We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique boutique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Trent, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A unique boutique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Calzavecchio is a real breath of modern air in a place steeped in quaint, Italian, old world part of the city. It was recently renovated and Wow! We stayed in the Blue Suite. Just amazing & blue! It is on an upper floor with a beautiful view, if the balcony jacuzzi is just not enough. The room was clean, modern, comfortable, luxurious. And the shower was divine - ginormous ( a real treat in Italy), lit from above, very posh. It felt very 5 star at more of a 3 star price. The staff was friendly, multi-lingual & ready to answer any question or give suggestions to make your stay great. An FYI - the curtains in the bathroom were sheer & so privacy was an issue at night when the outside could see in.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter & you can ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaliAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    159
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
113
21
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as a stopover on the way to Corsica and decided to stay there on the way back, too, simply because we like it so much. We're traveling with a six month old and always came here slightly grumpy with a baby in the same mood - the really friendly staff, delicious food (pasta, filet mignon), and awesome mattresses (at least in room 404 from which I'm writing just now; wifi works perfectly).
we can't say anything about the vicinity though because we come in the evening and leave early the next day.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerton, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I spent 4 nights while on a business trip to Italy. The Hotel Calzavecchio was located only about a half kilometer from where my business took place so it was ideal. There is plenty of shopping and small restaurants within walking distance, although the food in the hotel was excellent as well as the service. Breakfast was substantial. Coffee service could have been better. Had to ask for it each morning. Most hotels generally will ask you upon your entering the restaurant for breakfast. One very nice feature was the freshly squeezed blood orange juice. It was outstanding. Rooms were clean as was the entire hotel in general. TV access was substantial with hundreds of channels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is 5 minutes drive from the airport, and just off the main A1 Florence Rome motorway, so very convenient for a stopover. Arrived in the evening ,had a good rate for the clean modern room with excellent bathroom. We could not find another restaurant nearby so ate in the hotel. Good food although lightly more than we usually pay. Most other guests were business men but it was mid week. Well appointed quiet room and an excellent breakfast. Mature couple.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A good location if you want to explore the local area with bus links into the city centre.
Reception was very professional, and the room was clean and well decorated.
Large safe in the room (large enough for lap top).
Rooms have airconditioning, however I did not turn mine on.
I was in a loft room which had a reasonable view of the local area. Very little outside noise, but it was possible to hear noise from adjoining rooms.
WiFi is free, but was very hard to locate, very slow and intermittent
Evening meal was chaotic as parts of the order were forgotten/missed. Very slow service and althrough the food was OK is was not the best I have eaten in this region.
Breakfast was basic, and the coffee/orange juice equipment were not working properly. Waiting staff made coffees to order.

Unfortunately checkout was horrendous.
If you need to be at a morning appointment, please leave time to check as only one staff member appeared to be availble on the check out desk. 4 people queueing behind me, and no additional staff were put on to speed up the process, which resulted in a 30 minute wait for my collegue who arrived a 5 minutes after me, but was at the end of the queue!
This may be due to staff inexperience and may improve in future

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tea_lover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Bertuzzi, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio for your stay in Casalecchio di Reno.

We are glad to know that you appreciated the location, the Loft Room, decoration and cleanliness.

We have already checked the WI-FI system, which normally is quite easy to locate and should work properly. Nobody ever complained till now so we are sorry if you have experienced problems using internet from your room. Next time we would be happy to know it while you are still staying at our hotel so that we can find a solution for your problems.

We are very sorry for any possible inconvenience occurred in our restaurant, which our guests really appreciate for the good quality of food and service. Again, our maitres are always available to listen to our clients’ complaints and to replace your meal with a new one if you told us. Critics are always well-accepted and help us offer a better service.

Of course, we apologize for any delay during check out: we assure you it was an unbeatable situation and that it does not correspond to our standard.

We promise you we will consider carefully all of your suggestions and draw our attention to improve further our service and our staff. And that is why we would be honoured to
welcome you again in our hotel to prove you how good our service can be and to delight you with the good quality of our cuisine as well as accommodation.

Sincerely,

Marco Bertuzzi - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is just perfect for a few nights. Easy to find. Very clean. Friendly staff. Good parking area. Recently renovated and modern. Good restaurant with excellent local foods. Price/performance ratio is good. Local shops nearby. Quiet rooms. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonameneededhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

it is very beautiful and well decorated hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean. However small rooms with very thin partition (wall) so one can hear the voices of their neighbours. Not good for couples as there is less privacy. Approach to hotel and pick & Drop facility is also available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mian_Imran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casalecchio di Reno
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Amati Design Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zola Predosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Savoia Hotel Regency
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio

Property: Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
Address: Via Calzavecchio 1, 40033 Casalecchio di Reno, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Casalecchio di Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casalecchio di Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio Casalecchio Di Reno, Italy - Province Of Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing