. If you like history or period dramas, you will love this.
A good way to relax and unwind away from a busy work life style.
Bury St Edmunds town centre not far and there are some nice local pubs, I recommend the Fox and Hound which is a 5 minute or so walk, it has good ratings.
Will stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and friendly service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
Many thanks for your kind words glad you had a great time. Looking forward to your return visit Best wishes..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful weekend at Thurston Lodge to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful weekend at Thurston Lodge to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The welcome from Mark was warm, and his approach to hosting spot on. The accommodation was beautifully presented, clean, and full of little touches that set it apart from other traditional hotels etc…quite easily the best B&B I have ever stayed in.

Thank you Mark for sharing this lovely bit of Suffolk with us, I’m still not sure which was actually harder to do, give you your keys back or return the Morgan. I think it's fair to say they complimented each other!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2015
Thank you for your kind words Andy.
It was great for me to see you both enjoying your stay. I was rather hoping the Morgan was staying on!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadtTrip...
2 reviews
“A wonderful experience.”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Staying at this beautiful house was like going on a time warp with the added benefit of having Mark as a host. He couldn't have done more for us and by the time we left after a two night stay he felt like an old friend. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lounge
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Lovely to meet you and so enjoyed listening about your wonderful lives. I look forward to more tales to come!
Thank you for your review
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith1111...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thrilled we found this amazing gem”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the moment we arrived at this stunning house , owner Mark looked after us with faultless hospitality. We stayed for 10 days and we cant wait to return again soon.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
A great pleasure and great fun.. see you soon along with the 'boys' and the new grandaughter I hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Accommodation”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful property with lots of interesting features. We were blown away by the amount
of private space we had to ourselves and Mark the owner was a fantastic host making us
feel so welcome. bsolute value for money, in a great location for Bury St Edmunds and
surrounding villages. The Fox and Hounds do a good meal and less than 10 minutes walk.
Thurston train station is also less than 10 minutes walk with good links to Bury St Edmunds
& Cambridge.. We had a fantastic time when we stayed and would highly recommend it to
family and friends.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Many thanks glad you had a great stay.. enjoy the rest of your trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
889joh
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation, private and peaceful.”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent two nights at this beautiful property. Mark is a wonderful host, great breakfasts and really helpful with suggestions for places to go.
The photographs do not do justice to the superb accommodation and private garden. Lucky enough with the weather to enjoy barbecues and cycling adventure to Bury.
Thank you Mark, everything was perfect. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Amount of private space and wonderful bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Thank you Jo....So good to see you both enjoying it to the full! A pleasure to have you stay you are most welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing