We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a outdoor short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopetoun Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Leadhills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a outdoor short break”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the first stay in the Hopetoun arms for 2013. This is our favourite location, not only for the gold panning but for the warm welcome and the chance to talk to local people and learn some history about the Leadvills area.big thumbs up to owners Rachel and Rab and Gillian and Annie for fine food.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
50
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent 2 nights over the new year in this quaint homely hotel. The genuine hosts Rab and Rachel tendered to our every need and made us feel very welcome with their stories and insight into the surrounding area.

The atmosphere on new year had a little bit of everything. The local festive joy was evident in some locals who clearly wouldn't normally brave taking the kareoke stage while the traditional village bells chimed in the new year and the breathtaking fireworks display put on by the hotel provided a perfect backdrop. The falling snowflakes during all this just made it the complete experience.

will make sure to visit again.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the rooms in 'The Flat'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed there at the start of Oct 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were really nice. We stayed in rooms 8 & 9 which are ideal for families as they rooms are joined by a small vestibule. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just back from spending 2 nights at Hopetoun. Weather wasnt great but didnt seem to matter. Rab & Rachael are the friendly hosts who take a genuine interest in all their customers. Rachael was away when we were there, but Rab and the rest of the staff looked after us well. We love the coal fires in both the lounge & the bar, very welcoming. Meals are great, and the huge breakfast with extra toast & coffee went dow a treat. Rooms are lovely with great views all around. Had a great sleep in the warm & comfy beds. Keep up the good work. From Sylvia & Joe XX

Room Tip: We had a huge rooom at front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just had a lovely afternoon at the hopetoune arms. We went in the bar because we had the dog with us. We got a warm welcome off everyone and the dog was given lots of attention :) a lady from the village gave hubby lots of ideas of where to go walking. It was a bar home from home. Rabs taste in music on the jukebox was hilarious. I can't comment on the food or the hotel but just being in the bar I would recommend anyone to visit. Leadhills is a lovely village with lovely people

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthYorksJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopetounArms, Manager at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are always happy to get feed back on the service we provide and we were extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in Leadhills.
It was especially nice that you took the time to write a review when you didnt stay in the hotel but found a good time in the bar. I will take this opportunity to apologise for Rabs taste in music but he was extremely happy that you appreciated it! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed overnight between two steep walks on the Southern Upland Way.
The hotel is an oasis in an otherwise pretty desolate stretch.
Excellent hosts, interested in talking to their guests.
Comfortable, if simple, rooms.
Good home cooked meals - generous helpings and a bottle of red wine for £7.50!
Sam C

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopetounArms, Manager at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. we are always happy to recieve feed back on our service. Im pleased you enjoyed the food and we are hoping to get alot more home made items on our menu for next season.
Thank you again
Rachel & Rab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

my husband was on a gold panning two day event and i stayed at the blackaddie Country House hotel in sanquar but on the evening i drove to be with him and his gold panning companions and we ate supper at the hopetoun arms --fantastic friendly service great no nonscence food fantastic huge choice and lots of home made dishes --home made chips ! friends gold panning were staying and were raving about the breakfasts--and a packed lunch was so so cheap. what an amazing palce ina super little Brigadoon type village with great owners

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillycatDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopetounArms, Owner at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello again
Thank you for your review it was really nice of you to post it as you didnt stay with us. Im really pleased you enjoyed the food and that you had a nice time. We appreciate all feedback so once again Thank you and maybe we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadhills
6.9 mi away
Abington Hotel
Abington Hotel
#2 of 2 in Abington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
6.1 mi away
Days Inn Abington M74
Days Inn Abington M74
#1 of 2 in Abington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
7.6 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopetoun Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopetoun Arms Hotel

Property: Hopetoun Arms Hotel
Address: 37 Main Street, Leadhills ML12 6XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Leadhills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leadhills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopetoun Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hopetoun Arms Hotel, originally constructed in the mid-19th century as a hunting lodge for the Hopetoun Estate, now forms the heart of the Scottish village of Leadhills in Lanarkshire and is the highest residential hotel in the United Kingdom. Set in the open countryside of the Lowther Hills in the Southern Uplands ‘twixt’ the rivers Nith and Clyde, the hotel is within one hour drive from Glasgow, Edinburgh and Carlisle, and just fifteen minutes from the towns of Sanquhar and Abington. Our family run private hotel and village inn offers eleven letting bedrooms, clean comfortable accommodation, good hospitality and excellent home cooked food, including a selection of mouth watering vegetarian dishes. We hold a full hotel license, so after your day out walking, cycling, golfing or just taking in the surrounding area, you can relax in comfort and enjoy a ‘wee dram’ in our fireside lounge, or if you prefer you can catch up with the friendly village locals in our cosy village bar. Whether your stay with us is on business or pleasure, you can be sure that after your stay with us is concluded, you’ll feel relaxed, invigorated and keen to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hopetoun Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing