We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Good Beer!”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Thurston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Public House with dining area, pool bar with TV's showing Sky Sports. One bedroom self catering holiday accommodation
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It's one of the few pubs that we can count on always having a good pint. The variety is very good as well. Always a welcoming fire in the pit and good to have the train station a few stumbling yards away.

Can't say we've ever ate there though, but from the look of the crowds of people, it must be good food. Certainly looks ample.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank JRREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're glad that you like visiting the pub and are pleased that Bernies hard work in the cellar pays off. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

A very good pub with really good 'pub grub' type food. The pies are really good and the chips really scrummy. Great service, friendly atmosphere and brilliant value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ABSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and the food and we hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcoming pub with excellent real ales and friendly staff. Didn't try the food but looked a sensible grill based menu. Good to see a village pub thriving.

Thank Itchyfeet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited for the 1st time about a year ago, staying on a caravan site in the village. We wandered into the Pub on a Friday night and had a warm welcome, good beer and a very memorable meal. Fast forward 12 months and we are back on the same campsite for a short break. Having had the wit to book for the Thursday evening Steak night we once again walked into a warm welcome and great beer. The portions are truly gargantuan and the steaks were perfectly cooked and very tender. How it is possible to put yourself outside 3 courses and leave clean plates is a mystery, we managed two!
If you are looking for great food in a traditional pub setting then you wont be short changed at the Fox and Hounds

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurstonfox, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your previous visits to us and hope that you will come again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff are great especially the tall skinny blonde girl ! The little man with the beard is also very nice and friendly i think he is the potato peeler in the kitchen but works behind the bar occasionally, the only problem is you cant really see him behind the pumps so here is a bit of a tip...stand on a beer crate. The food is great and they have a barmaid who has a lovely voice who will sing at your table to your loved one on romantic occasions. ..ask for Amelia. If you like traditional pub games like darts and pool then this is the place for you, Elliot is always on hand for a game but whatever you do dont beat him as he turns into a madman and starts crying. Must just mention Mandy the best landlady ever who keeps trouble out of the pub, you will always feel safe when she is around. With regards to comment below regarding pub being like a rugby scrum and noisy that is because the pub is busy because it is good, I suggest you try the flying f up the road if you like quiet pubs with no noise, read the reviews!!!! Well done Fox keep it up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LEONDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurstonfox, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you to one of our regular customers for these comments. To everyone else reading this, along with a wide range of real ales and homecooked food, we also have a very wide range of ''normal'' customers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing