We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lullingstone Garden & The World Garden”

Lullingstone Castle & The World Garden
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Eynsford
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lullingstone Garden & The World Garden”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Went to Lullingstone Castle today, not impressed, you only saw 2 rooms & each room you had a 15 min talk interesting but went on too long, you walked through 2 rooms to get out not much at all, no photos, afterwards went to the WORLD PLANT GARDEN, to me manly untidy unkempt may be l was not into plants enough , the Cactus greenhouse was the best. A tent for refreshments, but no cooking facilities a cake & a drink. £7.00 each to get in, only 1 tour a day at 14.00pm, only open W/E

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynZwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    13
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Beautiful setting and gardens excellent. We had a guided tour of the World Garden which was great value for money and well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
339 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked via group on - but because we booked via mobile we could not print out the ticket, and the group on website insisted we book a timeslot of 4:30. Had to pay full price to get in as they had no way to validate the ticket.
The garden was very interesting, all be it a little overgrown (tough going on the smaller paths)
The cacti house was super.
The house only opens for 45minutes at 2pm for a guided tour, which is on the website (I now know), but not very obvious. and having "booked" at 4:30 we assumed this was for the tour. So we only got to look through the window :-(
By the way the whole place closes at 5 so the group on thing needs a revamp.
The cafe is in a marquee, which was super hot (it was a warm day), but the food was made fresh and was good value. we sat under a tree on a chair which was nice. The had run out of milk so no tea or coffee (unless you wanted black).
I think with a bit of polish this would be a nice day out, but as we could not see inside the house we were left a little disapointed.
There are loo's - some porta types in the overflow carpark, and some real in the gatehouse

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhillKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful - A lovely family home”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited on the way back home from our holiday and it was a great place to stop off. The adventure starts by trying to find it as the sat nav sends you down a a small lane, but dont worry there is a house at the end of it.
We arrived at midday and visited the church first, we then had lunch. After lunch we went on the tour of the house, we were greeted with the smell of toast and then were told by Mr Hart-Dyke that they had had toasted sandwiches for lunch. You couldnt ask for it to feel more like a family home when you are greeted by the owner, the tour was enjoyable.
We then went round the garden and bumped into Tom just doing some gardening and he was happy to stop and chat about his project.
There is a little cafe in a tent in the grounds and serves lovely tea and cakes.
A lovely afternoon out at a real family home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seals33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a castle”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Don't go expecting a castle -it's a manor house. The garden looked lovely but as we had a tour of the house booked we had to rush. A bit to much Hart Dyke family history so not really family friendly unless there was a special event on.Tom was very enthusiastic though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lullingstone Castle & The World Garden also viewed

Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Lullingstone Castle & The World Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing