We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B & B”
Review of Freshwater Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gambo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freshwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gambo B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This B & B is truly remarkable! The setting by the water is sublime.
Our huge room was cozy and spotless and so unique, particularly the ensuite bathroom. The rooms are located in a separate building from the main house. Very quiet.
Peggy and Boom are wonderful hosts. We felt very welcomed. Breakfast was delicious.
Thankyou, Peggy and Boom!! You were a delight to know in such a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is very cozy and run by very welcoming people. The rooms are large and clean and feel very private. They also have great river views. Peggy is so easy going, friendly and makes and incredibly delicious breakfast. The wifi is free and worked without a hitch. Highly recommend staying here. Worth the ride from Gander.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If it is activity you are looking for then this is not the place for you. If it is tranquility and quiet you wish for then the Freshwater Inn is perfect. As it happens we were looking for some peace and quiet and the layout and location of this Inn provided this to us in spades. Peggy was very helpful to us on arrival and the room was wonderful providing all of the comfort we could ask for. Peggy's delicious breakfast, and Boom's entertainment, provided us with a good start to our day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The four of us stayed at the Freshwater Inn. It was the most wonderful experience in a B & B of our 2 week holiday trip. It was so calm. The beautiful landscape lot looking out on the water. An number of chairs on the property to just sit and relax . The room was large, clean and the bed very comfortable . The breakfast was the best. Peggy and husband Boom served the most nutritious breakfast and Boom also entertain us with song and stories. They were friendly and accommodating. There is nothing negative we can say about this B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I5828KDEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Freshwater Inn for just one night, but wished it could have been longer. The location is like being in the middle of the forest and at the edge of the water, so calm, peaceful and quiet. The bed and breakfast is like a 'mini' motel strip...three lovely units all attached to each other. We had the middle unit, huge room with sitting alcove, large bathroom with claw foot tub and slept like babies in the queen size, very comfortable, bed. It was very clean.
Peggy and Boom were very welcoming and Peggy cooked up one heck of a breakfast for us...delectible stuffed french toast and ham. There was also a lovely fresh fruit salad/yogurt and granola to start. Definitely didn't need any lunch that day!
I love shopping when away and didn't find anything much in our Newfoundland travels to interest me...until I got to the Freshwater Inn where on our bed was this FABULOUS hand made cushion (11"X21") of the Newfoundland flag. Peggy said she had one for each of her rooms and that they were made by a 'friend of a friend'. She was kind enough to call this person to see if she could get a replacement...which fortunately she could...and so I was able to buy the one in our room from her to take home with me. Yeah!!!...what a wonderful, lasting souvenier of the fabulous 2 weeks we spent touring around Newfoundland. I did suggest to her that she might want to have a couple on hand just in case there is another traveller like me around who takes a shine to it...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this B+B for one night and found it to be roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The unit is separate from the main house which adds to the privacy. WiFi and satellite TV is included.

Breakfast was excellent.

If there is a negative comment to be made it would be that the walls between the units have very little (none) soundproofing.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on the ends due to very little soundproofing between the three units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great b and b located in central Newfoundland. The property was large and well maintained. There were a variety of sitting areas for guests to enjoy the scenic bay view. Peggy our hostess was very friendly and accommodating. She had a great deal of knowledge and advice about Newfoundland in general and this was helpful for our trip planning,The room was large with a sitting area. Breakfast was fabulous. Bed extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pausan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freshwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freshwater Inn

Address: Route 320 | P.O. Box 781, Gambo, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gambo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gambo
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Freshwater Inn Gambo, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing