We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dog lover Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mills River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgetown, Maine
2 reviews
“Perfect Dog lover Getaway!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Barkwells is great, we've visited twice and can't wait to go back. The dogs get an amazingly beautiful, fenced in 8ish acres of fields, trees and even a huge pond to run, swim and play to their hearts' content, and their humans get NICELY appointed cabins...all the little extras are there: hot tub on the front porch, satellite tv, memory foam beds and pillows, dishwasher, washer/dryer, AC, coffee maker, ice & water in the fridge door...and so clean! We drove 1,100 miles for a "family vacation" with our 3 basset hounds, and stayed for 10 blissful days. The grounds are lovely, and since Barkwells is nestled right in the Blue Ridge Mts, the scenery and outdoor adventure opportunities in the surrounding area are boundless. If you like friendly staff, spectacular mountain vistas and pampering yourself and your dog(s), Barkwells will not disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Once again we have relaxed and enjoyed this wonderful place. Aside from trips to The Mast General Store and Ingeles grocery, we relaxed and recharged after a particularly challenging period in our lives. The cabin has everything needed, from a well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, hot tub, and Direct TV. The grounds are amazing. We and our dog never fail to make new friends. We head home already planning the next trip.

Room Tip: Several cabins are fully handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Woof, howl, bark and pant! If you're a dog or a dog's person, this is as good as it gets.

Seven 2-bedroom cabins located inside an 8 acre compound with a pond in the center. Lot's of room to run, fetch, swim and chase the birds!

The cabins are gorgeous. They are log cabin style with an open floor plan with all the amenities: fully stocked kitchen, gas fireplace, hot tub on the porch, washer and dryer, doggy door with fenced in yard, dog towels and sheets.

The cabins are beautiful and spotlessly clean and located 20 minutes from downtown Asheville. The owners are gracious and helpful. They even put a birthday flag up outside our cabin to celebrate our birthday!

As the say at Barkwells, Come, Sit, Stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Barkwells is in a great location. The Pisgah National Forest is about 15 minutes from the property and the Dupont Waterfalls are also just around the corner. Whether you are looking to escape it all and just hangout with your pups in a safe location or if you want to conquer the great outdoors or even partake in the local breweries, Barkwells is the place to sleep while doing it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lacey cabin. Great option if you have an older pup that needs ramp access to the ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got this trip for my husbands birthday. He wanted a place where we could take the dogs and not have to board them. This place was fantastic!! We were greeted at the office and then taken to our cabin.The lady showed us around the Snickers cabin and answered my husbands countless questions about fishing and parks. The cabin was very well kept and stocked with everything we needed (including the dogs!). The staff had even hung a birthday flag for my husband which I thought was super sweet!! The dogs had TONS of fun running all over, swimming and looking at the chickens! We could not have asked for a better experience! We'll for sure be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are soon going to be going to Barkwells again for the 5th time I think & we just made a 2nd reservation for later this year! We love this place. It is so nice to be able to go somewhere & not worry about finding a dog sitter...plus I prefer bringing our dogs with us. The staff is super friendly & helpful. They are dog people & you always feel more comfortable around your own kind! Our dogs love running around the lake. My husband even takes them for rides in the paddle boat. My dogs are not swimmers, but the lake is open for dogs & people if they want to swim or fish. My dogs wear themselves out at this place. There are also lots of rabbits to keep my beagles occupied. They have a fire pit by the lake along with grills, fireplaces (during cold season), & a hot tub at each cabin. Full amenities. We can cook all our own meals or eat out. They have a washer/dryer which is so nice to be able to wash clothes before packing up to go home. Cable & wifi...we typically bring our wii for games & netflix. We have recommended this place to all our beagle friends & have gotten lots of folks to fall in love. A couple is joining us this time...it is their first visit, but I guarantee not their last. I wish I weren't 4 hours away...I would spend every long weekend I get here!

Room Tip: All the cabins we have stayed in seem to have plenty of room...the pictures on the website will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We were finally able to get into bark wells and spent Christmas at this cozy, centrally located resort. Initially, we were expecting the grounds to be a little bigger, but once we had a chance to explore around the lake we were quite pleased. I can't say enough about the warm, friendly reception from the owners, and the clean, cozy and well-manyained cabins. We stayed at two different ones during our too short four day stay and each had its own personality. It's so rare to find cabins that are truly dog friendly to all size mutts and are so well maintained. Just because one travels with dogs, doesn't mean you should expect a mediocre or unclean cabin. Yet some establishments don't want to give dog people a "nice cabin". Thank goodness for places like Barkwells! Thanks for a great Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mills River
10.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,199 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#29 of 66 in Asheville
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
12.3 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
246 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat

Property: Barkwells, The Dog Lovers' Vacation Retreat
Address: 290 Lance Rd, Mills River, NC 28759-3884
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Mills River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mills River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run. Swim. Play. You and your four-legged friends can roam over eight rolling fenced acres or splash into the pond. Fully equipped and furnished vacation homes with hot tub, fireplace, luxurious beds, private fenced yard, dog door, gated porch. Every comfort and convenience of home, but far away from every day.20 minutes from downtown Asheville, Hendersonville, Brevard and Biltmore Estate in the heart of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. Come. Sit. Stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barkwells, The Dog Lovers` Vacation Retreat Hotel Mills River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing