We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and stylish”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Eynsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here last night, the place looks great inside and has excellent friendly helpful staff. The rooms were lovely and the decor is great. The food, both evening meal and breakfast were fab, plenty to choose from. Will be returning, if not just to work our way through the wonderful menu!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 97 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here last night as my 'regular' hotel in this area was fully booked.

I loved the decor very cosy, stylish and homely. I found the owners and staff (all family!) to be really very friendly and accommodating.

I arrived late (about 9pm) and was still offered the full menu to choose from. I ate mussels in a delicious sauce, served with chunks of scrumptious white bread (for mopping up the sauce!) and the most wonderful home cooked chunky chips I've ever eaten!!! A really good choice of wine too!

Before I went up to my beautifully decorated bedroom I booked my breakfast for 7.30. Lots of breakfast choice ... Full English looked great ... I chose cereal and yoghurt.

I even got to pet the family Shetland Pony before going to work! What a super start to my day!

Will stay here now as my regular hotel for all local business trips.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Thanks to Gordon and his lovely family for making my 'business' stay so nice! Refreshing change!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4 at the front. Double bed and single bed. Gorgeous rainfall shower over the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the hotel. The room was lovely, quiet, clean and very nicely decorated. Comfortable beds. The bathroom was huge, great water pressure, clean and beautiful. The owners and staff were nice and chatty. They took time to talk to us - ended up having long conversations about the world, history, politics, religion and more.

It's a 20-25 minute walk to the station. The owner offered to take us in his car one day. The village is very nice, too. There's a beautiful castle ruin one minute's walk away.

All in all a great place!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank MimiKviat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Was shown into room, to find that there was hardly any loo roll, one of the three light bulbs in the ceiling fitting was working and the radiator did not work and room was cold. Told the guy behind the bar who said that they were short staffed and were having to done things themselves. these problems were then fixed.....but they should have been checked before I arrived! Then....there was a party going on in the pub's function room underneath the hotel rooms that went on until 1.30am and then the scraping of chairs/tables started until 2am...needless to say didnt get any sleep until 2am. Then in the morning, the shower tray did not empty and was threatening to flood the floor...therefore my girl friend could not finish her shower etc. Spoke to the owner/manager morning who's attitude was beyond belief.....he said the party was a one off...it was business...and denied there was any furniture moving....incredibly he said it was not really a hotel but a pub.... Its a shame as they have obviously spent money on the place but the disorganisation and attitude is staggering! Book at your peril and hope there is no party going on as you wont sleep a wink until it is over.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bmdmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I usually stay in Dartford when busy in the area but no room at the inn!
Bit of a problem as didn't have the car with me.
Had to use taxis to/from accommodation.
Searched on-line for small place to stay - much preferred to large hotels.
So pleased to find The Castle Hotel.
Lovely, large comfortable rooms with country inn decor.
Choice of items for breakfast and good conversation with widely travelled and interesting hosts.
Think some reviewers on TA confuse homely accommodation and friendly hosts with the sometimes lackadaisical employed staff of hotel chains.
I like to feel I am staying with friends - and I did.
Owners of small establishments do not deliberately try to give bad service.
There is too much at stake.
Give me the relaxed comfort of 'home from home' every time!
Thank you Sharon and Gordon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneHaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at the hotel this weekend and I would like to thank Gorden and his family and staff for a great break they have revampt the whole property to a high standard the rooms were very clean and comfortable food was excellent my family party of 10 all had a great time will deffo stay there again . keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked some friends in for this coming Saturday night as they are attending a party. Today (Wednesday) the castle called and CANCELLED the room with just three days notice as they have not completed their renovations. Brands hatch has a race on meaning most if not all hotels in the area are full. Absolutely shocked and saddened that such bad service prevails at The Castle. I would never ever again recommend this hotel. I was considering holding the actual party here - thank goodness I didn't!!!!

Stayed: March 2014
5  Thank IneeyMineyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: High Street, Eynsford DA4 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Eynsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eynsford
Price Range: $118 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Castle Hotel we aim to capture the essence of a country inn offering a range of individually designed rooms in historical Eynsford which nestles in the Darenth Valley. Sleep and Relax in big sumptuously comfortable beds with the softest duvets and pillows. Fully carpeted rooms with thick Georgian walls, quiet village location with a village shop, butchers and two other restaurant and another pub all within walking distance not to mention the river with its picturesque ford two churches and not forgetting Eynsford castle just across the road. freshly prepared locally produced dishes our prepared by our team of chefs. Eat a delicious full English breakfast with sausages from Normans Butchers next door! (vegetarian option available).Start with cereals or our large glass of house muesli with berries, honey and Greek yogurt (inspired by a divine breakfast I once had by the Orange River in Africa!) Then later when you have visited the many local attractions come back and dine on a light but always tasty lunch, afternoon tea or scrumptious evening meal. Eat in our busy restaurant or alfresco on the sun terrace. alternatively choose one of our comfy chesterfields in the attractive bar area. Choose a book from the library and curl up in front of one of our blazing fire in winter, there is a space and time here for you to enjoy. In keeping with our contemporary classic interiors, our service is calm but focused, and dedicated to ensuring that you thoroughly enjoy your time as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing