We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mills River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast on Tiffany Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Mills River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We recently visited the Bed & Breakfast on Tiffany Hill and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We were married on the property and spent three nights in the Charlottesville Suite. I can not say enough complimentary things about the Inn or the Innkeeper, Selena. She was always a step ahead - thinking of things to make our stay perfect and memorable. We celebrated breakfast by candlelight with the other guests, had champagne waiting in our suite after we returned from dinner, my wedding dress was stored safely and then returned to our room while I was out at the salon, the list could go on and on.

The Inn is spotlessly clean and well appointed, everything about our stay was perfect. We look forward to returning in the future. I have traveled all over the world, and can honestly say the B&B on Tiffany Hill tops any other Inn I have ever visited.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely; however, we stayed in the Charlottesville Suite and it was amazing. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennTom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Selena is great. The service here is amazing. The rooms are beautifully detailed. Breakfast is served as a group, so you get to know your neighbors. This is a very nice way to start your day. The gardens are lovely. The inn is centrally located.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrgenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Upon arrival at Tiffany Hill, it is clear you have been fortunate enough to discover a new kind of destination. To define it in lodging industry terms seems to do it a disservice. Sadly there are people out there with preconceived (and outdated) notions that a “bed and breakfast” involves lace doilies, squeaky old floors, shared bathrooms, and sometimes odd interactions. So it is maybe better to say this is a next generation bed and breakfast. But even then, we have stayed at other places that were built from the ground up as a B&B (as this was), but they did not share the foresight that Selena put into this property. It incorporates the decor and comfort of a luxury hotel, the ability to be as private or social as one prefers similar to a country inn, and the delicious breakfast and personal concierge service normally found at upscale bed and breakfast establishments. It is a place that blends the best of each so that you really will not want to leave. This is also a property where the business website and photos do not do it justice - it is even more beautiful and pampering in person!

Guests enter the first time through the welcoming front porch (complete with rocking chairs) and into a spacious entry. It only takes a few moments for one to take in the pristine cleanliness, beautiful surroundings, and genuine hospitality found at Tiffany Hill.

Once you step into the foyer, to the left is a gift shop/future art gallery, and to the right is a office/library that guests are welcome to use.

Straight ahead of the foyer and stairs is a beautiful view of the dining room and beyond. The built-in to the right of the dining room table houses an ice machine, beverages, and snacks for guests to enjoy.

Just on the other side of the fireplace (to the left of the dining room) is a large sitting room that overlooks the herb garden and woods. There are plenty of puzzles and games stocked in this living area, in addition to binoculars and a bird field guide for identifying birds on the property.

Each of the five suites are named and themed after a Southern city. We were able to look at each of the rooms during our stay. While they vary in size and beds, a guest would be fortunate to stay in any of the five suites as they all come equipped with comfortable reading chairs, work desks, and modern private bathrooms. A hand-signed welcome note greeted us in our room.

Women will appreciate that each room is equipped with a full length mirror, and at least three of them (that I can remember) have a make-up mirror.

They all contain a custom closet with plenty of hangers for your clothes, a full-size ironing board and iron, plush robes, and a luggage rack. Small details that show the thought that went into creating the bed and breakfast: even the ironing board covers and luggage racks differ in that they were clearly chosen to coordinate with the distinct style of each suite.



For those wanting to stay connected to the outside world, each room is equipped with a television/DVD player and WIFI Internet is available throughout the building.

Meticulous details are evident everywhere, such as dimmer switches on room lights, motion sensors for lights in the common hallway, fresh flower arrangements, various books and magazines to match a wide variety of guest preferences, delightful nooks and reading spaces indoors and out, and beverage stations near the upstairs bedrooms.

Each suite has been fitted with a speaker system that is controlled by a dial in your room, it pipes in pre-selected music when turned on. You can turn it off at any time and control the volume. Because it is Tiffany Hill, where every detail matters, the music has even been carefully chosen to correspond to the time of the day!

We stayed in the Charlottesville Suite. It is a very large room complete with a king-size bed, comfortable chairs and ottoman in front of a flat-screen television (which I forgot to get a picture of), and a spacious bathroom with two sink vanities, a large soaking air-jet tub, and separate shower. There is even a heat lamp above the shower!

The Natchez Suite includes a queen-size bed and has a cozy window seat that overlooks horse pastures. The bathroom has a soaking tub/shower combination and a pedestal sink.

The Madison Suite includes a queen-size bed and two soft reading chairs. The bathroom is complete with a shower and pedestal sink.

The Beaufort Suite includes a queen-size bed and a long vanity with two sinks. This is the only room that can accommodate more than two people; there are two twin fold-out window seat beds.

The Seaside Suite includes a king-size bed. It is on the first floor and the bathroom is ADA accessible with a large shower and stand alone sink.

When it comes to food, guests will not go hungry at Tiffany Hill. A three-course breakfast is served each morning at 8:30am in the dining room or outside on the patio. Admittedly, we normally look for places with individual tables because we are not always chipper in the morning and we have had some rather odd experiences at communal bed and breakfast tables. That said, our experience at Tiffany Hill was delightful. There were several other couples that we genuinely enjoyed meeting. One couple was celebrating a milestone anniversary and as Selena honored them with a beautiful toast, I surprisingly had tears in my eyes to be present for such a thoughtful gesture. Do not let the set time or communal table deter you from booking and enjoying breakfast. You will not want to miss it!

Because there is one chef in the kitchen, there is not a menu or choices in the morning, so guests pass on any allergies or food preferences before arrival. Each morning included a fruit course, main entree, and then even dessert! On one of our favorite days, each plate was comprised of individual size pastry cups filled with scrambled eggs and topped with a savory Mornay sauce. Roasted rosemary potatoes were on the side garnished with bacon crumbles and fresh tomatoes. The recipe will be featured in an upcoming edition of SavorNC magazine. And did I mention Selena has her own herb garden? As someone who loves fresh and local ingredients, I was thrilled to see a bed and breakfast with an on-site garden.

Towards the end of breakfast, Selena checked in with everyone and provided assistance in planning excursions. She thoroughly knows the area and has a plethora of printed material to assist guests. I am not sure that words can accurately convey just how devoted she is to making guests feel welcome and taking care of any needs you might have. If you have any preferences at all, or special requests, she seems to go above and beyond to make sure that everyone has an unforgettable stay at Tiffany Hill.

During our first day, my husband went off to play golf with a friend while I relaxed on the grounds. The weather couldn’t have been more beautiful and I wanted to check out the property’s acreage. Just behind the main house, tucked into the wooded landscape, there are an amazing array of gardens and sitting areas complete with a walking trail.

And just in case you don’t believe me when I say that Selena really does think of everything, take a look at the picnic table deep in the woods. There is brush that has been conveniently attached to the side of the table so that guests can brush off any leaves that might have fallen! The genius is truly in the details.

Had we not had plans to join our friends for dinner, I might not have gotten up from the hammock. With a good book in hand, a light breeze, and the gorgeous canopy of leafy branches, I was well near heaven. And then as Selena was walking in between buildings, she stopped by and unobtrusively handed me a rolled up throw to use as a head pillow. Is this the Four Seasons? Again, such thoughtful attention to detail truly sets this bed and breakfast apart from the rest.

The inn also happens to be within a short drive of some breathtaking waterfalls, state park grounds, downtown Asheville, and the Biltmore Estate. An extensive list of activities and attractions can be found on the main website. We chose to stop by a few waterfalls while we were there.

Coming and going you can use a side door that gives access directly to the parking area. All of the suites and main exterior doors feature keyless entry so you do not have to keep up with keys! And as the placard next to the door notes, the property is a member of Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North America. There was even a container full of umbrellas next to the door for guest use - another characteristic detail!

We learned that creating the Bed and Breakfast on Tiffany Hill was a labor of love for the owner, Selena Einwechter. Her journey from corporate executive to innkeeper is a testament to never give up on one’s dream, no matter what obstacles life and the economy might throw your way. Selena has most deservedly been interviewed and profiled in various publications, so I won’t repeat her story here, but I do encourage you to get to know the woman behind this destination. While sometimes magazine articles can give an edge to properties that advertise in their magazines or they gloss over everyday guest experiences, in the case of Tiffany Hill all of the praise is much deserved.

Selena personifies grace and hospitality, and is the kind of person that you feel like you must have known for years because you feel so comfortable and at ease in conversation. Such a unique getaway is bound to fill up once the word gets out. It is a place that we want to return to again and again. It is truly a memorable escape.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful - I'd recommend choosing based on bed size, shower vs tub, and/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy30A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at B&B on Tiffany Hill in October, 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our experience from the moment we were greeted warmly at the door until the hostess waved goodbye when we left. The accommodations were pristine yet “homey” and the facility was specifically designed for guests’ convenience. The hostess, Selena, was very gracious and helpful throughout our visit and consistently took a sincere interest in creating an enjoyable experience. The amenities were superb, ranging from the gourmet 3-course home cooked breakfast to the wine in the evening, and Selena was very helpful offering suggestions for activities and making dinner reservations at local restaurants. The B&B is located in rolling countryside conveniently 20 minutes equidistant between Asheville, Brevard and Hendersonville, which offers easy access to many diverse activities. We will definitely be return guests!
Randy and Chris – Troutman, NC

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I just got married at Tiffany Hill a few weeks ago; we stayed there for 5 nights in the Charlottesville suite. The bed and breakfast was modern, private, in a great location, and had the BEST innkeeper! Selena is what makes the B&B so outstanding- we trusted her recommendations for every restaurant and outing. We were about 15 minutes away from some beautiful waterfalls, the Biltmore estate, and the city of Asheville. You can do anything you can imagine with very little of a drive.
The property is gorgeous; especially in October when we were there with the fall colors. The rooms are very luxurious, especially the Charlottesville which has a jet tub, fireplace and a huge walk in shower with heat lights. It was PERFECT for our honeymoon. The rooms have keypad entries so we didn't have to worry about losing or grabbing our key before we left our room.
I could go on for pages about the wonderful accommodations the B&B offers. We are going to return here again for a trip, and after staying here, I'm not sure I could ever stay in a hotel again! My parents are even planning a trip to the area to stay here just from our pictures!
A gourmet three course breakfast every morning? AND the room rates are VERY REASONABLE for what you get!!!Could you ask for anything better?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We loved everything about our stay at Tiffany Hill. We stayed in the Madison room, which was tastefully decorated with two comfortable chairs. The closet area was roomy and big enough for all our belongings The bed, pillows and spa like sheets made for a great nights sleep.The view from the window was fabulous. Snacks and beverages were readily available, I especially loved the Krups coffee maker just outside our door, stocked with individual coffee,tea, hot cider& hot chocolate available at all times. The coffee was delicious made in this coffee maker. The rooms have individual controls for the air conditioner. The Inn has two stairways with only two rooms on each side which made for a very quiet room. Be sure to plan on spending some time at the Inn to enjoy the beautiful gardens, just sitting around on the porches or sitting areas inside the Inn enjoying a good book (plenty of reading material is available ) We loved the keyless entry, the delicious breakfasts with fabulous desserts. The one factor that makes this Inn so special is the graciousness and attention given to her guests by Selena, owner/innkeeper. Selena. gives individual attention to all her guests, making us feel at home, helps with reservatons and hints on where to eat and what to see in this area. We felt like we were visiting a dear freind. in her magnificant home. We will definetely return to this wonderful inn .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We just enjoyed a girls weekend on Tiffany HIll. The rooms are very comfortable and Selena, the innkeeper, has thought of every detail. She is extremely welcoming and helped us plan the entire weekend. She made reservations for us at restaurants and ziplining. She even e-mailed our itenerary before we arrived. It made for an extremely relaxing and fabulous weekend to catch up with girlfriends. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the desert! I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnloric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mills River
Melange Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Hendersonville
440 reviews
Bent Creek Lodge
#1 of 2 in Arden
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
250 reviews
Orchard Inn
#1 of 7 in Saluda
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast on Tiffany Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast on Tiffany Hill

Address: 400 Ray Hill Rd, Mills River, NC 28759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mills River
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mills River
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed and opened June 2009, the Bed & Breakfast on Tiffany Hill is conveniently located in the foothills of Western North Carolina. Only 10 minutes from the Asheville Regional Airport, 25 minutes to the Biltmore Estate and 15 minutes to either Hendersonville or Brevard! Seven different suites provide comfort for a romantic get-away, a haven for business travelers, or a home base destination for exploring the area. There is so much within a half hour drive of the B&B that you will never lack for something to do. Then, return to the peace and serenity of Tiffany Hill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing